We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay”
Review of The Liston Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bournemouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Liston Hotel
Ranked #19 of 131 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great place to stay”
Reviewed August 11, 2011

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome. We needed breakfast earlier than usual and dinner later than usual - and the owner and her family were most accomodating.
The bedroom was a good size with huge TV, comfortable bed and modern furnishings, and along with the ensuite everything was very clean.
Food choices and prices are excellent - with most attentive service!
Special thanks to Diane and Lupe for making our stay so enjoyable - hope to see you next year!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    71
    19
    5
    8
See reviews for
53
149
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Tetbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2011

A group of 9 of us stayed at the Liston for a Fri and Sat night in early August. The hotel is easy to locate, clean, tidy and very welcoming. From the moment we arrived the staff were helpful and accommodating. Topped of with a great breakfast - the Liston provides excellent value for money and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rovingcitygent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

Just a one night stay to attend a local family function . We were given a very warm welcome, had a free room upgrade. Room was excellent.
The hotel is being upgraded to a good standard and the garden was excellent (it was a very sunny day!) Breakfast was good with very polite and friendly staff. We would stay again. Rooms 8 & 9 are large and well equiped.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerryFindonValley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

A group of 10 stayed one night in The Liston and one night was long enough. When we arrived, the rooms were not completed, with one room being filthy. The bolt on one of the rooms was broken and we were unable to lock the door. The owner was not apologetic for these problems and was extremely rude when we questioned when the dirty room would be ready. There was never anyone manning the front desk when we needed information and was not locked during the night.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Peoplesgreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 6, 2011

Our trip was a spur of the moment thing and we count ourselves lucky to have found a vacant room at the Liston for our 3 day stay. The hotel is within a stones throw from the Boscombe cliff top with free parking and easy ramped access to the beach below The welcome at reception was friendly and sincere, the en-suite room was spacious and well appointed with abundant drawer/wardrobe space, the restaurant service was friendly and efficient and the food wholesome and plentiful.
We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david_finch360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2011

We loved our stay at this friendly, family run hotel. Very welcoming.
Lovely spacious clean room. with fridge,and t v. The breakfast was a perfect start to a busy day and only a short walk to beach at Boscombe

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MacDaddy1154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2011

We stayed as part of a National Coach Tour, Our room had recently been updated to a high standard with a very good shower in the modern bathroom. The bed was comfortable and the room had plenty of storage. Food was very good and the portions were adequate. The meals were well presented and served by pleasant staff. The Hotel is situated in Boscombe about an hours slow walk along the seafront to Bournemouth Centre but you can catch the land train which is good value. On the downside we were not given a choice of times for dinner and found that 6 o clock was too early. The owner was an unpleasant man who showed a nasty side to his guests when the coach arrived back late one evening due to heavy traffic, but his son steve was the opposite. Comments made by the owner to late passengers should have been directed to the driver in private not outside the front door in an unprofessional and deeply unpleasant way

Room Tip: pay extra for a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank l1kecomfort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.1 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,993 reviews
1.6 mi away
Royal Bath Hotel & Spa
Royal Bath Hotel & Spa
#59 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,803 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,479 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chine Hotel
Chine Hotel
#20 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,020 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Liston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Liston Hotel

Property: The Liston Hotel
Address: Boscombe Spa 5 Wollstonecraft Road, Bournemouth BH5 1JQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 131 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Liston Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing