We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Room and and Amazing Service”
Review of The Liston Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bournemouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Liston Hotel
Ranked #22 of 132 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Southend-on-Sea, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Room and and Amazing Service”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I attended a wedding there and stayed in a wonderful room with a balcony overlooking the gardens. I was very impressed with the room quality and the cleanliness of the room. It was light and airy and very clean. I had an amazing cooked breakfast the following morning!

Room Tip: I had a lovely stay here and felt like a queen in my lovely room and balcony. large shower facility...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kackers R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    70
    19
    5
    8
See reviews for
52
145
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

A Beautiful Family run Hotel

We Stayed with National Holidays, Nice clean room wonderful home cooked food and staff more than happy to help, A beautiful beer garden with a decked area with hundreds of hanging baskets and pots. a nice relaxing stay

Thank you Diana and Staff

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stan f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

My fiancé and I just spent a night at The Liston for a romantic weekend away for my birthday and to visit family. We looked at pictures of the bedrooms on their website and saw good reviews on here so we thought we had found a nice place. There weren't rooms available in different hotels or bed and breakfasts for this weekend (unless we were willing to pay nearly £200) so we thought we'd give this place a go.
Oh my goodness, I wish we hadn't! From the outside it looks like a perfectly pleasant place, the garden is pretty. However, the bedrooms are obviously not all updated and lovely as the pictures suggest.
The room we stayed in had;
* Peeling wall paper,
*a shower with a mouldy edge (the shower cubicle was also open at the top so that felt a bit weird),
*a nail sticking out of the wall just above the headboard (dangerous!),
*no hair dryer,
*loose tea bags (not individual ones in little packets that appear a bit more hygienic).
*The carpet was not hoovered since goodness knows when as there were little white bits all over the floor and a little sweet wrapper partially under the bed.
*The two chairs in the room had lost the padding on the seat so it was quite like sitting on a small toilet seat! The leather was also peeling off the seats in parts.
*One of the light bulbs wasn't working,
*The bathroom had plastic hooks stuck to the back of the door using little sticker things, there were marks on the back of the door where we could see they had been stuck previously and fallen off.
*There were no hand towels.
*The bed was very squeaky and wobbly.
*The duvet cover was ancient and ugly.
As it does appear that the rooms are slowly being updated we do feel that this should be very clearly advertised and the old rooms should be a lot cheaper to stay in. We feel we were ripped off as we were charged £90 for our room. The owners should feel embarrassed for renting these rooms out at this price.

We chose not to have breakfast there in the morning as we were anxious about what that would be like based on the room!! The lady at reception did not ask us how our stay was at the hotel, perhaps that is because she knew what answer she would get?

The good reviews for this hotel must surely be based on the bedrooms that have already been done up.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has been updated
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sarah123429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Hull, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Hi just come back from 5 day break with National Holidays staying at the Liston Hotel.Great room ,great food ,great staff.Would recommend it to all ages I have been on many hols with National and this rates as one of the best due to hotel food and staff.Give it a try you wont be dissapointed.

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra and get a front balcony room also room 11 was great we had that
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Wendy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

My wife and i have just retuned from a seven day holiday at the Liston hotel in Bournemouth,and it was the hotel that made our holiday one to be remembered.The hotel was very clean and
comfortable,we had a large bedroom that was tastfully decorated and very well furnished, the towels and bed linen were changed during ourn stay.
The food was also of a high quality,and the service in the dinning room was the best we have
experienced for many years,the hotel staff were all cheerful,friendly and helpful .If we go again it will be the Clifton for us.

J Liversidge

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 499joseph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a short stay at The Liston Hotel in Bournemouth and we have nothing but praise. The room was enormous and very nicely decorated and fitted out and the ensuite bathroom was of the highest quality.

We didn't use the restaurant except for breakfast which was excellent.

The location is perfect for the beach

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Stayed at the Liston on a Friday night - greeted by a lovely lady with a big smile on her face - always nice to feel welcome ! Very helpful. Room lovely and big, quiet. Brilliant shower ! Will definitely stay again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.1 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,960 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,504 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Chine Hotel
The Chine Hotel
#24 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,000 reviews
1.6 mi away
Royal Bath
Royal Bath
#59 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,754 reviews
0.8 mi away
Derby Manor Hotel
Derby Manor Hotel
#1 of 66 in Bournemouth
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Liston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Liston Hotel

Property: The Liston Hotel
Address: Boscombe Spa 5 Wollstonecraft Road, Bournemouth BH5 1JQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Liston Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing