We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and fantastic service”
Review of Blakes Restaurant

Blakes Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Blakes Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #36 of 743 Restaurants in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $45
Cuisines: French, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Overlooking the garden, this hugely popular double rosette restaurant offers one of the best dining experiences available for visitors to Bournemouth and local residents alike. Offering a wide range of modern cuisine, the menu is inspired by the best of British and French food. Blakes has held its double rosette since 2011 and is very proud to also have been awarded with TripAdvisor's "Certificate of Excellence 2016",With an extensive wine list and an experienced team, led by Maitre d', Nicky Rutigliano, you will be pampered from the moment you arrive.On those balmy summer evenings, why not have a romantic dinner, al-fresco, in the candlelit garden - or during the winter months retire after dinner to the warmth of the open fire in the drawing room.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food and fantastic service”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We went there to celebrate and it was a great evening, the food was lovely and the service fantastic. We felt very welcome and enjoyed every minute. Be aware that it is located in a hotel and the ambience is as you expect from a restaurant which is part of a hotel.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fab L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at Blakes Restaurant, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you FabL for your "Great" review. The garden is now open and on a sultry night, dining by candle light, the atmosphere is wonderful!!

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    304
    68
    20
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Verwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Amazing food and excellent service”
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Right from the moment we got there you could tell it was going to be a great experience.
The service was very friendly, yet professional and the food really was outstanding. Beautifully presented and high quality food. I had the steak and it really was excellent.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne_Delaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at Blakes Restaurant, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Being a Bournemouth girl Anne I hope we are going to see a lot more of you. Thank you very much for the very generous review.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells, England
Level Contributor
184 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Great meal and exceptional service”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Wow . . . Blakes is part of the Connaught Hotel and diners are able to enjoy the same high level of service that the Connaught offers. This is good old fashioned service and takes you back to when restaurants were run 'properly'. Nicky, the Maitre D and his team make you feel speacial and the food also matches the service, IE: it's excellent. Food is also served with a difference, you'll just have to come here to see what I mean. Great stuff.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Astronaught
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at Blakes Restaurant, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Superb review Astronaught and really pleased to read that you enjoyed your experience so much. Thank you also for your delightful and comprehensive review of the Connaught Hotel.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hook
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellant Food & Service”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Excellent meal with very good staff all ready to help and serve you. Would recommend to anyone staying at the hotel for either a bar meal or snack.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at Blakes Restaurant, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you very much Julian and thank you also for your 5 star review of the hotel. I look forward to seeing you again.

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent dining experience”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I was looking for somewhere 'special' to go for my birthday dinner and decided to look at tripadvisor for some ideas. Having read the wonderful reviews I chose to go to Blakes and I am so pleased I did! The atmosphere was relaxed and welcoming and the staff were attentive. The menu choice was excellent - it was so nice to see some different dishes for a change. The food was delicious. The service was courteous without being obtrusive. To complete my evening's enjoyment, the Maitre de and staff presented me with a lovely plate of petit fours and sang me 'Happy Birthday'! We will definitely be visiting again soon (who needs to wait for a special occasion?) and we will be recommending Blakes to our friends.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TizzyJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at Blakes Restaurant, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Delighted you enjoyed your birthday celebrations Tizzy and, being a local resident, we hope to see a lot more of you in the future.

Best wishes and thank you for your excellent review.

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blakes Restaurant also viewed

Bournemouth, Dorset
 

Been to Blakes Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing