We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One night stay during the Air Festival” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Liston Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bournemouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Liston Hotel
Ranked #20 of 144 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“One night stay during the Air Festival”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Pleased to find this hotel at late notice, which is only a few minutes from the sea front. We were visiting for the Bournemouth Air Festival. Easy check in, very pleasant lady on reception, the owner I presume. We had a triple room which was very spacious. Decoration a little dated, one of the bed matresses was very bowed in the middle but room had a fridge which was a nice extra. Breakfast was a delight. Quick service and the food was well cooked and hot. We paid £135 for one night which is more than we usually pay but the location was perfect for us.
Boscombe centre is in need of regeneration but the hotel is away from the town centre.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chesterfields_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    70
    19
    5
    8
See reviews for
52
142
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
402 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 441 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

This privately run hotel is in a handy position for the beaches at Boscombe. The Liston has character not like the "sameness" of the chain hotels.
The furnishings and decor in our bedroom I would describe as classic the room being most comfortable. No a/c but we did have a fan which kept the room cool.

Appreciated were the fridge and in room safe, hair dryer and iron coffee making facilities and even an umbrella.

There is a bar and dance floor next to the more modern dining room and outside very well tended gardens where refreshments can be served.

Breakfast was served by attentive staff and the food was cooked to perfection.

The hotel is in a residential area and apart from the Liston there really isn't anywhere to go in the vicinity for a drink or a bite to eat unless you like a Harvester which is on the sea front. There is a bowling club on the cliff top nearer Southbourne which serves very well priced food and drink although not sure if it serves alcohol.

We had a very good stay at The Liston and thank you to the owners and staff for all your hard work. It is appreciated.

Boscombe town is not really within walking distance and I would not advise visiting in the evening as the town is very run down.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

I organised a large party to stay at the Liston Hotel for two nights over the August bank holiday weekend. The owner-manager Diane Gilbey was very welcoming and flexible throughout.

All of our party thoroughly enjoyed the weekend, and the hotel was praised by everyone. The rooms were comfortable and well-equipped, and the food was great, both for dinner and for our excellent cooked breakfasts. We felt that the hotel has much more character than one of the similarly-priced national chains of hotels. The position close to the sea was a bonus.

I would have no hesitation in using the Liston Hotel and Gilbey’s restaurant on a future occasion.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yokshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Just returned from a 7 day break with National Holidays and had a lovely stay. We had a superior twin room(10) had a lovely huge shower,fridge, lovely soft towels and a juliet balcony, just a shame it looked over the back of the hotel and not the lovely gardens. The food was great with plenty of choice which was ordered at the meal before, and as my son is a very fussy eater he had things made just for him. The staff were very pleasent nothing was too much trouble (a name badge might be good though). Thankyou all very much, Gail and Michael Fozard x

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the gardens, better than the bins and the extracor fan from the kitchen at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank force10WestYokshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

Just returned from this hotel after going on a trip with National Holidays and was surprised with how good this hotel is. When we booked they had run out of normal priced rooms so we had to upgrade to a luxury room, I would recommend to anyone to upgrade as it is defiantly worth the extra money. The room was nice and clean with a great view facing out of the front of the hotel. The staff were always happy to help and were nice and friendly. The food at the hotel was nice apart from the Cumberland sausage which we personally didn't like.

The entertainment was good for a small hotel, the only act which we could have done without was a singing duo who could not sing at all. We ended up going back to the room and watching Avatar.

During your stay if you need internet access just ask at reception for the password and they will be happy to give you it.

I would recommend the hotel to anyone going to Bournemouth as its only 5 mins away from beach and there's quite a fue local shops.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a luxury room as it is defiantly worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucy-E-Stephens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

My wife and I stayed for one night before going on to visit friends in another part of Dorset. This hotel is simply excellent - we had a very large comfortable double room (Room 20) and an en-suite bathroom of 5 star quality. Friendly, relaxed, yet efficient service. A good breakfast and no problems with parking. Although we did not have time to use it, there is a bar and large lounge opening onto an attractive garden. A lift (elevator) is available. Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: Room 20 is large and faces East
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

This is a 2 star hotel with a 5 star personality. Diane and her staff are huge when it comes to customer service. They listen and try very hard to please everyone as individuals. I was in a lovely room, which suited my needs greatly and i loved the very thoughtful fridge. Perfect in every way, i will definately be back there soon. Thank you Diane. You should be very proud of the way you run your hotel.

Room Tip: Just explain your needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dianaparkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.9 mi away
Derby Manor Hotel
Derby Manor Hotel
#1 of 68 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#15 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,263 reviews
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
0.8 mi away
Langtry Manor Hotel
Langtry Manor Hotel
#4 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Liston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Liston Hotel

Property: The Liston Hotel
Address: Boscombe Spa 5 Wollstonecraft Road, Bournemouth BH5 1JQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Liston Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing