We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service”
Review of The Liston Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bournemouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Liston Hotel
Ranked #22 of 131 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 3, 2011

Just a one night stay to attend a local family function . We were given a very warm welcome, had a free room upgrade. Room was excellent.
The hotel is being upgraded to a good standard and the garden was excellent (it was a very sunny day!) Breakfast was good with very polite and friendly staff. We would stay again. Rooms 8 & 9 are large and well equiped.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TerryFindonValley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (313)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

283 - 289 of 313 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2011

A group of 10 stayed one night in The Liston and one night was long enough. When we arrived, the rooms were not completed, with one room being filthy. The bolt on one of the rooms was broken and we were unable to lock the door. The owner was not apologetic for these problems and was extremely rude when we questioned when the dirty room would be ready. There was never anyone manning the front desk when we needed information and was not locked during the night.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
1  Thank Peoplesgreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

Our trip was a spur of the moment thing and we count ourselves lucky to have found a vacant room at the Liston for our 3 day stay. The hotel is within a stones throw from the Boscombe cliff top with free parking and easy ramped access to the beach below The welcome at reception was friendly and sincere, the en-suite room was spacious and well appointed with abundant drawer/wardrobe space, the restaurant service was friendly and efficient and the food wholesome and plentiful.
We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david_finch360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2011

We loved our stay at this friendly, family run hotel. Very welcoming.
Lovely spacious clean room. with fridge,and t v. The breakfast was a perfect start to a busy day and only a short walk to beach at Boscombe

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MacDaddy1154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2011

We stayed as part of a National Coach Tour, Our room had recently been updated to a high standard with a very good shower in the modern bathroom. The bed was comfortable and the room had plenty of storage. Food was very good and the portions were adequate. The meals were well presented and served by pleasant staff. The Hotel is situated in Boscombe about an hours slow walk along the seafront to Bournemouth Centre but you can catch the land train which is good value. On the downside we were not given a choice of times for dinner and found that 6 o clock was too early. The owner was an unpleasant man who showed a nasty side to his guests when the coach arrived back late one evening due to heavy traffic, but his son steve was the opposite. Comments made by the owner to late passengers should have been directed to the driver in private not outside the front door in an unprofessional and deeply unpleasant way

Room Tip: pay extra for a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank l1kecomfort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

Amazing room - one of their 'superior' ones I assume. Very good size, well equipped with flat screen tv and fridge, double bath and a separate power shower. Couldn't ask for more.

Also had Sunday lunch - very good quality, large portions, and again, a good price.

Room Tip: Superior rooms definately worth the extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fromCorsham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2011

We loved our stay at this friendly, family run hotel.Our spacious comfortable bedroom and bathroom, were both bright and very clean. There was also a fridge, which was good as the weather was hot.
The meals in Gilbys Restaurant were excellent and very good value. We would have liked to stayed longer.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angie4771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Celebrity
Hotel Celebrity
#28 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,294 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#15 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,592 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Royal Bath Hotel & Spa
Royal Bath Hotel & Spa
#59 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,007 reviews
1.9 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#21 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,137 reviews
2.8 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Liston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Liston Hotel

Address: Boscombe Spa 5 Wollstonecraft Road, Bournemouth BH5 1JQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 131 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range: $76 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Liston Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing