We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chocolate boutique hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Chocolate Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 132 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Chocolate boutique hotel.”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Quiet setting. Generous amount of chocolate in room. Wonderful breakfast with quality bacon and sausage. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Slept well and was surprised to see there were other guests at breakfast as had hardly been aware of anyone the night before!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank svbirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    174
    66
    22
    10
See reviews for
41
411
18
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

From the moment you arrive you are immersed in the chocolate theme of this hotel, if the name doesn't give it away you are in no doubt when you check in. The colour scheme is chocolate, the room names have chocolate associations, there are dishes of dark, white and milk chocolate buttons at reception, there are chocolate bars in the rooms and chocolate cocktails available in the bar.

The room we had was the White Chocolate Suite which is on the 2nd floor (which could be the 3rd floor if you consider Ground as the 1st). The sloping ceiling in parts of the room made it feel a little snug for a 6 footer like me but it was comfortable (especially the bed).The shower was also a little small for me but my wife found it OK. We were happy with the room but it was a little "beige" (in keeping with white chocolate) for my taste, I would have preferred "Dark Chocolate" curtains to offer some resistance to the 6 a.m sun.

We stayed for 2 nights which gave us time to try a chocolate workshop, this should be on everyone's To Do list if staying here, not only is it a lot of fun it's quite educational as well. You also get to sample the chocolates as you're making them and to bring away what you've made.

This is an informal family run hotel with Gerry, his wife (sorry never found out her name) and daughters being the perfect hosts, there when you needed them and invisible when you didn't. Breakfast was good with a reasonable choice.

Location is OK within a few minutes walk of the beach, restaurants and bars, Bournemouth has a lot of hills so depending on where you choose to eat, be prepared to burn off a few calories walking back to the hotel. Car parking is on a first come first serve basis, if it's full when you arrive there is a long stay public car park about 200 metres away.

We had an enjoyable stay and wouldn't have any worries about going back. We liked the informality of the place but wouldn't do more than a couple of nights at a time as our waistlines couldn't take it.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the 1st floor if you are tall
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CPC84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Nice comfortable clean hotel, the room was quite small and the shower was electric so very little power. The breakfast on offer was very good and delightful to get a proper cup of coffee in the morning. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. The only down side was the chocolate on offer in reception and in the room, did not taste very chocolaty. Did not eat the chocolate in reception as looked as if it had been sitting there for a while. Disappointed that the bar was not open when we visited as it is decorated beautifully and looks very cosy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonroe1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night over bank holiday weekend, very last minute idea. Did have an initial problem with our booking being made for the wrong night but Gerry (owner) sorted this out and called to apologise himself which was nice.

Due to the booking error the only room available was the Chocolate Truffle Suite, quite pricey but worth it as the room was lovely.

Huge 6ft bed which was really comfortable (they've recently replaced all beds), obviously there are still fussy people who will complain about it though! Room was very quiet didn't hear anything from rooms next door or outside the hotel, we slept very well. Bathroom is also really nice with huge shower, lovely towels and dressing gowns nicely finish it off. The only thing I would suggest is they think about chocolate themed toiletries!

When we arrived in room there was a jar full of dark, milk and white chocolates with the hotel name on as well as a small slab of milk chocolate which tastes amazing!

The reception area has a chocolate fountain and more choccy buttons that you can help yourself to whenever you like. We had a couple of cocktails in the bar during our stay- the machine is brilliant to watch. Gerry and his wife also gave us a recommendation for Thai Tapas which is just down the road from hotel, food is really great we would definitely go there again.

Breakfast was included, we both had the full English breakfast which was great and they also let us have a chocolate pancake to share after. We were too stuffed to eat it all but it was yummy! Rest of the breakfast selection looked great too with cereals, yogurts and fruit so something to suit everyone.

Overall we had a lovely stay here at the hotel and would return in the future. Both the owners are really lovely and it's great hearing their stories of how they started the chocolate business!


  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steph87London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

After hearing so much about this hotel from various sources I thought it would be a nice place to stay for the night for my birthday. I considered £135 a night for a Bournemouth hotel quite high end so I had high expectations. We arranged to have a chocolate fountain in our room as a treat. The hotel is in a great location in the middle of Bournemouth, shops and beach both walking distance. Also a range of restaurants in Alum Chime.
On arriving at the hotel it was really handy to have a car park. The hotel struck me as looking a bit tired and old fashioned from the outside, we stayed in the white chocolate room on the top floor. It was nicely decorate but the to was tiny and far from the bed. The bathrooms was spotless and very modern. The bed was ridiculously comfortable! Tea and coffee making facilities were suffice and nice to have little chocolate treats in the room. We went down to the Chocolate bar in the evening but it was shut. Breakfast was very nice and the lady was very nice and polite. We did enjoy our trip in all but I would tidy the hotel up or lower the price of the rooms but I suppose you pay for the novelty. I probably would'nt go back.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights in the Montezuma Suite. My first impression from the outside on arrival was that of 'guest house' as opposed to 'hotel' in a very disappointingly run down part of Bournemouth. However, once we checked in, we found the Montezuma Suite to be very comfortable and spotlessly clean. The chocolate theme runs throughout, from the pictures on the wall, the lovely quality chocolate brown towels, brown dressing gowns (a nice little extra) and of course the chocolate itself which is to die for! There is a large amount left in your room each day, in the reception and also in the bar. I particularly enjoyed the curry flavoured one. Gerry, the owner, picked up on this and sent me to bed with a dish full one evening and then a dish of truffles the next evening! The owners are really friendly and we chatted with Gerry in the bar one evening whilst enjoying the selection of cocktails on offer. The cocktail machine in the bar is a talking point and worth seeing it in action! The dining area is light and airy and again, spotlessly clean. The breakfasts were really enjoyable, especially when I was told I could have scrambled eggs with smoked salmon (an extremely generous amount of salmon at that) AND chocolate pancake to follow! In the evening, we went to Lolitas Tapas Bar which is well worth a visit - excellent food and very welcoming host. The second evening, we went to Koh Thai Tapas Restaurant, again fantastic food and would highly recommend them both. Both in short walking distance from the hotel. Would I return to The Chocolate Boutique Hotel? Definitely, but next time would book the chocolate workshops that are on offer to make up for what I can only describe as a very run down Bournemouth.






Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kcottrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our 1st wedding anniversary in room 15 Xocoatl. There was a chocolate fountain in reception with marsh mallows which we could help ourselves to anytime we pleased.. which was normally every time we passed it! The room was very clean and the bed sheets were so soft although the room was a bit too stuffy during the night and the bathroom was very pokey. Sitting in the bath trying to wash with a hand held shower head was an experience!
There was always chocolate supplied in the room which makes up for any flaws with anything else.
We ordered a massage each and Lizzy (advertised on hotel website) came to our room to do this. She was brilliant. Breakfast is great with a choice of full English, smoked salmon or chocolate pancakes! The hotel is quite pricey and you pay for the chocolate theme gimmick however it was a lovely place and we would happily stay again.

Room Tip: Most rooms are quite small due to the hotel being a listed building so decide if you want either a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 66 in Bournemouth
865 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Derby Manor Hotel
Derby Manor Hotel
#1 of 66 in Bournemouth
432 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#8 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,123 reviews
1.5 mi away
Langtry Manor Hotel
Langtry Manor Hotel
#2 of 66 in Bournemouth
884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chocolate Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chocolate Boutique Hotel

Property: The Chocolate Boutique Hotel
Address: 5 Durley Road, Bournemouth BH2 5JQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Chocolate Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in Bournemouth's fashionable Soho quarter, the Chocolate Boutique Hotel is the perfect place to unwind. Here you'll find a warm, friendly welcome, cosy chocolate-themed rooms and chocolate galore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and HRS so you can book your The Chocolate Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing