We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diamond !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Croydon Hotel

Croydon Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Croydon Hotel to your Saves list
Croydon Hotel
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   54 St Michaels Road, Bournemouth BH2 5DY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 143 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Diamond !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We found this little gem via a groupon deal. Delightful establishment. Very modern, clean and tidy, very friendly staff. A few minutes walk to both beaches and town centre meant no need to use the car. Although we booked B+ B, evening meals are also available, and afternoon teas, Hoped to use super little garden for that - but unusual weather put paid. Maybe next time? In house bar, lounge, but so enjoyed lovely room (3), overlooking front. Croydon actually had more local information than the Tourist Office that we went to ! Enjoyed fresh salmon at breakfast and 'real' coffee. Surprisingly quiet given central location. Bless you.

Room Tip: Ones we saw looked great - we liked 3 - overlooking road, and glimpse of sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Well, to start with a tiny negative -- staying here made me kind of feel as if I was living in an episode of "Three in a Bed" :) ... But the good news is, this B&B would come out on top. Everything was particularly nice, from the greeting during check-in, to being shown the room, to the very very nice breakfast the following morning.

The only problem with the room is that it has one of those ridiculous sliding bathroom doors that doesn't really shut OR lock, which can be a problem. Also the hot water in the shower was very inconsistent.

Those small things aside, the stay was great, the price was affordable (in terms of UK standards anyway) and the breakfast consisted of some of the most expertly prepared fried eggs I had ever eaten. They serve a 'full english' (traditional or vegetarian) for the record!

Would stay again if I were so inclined to go to Bournemouth again ...

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seputus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

In addition to the other glowing reviews which I can certainly vouch for, The Croydon is also the perfect spot for a break if you are a vegetarian - The breakfast was lovely and a far cry from the usual - well its eggs or eggs - approach experienced previously - It was indeed a full Veggie English breakfast served with a smile - even small details normally unnoticed by hoteliers was catered for - i.e. vegetarian yoghurts.

Huw kindly went out of his way to investigate suitable restaurants and The Croydon is ideally situated for a trip to the popular vegan restaurant The Mad Cucumber - see the Trip Adviser reviews. Although Huw will be serving his own evening meals shortly I understand.

Our stay coincided with the Bournemouth Food and Drink festival and were able to visit a great Vegan Fair at the Marriott just up the road from The Croydon - so that- and beautiful sunshine - made for a very happy veggie break. Thank you Huw and Staff.

Room Tip: We had room 2 which is a very quiet room at the rear of the hotel. The Croydon also has a spacious 5...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fayshaw2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We stayed at the Croydon in June with our family. From booking to check out we were provided with excellent service and treated exceptionally well. Huw was the perfect host and catered for all our needs. The recently refurbished rooms were tastefully decorated and were always kept spotlessly clean. There was a great choice at breakfast and was always very enjoyable and relaxed. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and look forward to returning ourselves.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancing, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

I was deciding on where to go for a short break within the UK & chose Bournemouth.
I looked at a long list of hotels, guest houses & b&b's.
The Croydon Hotel seemed to foot the bill & booking was very easy indeed.
On arriving at the hotel I was made to feel very welcomed indeed & the staff were very friendly.
It almost felt like a home from home & that's something I like very much.
Nothing was a fuss or a bother to the staff & breakfast was wonderful & set you up for the day.
Even though the hotel is going through some room modifications, the standards were already high.
There is a really large & spacious lounge so you don't have to sit in your room all day & it comes with a large flat screen tv & a mini bar(bonus).
Down in the basement & by no means dark, there is a very bright, airy & colourful breakfast room & they play classical music while you eat & drink.
Another added bonus is the rear garden & terrace, once again, nicely decorated & has nice lights, plants & flowers so on a warm evening you can sit outside, chill have a chat & drink.
The town centre is just a few minutes walk & there are so many local buses to take you to just about every area in & around Bournemouth, its perfect.
The Croydon Hotel is truly a star & i'll be staying there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeymourAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hungerford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is ideally situated for a visit to Bournemouth. Staff are very warm and welcoming. It is a clean and tidy hotel and our room was very comfortable.

We stayed for one night, made good use of the licensed bar, and was pleased with the short walk into the town centre.

Breakfast was plentiful with fresh extra tea & coffee on request. Gluten free bread was also supplied on request. Thanks!

We were very impressed with everything about this hotel. We had a fabulous stay and would highly recommend it. I'm sure we will return on our next stay to Bournemouth!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Davecrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights at the end of May. It was a great little place. The hotel is currently being refurbished and they're doing a brilliant job of it. The rooms are modern, bright and clean. The lounge and breakfast room are especially beautiful. I'm looking forward to going back to see it when complete. The owner Huw is delightful and his staff are really pleasant and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Bournemouth Central Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bournemouth
Hampton by Hilton Bournemouth
#13 of 76 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 stars 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#10 of 76 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 stars 2,619 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth
0.3 mi away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#6 of 76 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 stars 769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Croydon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Croydon Hotel

Address: 54 St Michaels Road, Bournemouth BH2 5DY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 143 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Croydon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing