We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A happy place for Vegetarians” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Croydon Hotel

Croydon Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bournemouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Croydon Hotel
Ranked #68 of 144 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A happy place for Vegetarians”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

In addition to the other glowing reviews which I can certainly vouch for, The Croydon is also the perfect spot for a break if you are a vegetarian - The breakfast was lovely and a far cry from the usual - well its eggs or eggs - approach experienced previously - It was indeed a full Veggie English breakfast served with a smile - even small details normally unnoticed by hoteliers was catered for - i.e. vegetarian yoghurts.

Huw kindly went out of his way to investigate suitable restaurants and The Croydon is ideally situated for a trip to the popular vegan restaurant The Mad Cucumber - see the Trip Adviser reviews. Although Huw will be serving his own evening meals shortly I understand.

Our stay coincided with the Bournemouth Food and Drink festival and were able to visit a great Vegan Fair at the Marriott just up the road from The Croydon - so that- and beautiful sunshine - made for a very happy veggie break. Thank you Huw and Staff.

Room Tip: We had room 2 which is a very quiet room at the rear of the hotel. The Croydon also has a spacious 5...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fayshaw2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    28
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
17
45
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

We stayed at the Croydon in June with our family. From booking to check out we were provided with excellent service and treated exceptionally well. Huw was the perfect host and catered for all our needs. The recently refurbished rooms were tastefully decorated and were always kept spotlessly clean. There was a great choice at breakfast and was always very enjoyable and relaxed. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and look forward to returning ourselves.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancing, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

I was deciding on where to go for a short break within the UK & chose Bournemouth.
I looked at a long list of hotels, guest houses & b&b's.
The Croydon Hotel seemed to foot the bill & booking was very easy indeed.
On arriving at the hotel I was made to feel very welcomed indeed & the staff were very friendly.
It almost felt like a home from home & that's something I like very much.
Nothing was a fuss or a bother to the staff & breakfast was wonderful & set you up for the day.
Even though the hotel is going through some room modifications, the standards were already high.
There is a really large & spacious lounge so you don't have to sit in your room all day & it comes with a large flat screen tv & a mini bar(bonus).
Down in the basement & by no means dark, there is a very bright, airy & colourful breakfast room & they play classical music while you eat & drink.
Another added bonus is the rear garden & terrace, once again, nicely decorated & has nice lights, plants & flowers so on a warm evening you can sit outside, chill have a chat & drink.
The town centre is just a few minutes walk & there are so many local buses to take you to just about every area in & around Bournemouth, its perfect.
The Croydon Hotel is truly a star & i'll be staying there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeymourAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is ideally situated for a visit to Bournemouth. Staff are very warm and welcoming. It is a clean and tidy hotel and our room was very comfortable.

We stayed for one night, made good use of the licensed bar, and was pleased with the short walk into the town centre.

Breakfast was plentiful with fresh extra tea & coffee on request. Gluten free bread was also supplied on request. Thanks!

We were very impressed with everything about this hotel. We had a fabulous stay and would highly recommend it. I'm sure we will return on our next stay to Bournemouth!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Davecrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights at the end of May. It was a great little place. The hotel is currently being refurbished and they're doing a brilliant job of it. The rooms are modern, bright and clean. The lounge and breakfast room are especially beautiful. I'm looking forward to going back to see it when complete. The owner Huw is delightful and his staff are really pleasant and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from this lovely b&b where the atmosphere and ambience of the hotel was incredibly friendly and relaxed.

We only stayed over night, however we found the bed to be comfortable, the room clean and spacious and the en-suite of satisfactory standard.

The hotel was quiet and the guests seemed to respect other residents.

This b&b is excellent value for money with a great breakfast selection with a full English provided too.

We found the staff very friendly, helpful and charming, nothing too much trouble.

We wish the owners every success for the future.

Our tip is for parking, use West Hill car park, £9 for 24 hours and a 2 min walk to the hotel.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TA29876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

Stayed here in May for 2 nights and I would have happily stayed longer. The owners were extremely friendly and always happy to help. The breakfast was of a good variety and the rooms were clean and boutique feeling. This hotel is still in the process of being refurbished and I am looking forward to seeing the difference when I next stay there.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodie-Merry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
#17 of 69 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Exeter Hotel
Royal Exeter Hotel
#12 of 69 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Collingwood
Hotel Collingwood
#7 of 69 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Durley Dean Hotel
The Durley Dean Hotel
#37 of 69 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Newark Hotel
The Newark Hotel
#46 of 144 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Chocolate Box Hotel
The Chocolate Box Hotel
#4 of 144 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Croydon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Croydon Hotel

Property: Croydon Hotel
Address: 54 St. Michaels Road, Bournemouth BH2 5DY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Croydon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing