We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could have stayed longer”
Review of The Liston Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Liston Hotel
Ranked #23 of 132 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Could have stayed longer”
Reviewed November 11, 2011

My Mam has asked me to write this after having just returned from this hotel on a 4 day break with national coaches- Diane was a first class hostess, hotel brilliant, room beautifil stayed in no 2 very clean, food was excellent and all the staff provided an excellent service , would love to return sometime think the person who wrote the bad review must have stayed in a different hotel
booked under Rutter and Pegg 11/11/11

Room Tip: room 2 lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carole e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    70
    19
    5
    8
See reviews for
52
143
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Stayed four nights at the Liston on a National Holiday break.The first night had no choice of dinner - served on a take it or leave it basis. Turkey dinner swamped with gravey made with cheap gravy granules.Rest of the week choice made at breakfast with paper and pencil on table.Our so called delux room was anything but, ideal if you want a 1950's experience.General cleanliness left a lot to be desired, rubbish left on the dirty stair carpet was noticed on the first day and not been cleaned on the fourth day.It appears that the hotel is run on a shoe string.

Room Tip: Find a better Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Horner507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMGBournemouth, Owner at The Liston Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2011
Sorry and disappointed for ourselves and for you that you did not enjoy your holiday with us at the Liston. We always strive to give guests an enjoyable holiday.
The vast majority of National Holiday guests say they love the hotel. The room you stayed in has recently been decorated and we have had very positive feedback from this. New expensive furniture, brand new bathroom with bath and a power shower, 32 inch Flatscreen Freeview T.V., fridge, complimentary water, large bath towels, hairdryer, iron and ironing board. Maybe you did not like the floral Sanderson Wallpaper with matching curtains and duvet cover for the super king 6ft bed. We try to have individually decorated rooms so they are not bland.
On arrival day to speed up service we do serve a set meal but when we give people their room key we say what we are serving and we always have alternatives available. We never buy gravy granules. I have three chefs and virtually everything is made on the premises. Quite of lot of the National Holiday hotels offer a buffet style menu but we think it is so much nicer to be served a meal to your table and the only practical way to do this to avoid disappointment so that we do not run out of things is to get guests to choose in the morning. The majority of National Holiday guests and the drivers comment very favourably on the quality, quantity and variety of our meals.
I ran up the stairs several times and never saw any rubbish it is Autumn and we have trees in our garden so maybe it was leaves . We certainly do not run the hotel on a shoe string – we have a full team of conscientious hard working staff. We feel the hotel is very well run and like most hotels we have an ongoing refurbishing programme and it is very clean and well cared for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2011

Just got back from a 4 night stay as part of a National Holidays tour. The Hotel is lovely, Diane is a welcoming host and she is lucky to have such a Team of friendly, professional Staff. We occupied a Superior Room on the top floor, and it was very, very comfortable, with a huge bed, loads of drawer and wardrobe space and a luxurious bathroom with a fab power shower, loved the 2 piles of snowy white towels, a towel warming rail that worked and the handwash and bath gels, a lovely touch. It was nice to find a small fridge in the room, and a proper tea tray complete with teapot!! The food was really, really good, all freshly made, fresh vegetables, good choices, fabulous puds, especially the Marzipan Cream dessert with soft fruits, so good I asked for the recipe, which Diane kindly gave me! It will be on my menu at Christmas! The Breakfast choices were excellent too, well cooked and well served by the hard working Staff. We have been on lots of trips with various Coach Companies, and National is usually the cheapest, so the quality of the Hotel can sometimes be poor, this Hotel is 4 star for the price we paid. If Diane does get any negative remarks or comments, it will be from people who are extremely hard to please.....you get what you pay for! I wish that we had better weather for our visit, so that we could have enjoyed sitting in the lovely garden, which still had strawberries fruiting at this time of year, and you could see all the fresh herbs, courgettes, tomatoes etc that Chef uses in his recipes! I would definitely stay here again, full marks!!

Room Tip: upgrade if you can, it is worth it for the extra little touches of luxury
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank midgy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

We held our wedding party here and were offered a complimentary superior room for the night. Diane was really helpful and allowed us into the room early so that the bridal party could get ready before the ceremony which was being held at a local church. Our room was really quite large ,dressing table, hair dryer, large flat screen TV, large wardrobe with plenty of spare hangers), a huge bed which was very comfortable and a modern bathroom complete with a power shower to be proud of! We had a blown light bulb which was replaced within 15 minutes of reporting it. The bathroom was stocked with plenty of towels and complimentary toiletries.
We had 30 guests for our wedding breakfast which was pre ordered in advance. Diane allowed us the choice of what we wanted on our menu and there was something to suit all. The children had a great menu ( not the usual nuggets and chips ! ) . We arrived slightly earlier than expected but the staff were quick to get drinks and canapes out to our guests. The dining room was set out beautifully and allowed the children plenty of space to move around. All the staff were helpful and gave great service. Having eaten here several times before we had high hopes for the food and as usual the chef didn't disappoint. Everyone really enjoyed their food and we were pleased with our choice of wines from the extensive wine list. We were allowed to decorate the room to our own taste, and our photographers and musician had plenty of time and space to set up and get on with their jobs ! In the evening we had a disco and made use of the bar, again the staff were friendly and helpful and cut our wedding cake for us to offer around to guests. Be warned that the bar is cash only, something some of our guests weren't prepared for. On the whole Diane and all of her team made us and our guests feel welcome and looked after. Everyone enjoyed their food and had a lovely day. Big thanks to all at the Liston for making our big day so special, see you all soon.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 13, 2011

I had my 40th Birthday here at the end of September 2011. The venue is perfect for a party as you can vary the space needed and it never feels as if you are rattling around in a large hall, but there is plenty of room. There is a quiet seating area, a dance floor and immediate access to the outside deckinh area. The buffet food was varied, homemade and excellent quality. Not a sausage roll and limp sandwich in sight and there was plenty of it. The staff could not be more helpful and made us feel welcome at all times. The owners are great people who could not do more for us to ensure the event went well, we were able to decorate the room and really felt at home.
We had friends who stayed who all had excellent experiences and we came back, with our hang overs, for a delicious buffet style and cooked breakfast. Wonderful.

Other experiences:
We have also stayed in a superior room which was beautifully decorated, spacious and value for money.
We went to a mexican theme food night with 10 friends which was great fun, excellent food, super service and had a great atmosphere
My party was the fourth event over 6 years that we have hosted here. A 60th, another 40th and a double childrens birthday party. It must be good as we keep coming back!

Give it a go, you can't go wrong!

Room Tip: Superiors are worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KC100_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

The After Dinner Club has met annually for dinner at Gilbey's for the last five years. Every year our lady members look forward to their visit and this year was no exception. Our meal of twice baked cheese souffle, following by pork with a Calvados and apple sauce and finished with a trio of deserts was delicious. Our speaker for the evening was most impressed and wants to be asked again next year! Thank you Diane and your team for a wonderful start to our 50th year as a Bournemouth club.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saskia07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 10, 2011

A family run establishment with excellent food,service,rooms and staff.
Gilbey's their award winning restaurant serves delicious food which is enhanced by using their own herbs and fresh seasonable vegetables.
The overall ambience that the friendly,helpful,welcoming proprietress,talented chief and professional efficient staff ensures a most enjoyable stay and relaxing holiday.
The hotel is well situated 2 mins from the cliffs and beach and very good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask advice stating your requirements from a the helpful proprietress when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pamelafarnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.8 mi away
Derby Manor Hotel
Derby Manor Hotel
#1 of 66 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Chine Hotel
The Chine Hotel
#28 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
1.5 mi away
Marsham Court Hotel
Marsham Court Hotel
#22 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Strand Hotel
The Strand Hotel
#17 of 132 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.2 mi away
Denewood Hotel
Denewood Hotel
#39 of 132 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westby Guest House
The Westby Guest House
#47 of 132 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Liston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Liston Hotel

Property: The Liston Hotel
Address: Boscombe Spa 5 Wollstonecraft Road, Bournemouth BH5 1JQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Liston Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing