We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Liston Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Liston Hotel
Ranked #22 of 133 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

This hotel and restaurant is set back from the busier sea front but is much better for that. A family gathering for lunch was the occasion on a Bank Holiday weekend. Our reception and service throughout was excellent and the food very good and enjoyed by all. Drinks afterwards in the sunny garden completed a relaxing afternoon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RodericWey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    70
    19
    5
    8
See reviews for
52
142
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

lovely hotelclose to the seafront.helpful staff and excellent service. well worth a visit. rooms spotless,bed really comfortable and breakfast delicious. only stayed for one night but hope to return for a longer stay at a later date.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tarnya P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Fabulous hotel. Fantastic food and wonderful service from the staff - attentive but never intrusive. Rooms look recently updated and are a little utilitarian in style (would just like a picture or two on the walls) but really spacious and comfortable. Loved the double size shower! Not sure about the black flooring on the balcony. There's clearly still some work being finished. Although you have to look carefully between two other buildings to see the sea, there's a nice view of the garden, which is just waiting to have few corners finished off what looks a great design.
You should definitely eat dinner on the restaurant, Gilbeys, with it's old fashioned bar, quirky room, and amazing food. A good price for what you get, good wine list too, and lovely extras (appetisers, amuse bouches, petite fours) to the three courses - just make sure you leave room for them all!
The quiet leafy location is within easy reach (a short downhill walk) of Boscombe Pier and all the amenities of the seafront. They kindly let us leave our car all day in their car park on the day we checked out.
We loved it and will be back - worth a visit whatever the season.
(BTW, ignore the swimming pool review - there isn't one but I couldn't unclick it. Sorry.)

Room Tip: Lastminute.com only gave us the choice of room only bit it's well worth asking for breakfast to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eafm365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

This family run hotel is staffed by extremely friendly and efficient people. Some decor may appear dated but only because it is original to the building and adds to its enormous charm. We stayed in room 9 and as others have stated the superking size bed was incredibly comfortable. The room was huge. Beautifully finished bathroom with large bath and very spacious shower. Plenty of hot powerful water. Everything spotlessly clean and a real delight to stay in. The staff were genuinely eager to please. They managed to get us a table for dinner despite being extremely busy and the meal was truly delicious. If you stay here you really should book a table for dinner. The hotel is very good value for money and we would highly recommend it. We are eager to return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catheeryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Just read Peter H review and I agree with most of what he says it is situated in a quiet area of Boscombe the scaffolding is still there but dont let that distract you from this little Gem . We to went by National Holidays only 16 in our party and we were also the only party there but got treated great by all at the Hotel the Dining Hall is a Delight to see with its hand painted Murals going all the way round ( painted by a local artist )the dining hall . The rooms were clean and Tidy with fridge plenty of Wardrobe space But what let it down was the lack of a Socket alongside of the Mirror the Wife had to stand about 8 ft away to the nearest socket. The room we had was No 23 with Balcony ( no extra cost involved for us ) heating was very good but they were having problems with the Boiler when we were there ( April 1 till April 5 ). The Food was good value for money seeing we were with National ( you get what you pay for ) and the portions were more than enough for us "2 . The waiter Isaac just couldn,t do enough for you one day my Wife did,nt like the Main ( it was Turkey which she doesnt like )and he was most upset that she did,nt eat and suggested different alternatives but she was quite happy with the soup and desert so he went happy Briliant Man . One fault I did find was on the free standing Unit the edge was finished off with a tape instead of a proper edging strip and COULD cut yourself on it ( bad finishing , bad practice ) and the plinth on the sealed in unit wants fixing but thats me as a retired Joiner speaking .All in all a most Enjoyable stay and one to recomend to ALL .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ebbie44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

This family run hotel is being refurbished. We were in rooms 9 and 10 both were outstanding. Individually and tastefully decorated. Larger than any other hotel rooms I can ever remember. Complete with a small fridge, that was silent in the night, The bed was the most comfortable one I have slept in (hotel wise) for many years. The room had a hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Large radiator which ensured we were not cold

The bathrooms were finished to a very high standard. Beautifully tiled. Very large walk in shower with a large showerhead and loads of power. Lovely bath

Spotlessly clean throughout. The staff were clean, smart and very attentive.

The weather was cold so we did not go into the garden but it looked very inviting and well maintained.

Looking forward to our next visit

Room Tip: Call the hotel directly or email for the best rates. You will not be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole Dorset UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Once again nothing but praise for The Liston. Have only used Gilbeys Restaurant in the past but as this was a special occasion family and friends decided to use the Hotel. A lovely characterful hotel. Each room different. Beautifully clean and warm. (Bitterly cold weekend). Great shower with constant hot water. Bed very comfortable,I am normally hard to please!!!! More pillows were available in the wardrobe. Cannot understand the 2 star rating deserves more.

Had a most delicious meal for family members Sunday lunch-time. As always with Gilbeys lovely food and wonderful service.

Thank you Diane and family for your wonderful hospitality and all the best for the alterations nearing completion. Will have to return to see the finished project!

Lorna C and family.

Room Tip: Just explain your needs to Diane on booking. Not one of our party complained. Lift is slow but it i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lornagloria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.8 mi away
Derby Manor Hotel
Derby Manor Hotel
#1 of 66 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Chine Hotel
The Chine Hotel
#27 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
1.5 mi away
Marsham Court Hotel
Marsham Court Hotel
#21 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Strand Hotel
The Strand Hotel
#16 of 133 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.2 mi away
Denewood Hotel
Denewood Hotel
#40 of 133 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westby Guest House
The Westby Guest House
#50 of 133 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Liston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Liston Hotel

Property: The Liston Hotel
Address: Boscombe Spa 5 Wollstonecraft Road, Bournemouth BH5 1JQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 133 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Liston Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing