We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent restaurant”
Review of Blakes Restaurant

Blakes Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Blakes Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #69 of 796 Restaurants in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $49
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Overlooking the garden, this hugely popular double rosette restaurant offers one of the best dining experiences available for visitors to Bournemouth and local residents alike. Offering a wide range of modern cuisine, the menu is inspired by the best of British and French food. Blakes has held its double rosette since 2011 and is very proud to also have been awarded with TripAdvisor's "Certificate of Excellence 2016",With an extensive wine list and an experienced team, led by Maitre d', Nicky Rutigliano, you will be pampered from the moment you arrive.On those balmy summer evenings, why not have a romantic dinner, al-fresco, in the candlelit garden - or during the winter months retire after dinner to the warmth of the open fire in the drawing room.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Excellent food and service at this restaurant within the Cannaught Hotel. The staff were very attentive and helpful.

Thank gmc_north
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at Blakes Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

"Excellent" 5 star review GMC, thank you.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (419)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

226 - 230 of 419 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2013

We had our 25th wedding anniversary dinner for 26 people last sat. From planning through to the evening itself we were looked after brilliantly. We used the room behind the main restaurant and it had been transformed to look elegant and welcoming. All the extra touches that were provided were fabulous. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, which I have to say were plentiful. The meal itself was exquisite and that's no mean feat when you are catering for a large amount of people in one sitting. Our guests were so impressed and we had so many compliments on our choice of venue. We weren't rushed and felt so comfortable we ended up in the bar till very late. All in all we would like to say thank you very much for making a special occasion fantastic. We will be in for dinner soon! Helen and Steve Wells.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at Blakes Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear Helen and Steve

We were all thrilled to read just how much you and your friends enjoyed your evening in Blakes to celebrate your 25th wedding anniversary - our congratulations once more!!. Being local to Bournemouth I hope we see a lot more of you.

Best wishes and thank you for your "fabulous" review.

David F Miller
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

This is really a enjoyable venue for experiencing fine dining. Whilst not the 'Chewton Glen' in terms of surroundings it matches them in fact beats them when it comes to the quality of the food and service. The menu is exactly the right size and the choice just enough to make you wonder if you'd made the right decision, (there always being another option to make your mouth water). For me this is the best in Bournemouth by some margin.

Compliments to the chefs and the waiting staff all of whom made the experience worth while. We were a party of 6 and will be attending again in the very near future for sure.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank iron0710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at Blakes Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Nice to be compared with Chewton Glen, Iron and even nicer to be considered better when it comes to the food and service - thank you very much indeed.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Oh my were do I start, what a wonderful treat. After having many ho hum meals this was what we had been missing. I agree with Stillrich it was top of the class,we had the Hake and the Breem both mmmmm and what a surprise when the triffle arrived I did not expect a deconstructed one, can I tell you the taste was amazing. Breakfast was delivered to our room and a great start for our long day of traveling. Please take the time to visit here and stay a night in the hotel you wont be disappointed. This was the highlight of our trip from San Francisco.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Trish A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at Blakes Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Glad you enjoyed your Blakes' experience Trish, thank you very much and thank you also for writing such a brilliant review of your stay at the Connaught.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Dircetor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

As regular subscribers to Trip Advisor we were aware of the favourable reviews of both Gilbeys and Blakes. We have visited Gilbeys twice but only this last weekend had the chance to try Blakes. When we walked into Blakes on our last visit to Bournemouth (March) the receptionist laughed at us when we asked about table availability for that night which suggested a place to book well in advance. Well we did and it failed to give a great impression!
The menu was impressive but not exciting. The service was OK but at no point were we asked if everything was OK. The Maitre de actually stated "Good Yes" when he took our plates away (Still containing some food!).
Gilbeys is welcoming from the moment you enter the hotel. The menu is varied, small and exciting.
In short go to Gilbeys if you don't mind it being off the beaten track a bit

Thank trendell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at Blakes Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Sorry we didn't live up to our reputation Trendell, very unusual for us - maybe another time. Thank you for the review.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blakes Restaurant also viewed

 
Bournemouth, Dorset
Bournemouth, Dorset
 

Been to Blakes Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing