We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely b and b”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Chocolate Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 132 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“lovely b and b”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Good clean room, quite spacious ( stayed in Aztec), is more of a bed and breakfast than a hotel, but still lovely. It is surrounded by a few other hotels, so was very noisy in the middle of the night, with passing people in the street, but not this hotels fault. I dont think would have paid the full rate ( we were there on a reduced rate), but enjoyed our stay. Being a Monday, their chocolate bar is only open on request, would have been great for it to have been open just for an hour or so, as a lot of the rooms were taken, i wanted to see the cocktail machine work,and felt i didnt want to disturb the staff to open only for me! Good location, within 10 minute walk from seaside, and few minutes walk from a great Italian restaurant they recommended to us. Also we had brought our own bottle of wine, so sat in the beautiful garden in the evening, was very relaxing. Breakfast good, although the coffee machine didnt make the cappuccino properly!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cherly123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    174
    66
    22
    10
See reviews for
41
411
18
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We booked a chocolate making class for a hen party this September. The area where we waited, the bar, was a lovely, clean environment with chocolate in dishes and a choice of 'choctails'.

The class itself was fantastic. The guy was really knowledgable and we had such a good time making the truffles. We got to take home 3 bags each which was really good value for money.

My only regret was not staying in the hotel!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kailee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights at the end of July and had a wonderfull stay.
We stayed in the Maya room. The Maya room was lovely nice big window, bed very comfortable and plenty of space. Nice en-suite bathroom towels where lovely and soft.
Room had tv, seating area, tea and coffee making facillities and delicious chocolates.
We paid the £69 for the romantic package which included chocolate fountain with strawberries and marshmallows, cava, chocolate heart and 2 cocktails and it was well worth it everything was delicious. Would recommend to anyone staying at the hotel to pay the extra you will not be disappointed.
The choice of breakfasts was excellent. I had the chocolate pancakes which where lovely and my boyfriend had the vegetarian cooked breakfast.
Would deffinatly recommend a trip to the bar, I had 2 chocolate cocktails Roos Revenge and Chocolate Dreams and they where the best cocktails that I have ever had.
You can also buy chocolates downstairs by the entrance to the breakfast room, lots to choose from, I got quite a few for myself and some for family, wish now that I had bought more!!!!
Staff where very friendly and helpfull, couldn't do enough for you. Receptionist very good.
The location of the hotel is good very close to the centre of Bournmouth and shops. We had a lovely evening meal at Lolitas Spanish Tapas would deffinatly recommend.
Will deffinatly return

Room Tip: The Maya room is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Celia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2012

The staff were friendly, clean comfortable rooms all decorated to a high standard. Close to the town and beach. Would definitely stay here again. Chocolates in the rooms was a nice touch and there are also chocolate making classes available although we didn't do this. Nice choice of breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 8, 2012

On arrival the staff were very friendly indeed and very accommodating! Everything was clean and tidy, and the room was gorgeous! Double bed with a sofa and telly. Bathroom lovely and the shower was really nice too, which really makes a difference! Big fluffy towels and bath robes. In the morning we had breakfast delivered to our room, an extra charge applies but worth it. There is a smashing bar too, somewhere nice to relax in of an evening. Over all I really really enjoyed my stay. We also paid the extra £30 or what ever it was to have the chocolate fountain which was well worth it.
My only critisizm would be, that you pay a lot of money to stay in the chocolate hotel, and other then a few chocolates in the room and all the decor being brown with chocolate pictures on the wall, I wouldnt have felt I had had a chocolate experience so to speak, if it hadnt have been for the chocolate fountain which pf course cost extra. I really think one should came as standard with the room, because you pay enough as it is, it would have made a big difference.
Would I go again? Yes it was a lovely place, but not for the price I paid.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edipaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Just stayed here for just one night. The name says it all. I found this hotel to be very modern and comfortable. Yes there is chocolate for you to try in the rooms which was so nice i bought more to take home. The rooms do have a chocolate fill, and the room was very clean and well accquiped.The breakfast is one of the best I've had in a long time. I will be returning to this hotel

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simon r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Everything went smoothly from start to finish. I had a single room but everything was perfectly adequate.
The receptionist on arrival was helpful giving advice on where to eat in the evening and when my O2 network was down and mobile not working the owners wife couldn't have been more helpful.
Didn't use the bar so couldn't comment.
Smoked salmon and scrambled eggs for breakfast freshly cooked was excellent.
Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireWellred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 66 in Bournemouth
865 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Derby Manor Hotel
Derby Manor Hotel
#1 of 66 in Bournemouth
432 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#8 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,123 reviews
1.5 mi away
Langtry Manor Hotel
Langtry Manor Hotel
#2 of 66 in Bournemouth
884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chocolate Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chocolate Boutique Hotel

Property: The Chocolate Boutique Hotel
Address: 5 Durley Road, Bournemouth BH2 5JQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Chocolate Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in Bournemouth's fashionable Soho quarter, the Chocolate Boutique Hotel is the perfect place to unwind. Here you'll find a warm, friendly welcome, cosy chocolate-themed rooms and chocolate galore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline and HRS so you can book your The Chocolate Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing