We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harry Ramsden's

Harry Ramsden's
Ranked #76 of 729 Restaurants in Bournemouth
Price range: $25 - $38
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast Food, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Harry Ramsden's serve the same great quality fish and chips today that they have been since 1928. The brand was established 80 years ago, when Harry Ramsden opened his first takeaway store in a hut in Guiseley. His top-quality fish and chips brought people from near and far and it wasn't long before Harry's became the most famous fish and chip shop brand in the world. The fish is freshly prepared in Harry's kitchens daily and has that distinctive flavour revered the world over. The menu includes the world-famous battered fish with its closely guarded secret recipe, as well as an extensive choice of mouth-watering options and a fantastic children's menu, to satisfy all the family. There are 8 Harry's restaurants across the United Kingdom, from seaside locations such as Blackpool and Bournemouth to city centre restaurants in Southampton and Glasgow, so you're never far from a Harry's.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
317 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 689 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

We went to Harry Ramsden's on 4 May. The place was very busy and they had even opened the outside terrace area. We waited in a queue for about 10 mins and were then taken through to our table. I did feel that there was not enough staff on duty for the amount of people wanting to be served. However our waitress was brilliant "Marta". She was very proffessional and took our drink orders quite quickly. We waited about 15 minutes for our drinks and then had our food order taken. We unfortunately had to wait another 45 minutes for our food to arrive. However having said this the food was fantastic and the five of us cleared our plates. Marta new that our service had been unavoidably long and without us saying anything she took the price of three beers off our bill. I would recommend Harry Ramsden's but would say that if it is busy you should maybe try somewhere else. By 1530 the place was half full and the mad food panick which I beleive had caught them out, was now over, and the service was much quicker. Give it a go......

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Travellerclass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,187
    876
    533
    315
    290
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

We are from America and stopped in Bournemouth for a night after visiting London. Bournemouth was a wonderful escape from the big city and our waitress, Sam, made us feel right at home. The fish and chips were also delightful. Recommend!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kk175408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lunch Time by the sea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Last Saturday my boss and myself attended Nursery World at the Bic, saw Harry Ramsdens right on the sea front and decided that would be the place to lunch, the staff are great very chatty and nothing was too much trouble,our waitress was brilliant we were inside to start but it was a bit warm so we asked her could we move outside which she did with no hassle the food was great, i had the veggie burger and chips it was very tasty. Would go again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank georgiejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole,Dorset,UK
Level Contributor
62 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Ok but looking rather tired, service was good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Had a reasonable fish and chip meal here. Fish was nice but chips were not good, quite dry and hard. Our waitress was very cheerful and attentive. Restaurant perfectly satisfactory but certainly nothing special compared to other fish and chip restaurants in the area. We were going to get a takeaway but the queue was not moving at all quickly and not many staff on there. All in all, quite ok but don't expect to get excited. Great location though overlooking sea and Bournemouth Pier

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanslope, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not a good place to eat.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

I went there on the evening of April 29th. It’s a very large and well-appointed restraint with good friendly staff. My waitress was Lilli (I think) and she was very attentive and helpful.
That is where all the good points end. I ordered standard cod and chips with baked beans for £9.99. The fish was ok but looked exactly like the pre-packed “Fish n Chip shop” battered fish you get from Iceland almost perfectly square! I know the shape of the food is no indication of taste but it is a dead giveaway that this is not hand battered there and then but mass produced and heated to order behind the scenes. The chips were disgusting in every respect, look, texture, taste just horrible. As for the beans. They were presented in the tiniest ramekin I have ever seen. At a guess I would say the bean portion was about halve a tin of the tiny single portion tins you get for Heinz.
In conclusion, don’t go.
Bournemouth is a lovely place with many restaurants and without having visited any of them I would guess ANY other chippy would be better.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Noel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harry Ramsden's also viewed

 
Bournemouth, Dorset
Bournemouth, Dorset
 
Bournemouth, Dorset
 

Been to Harry Ramsden's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing