We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“chocolate heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Chocolate Boutique Hotel
Ranked #7 of 132 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 22, 2013

What a fantastic place to stay for a romantic weekend. Hotel great, staff better and beds delightful.
Stayed recently and had a great time. Roo was very helpful and nothing was too much trouble.
Chocolate was very nice and plentyful. Nice location within easy reach of all the towns attractions.
Will definately return.

Room Tip: go for a suite if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (677)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

545 - 551 of 677 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2013

Absolutely amazing! As a chocolate fiend this was the perfect venue for my 40th birthday surprise!

The welcome & hospitality were second to none, it felt like meeting up with old friends, rather than visiting a hotel, absolutely wonderful. the bar, with chocolates all around was cosy & the choctails were amazing.

There is Chocolate everywhere and we had the romance package of more chocolate, a chocolate fountain & fizz.. :-)

The bed was huge and so comfy it was unbelievable and the room was warm and cosy.

The shower was huge, and the water piping hot, if a little low on pressure.

Breakfast was home cooked to order and was very enjoyable, not greasy, really yummy.

I will definitely be visiting again!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NinaMcKrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

I stayed here recently for two nights with my girlfriend. Asked for a chocolate fountain in advance, which was worth the

money. We stayed in the Maya, which was a decent size, light and the radiators where nice and warm - so much we opened the

window, but wasn't woken up by any outside noise.

Only problem we had was that it wasn't a true double bed - two twin beds zipped together. After an uncomfortable night, we

complained and the staff were excellent. Offered us another room but decided to stay where we were, they fixed the zip and

had a great second nights sleep!

Breakfast was excellent - the cooked breakfast was good and the pancakes went down well with the girlfriend!

Great location too - 5 mins walk from the high street, 10 mins from the pier

Make sure you check out Cuccini's (Italian restaurant 10 min drive) and Flirt Cafe bar (5 min walk).

Room Tip: Maya is nice and sunny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

I'm really to sorry to write this review as everyone seems to have had a lovely time, but we didnt.
Book a room at this hotel last January (2012) for our 1st wedding anniversary this month (December 2012). The disappointment is mainly with the room. We were room 16, Trinitario.
There was no heating in the bathroom, no hand towel, no spare blanket or pillows. I had paid extra for a Chocolate Fountain in the room, which was there, but we only had a small bowl marshmallows and strawberries. Once eaten then we were left with the huge wasted chocolate. The curtains in the room were very basic and left the day light coming through. The wallpaper in the communal area is pealling off the wall. We are just generally disappointed for the price we paid. We were expected a chocolaty breakfast - breakfast was basic again although offering full English Breakfast / Egg on Toast / Chocolate Pancake, we were expecting more chocolate... like hand made hot chocolate / chocolate biscuit etc etc... Also Chocolate Cockails were all alcoholic :-(

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Florence W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Lovely hotel, the owners were lovely, very friendly and helpful
There was chocolate everywhere!! But very tastefully done
The breakfast is home cooked and wonderful
Would recommend and definitely stay again

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susieq045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

My fiance took me here for my 30th Birthday as I am a chocoholic..we were greeted by a friendly young lady called Julia who shared info about places to eat in the area & made us the best minty chocolate cocktail in the very cool bar! My fiance had organised a chocolate fountain & Champaigne in the room (Truffle suite) which had a HUGE bed & had everything you could ever need including gingseng toiletries & slabs of choccy! We had a WONDERFUL time & Roo (the owner) & Julia (Staff member) were absolutely lovely...will return for my hen do to do a Chocolate Workshop!! reccomend strongly!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kerry82_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

My wife & I stayed here after a failed trip to Jersey due to fog prevented landing!
We were both fed up & wanting to still get away for a few days, trawled the internet for a potential alternative. Here is where we found the Chocolate boutique, luckily one room was available (White chocolate) thus we booked for 3 nights. My wife is rather partial to a bit of chocolate so it seemed a logical replacement venue after the above disappointment; it turned out exactly as we had hoped.
Upon arrival we were made to feel welcome & given the details of breakfast etc. and some local info on places to eat.
The room was clean & functional with everything you need but was not plush. We found the bed to be OK but believe it had a zipped together mattress. Whilst this provides flexibility to the hotel, it does not provide a very comfortable double bed and sleep was not as good as it could have been. Slightly disappointed (as other reviews mention) at the limited space in the en-suite especially the shower enclosure itself. Towels were also supplied but in our opinion, could be of slightly better quality for the prices charged. Some toiletries were also supplied which is a nice touch should you have forgotten anything.
Breakfast was very good with great service and attention to your needs, fully recommend the full English which is good quality & not swimming in grease.
The location is great for the town & beach, we did lots of walking whilst here and access to the miles of beach is literally across the road which was fantastic.
There is a bar on site which opens Fri - Sun at set times but it does say you can ask outside of these hours if you feel the need. We sat and had a drink on the Friday before going out for the evening, chatting with the owners who are very friendly and certainly give the hotel a nice feel.
There is parking on-site too, upon our arrival on the Thursday evening we parked no problem at all, come the weekend (there was one of their chocolate workshops on) we ended up parking up the road (after some time of driving about to find a space). Whilst we understand that only so much space is available, we did find it slightly annoying as we had specifically looked for hotels with parking available, knowing the area can be difficult for parking.
Overall we had a great few days and would definitely return in future if going to the same area, the free chocolate is a nice touch, especially if this is a weakness for you!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tozzy1027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.2 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#19 of 66 in Bournemouth
206 reviews
0.5 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#23 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,039 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#4 of 66 in Bournemouth
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
1.2 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#24 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,096 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chocolate Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chocolate Boutique Hotel

Address: 5 Durley Road, Bournemouth BH2 5JQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range: $69 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Chocolate Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in Bournemouth's fashionable Soho quarter, the Chocolate Boutique Hotel is the perfect place to unwind. Here you'll find a warm, friendly welcome, cosy chocolate-themed rooms and chocolate galore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Chocolate Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing