We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good”
Review of Blakes Restaurant

Blakes Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Blakes Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #78 of 796 Restaurants in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $49
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Overlooking the garden, this hugely popular double rosette restaurant offers one of the best dining experiences available for visitors to Bournemouth and local residents alike. Offering a wide range of modern cuisine, the menu is inspired by the best of British and French food. Blakes has held its double rosette since 2011 and is very proud to also have been awarded with TripAdvisor's "Certificate of Excellence 2016",With an extensive wine list and an experienced team, led by Maitre d', Nicky Rutigliano, you will be pampered from the moment you arrive.On those balmy summer evenings, why not have a romantic dinner, al-fresco, in the candlelit garden - or during the winter months retire after dinner to the warmth of the open fire in the drawing room.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

My research on Trip Advisor and elsewhere indicates that it's surprisingly hard to find a really good quality, romantic restaurant in Bournemouth. Blakes has really good food and service, but the atmosphere is a bit tame. Whilst our main courses (skate wing and mushroom risotto) were excellent, the goats cheese starter was minimilist, and the cheese board expensive and disappointing: the range of cheeses was narrow, and excessively local. Given the French flavour of the restaurant staff, why not go for a really good French cheese board too?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank EcoEagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at Blakes Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Dear EcoEagle, Many thanks for your very discerning review. We have often discussd whether or not we should add French cheeses to the menu - which are much cheaper than their English counterparts - but that is the style the chef and maitre d' wish to keep, at least for the time being. I'll keep you posted.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (419)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

284 - 288 of 419 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2013

My wife wanted a posh tea in Bournemouth for a treat. The Connaught was just the job. Traditional tea by the gas fire with far to many cakes, scones and tasty sandwiches. The kids enjoyed the left over cakes and taking the spare smoke salmon sandwiches for school packed lunch.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at Blakes Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

Thank you Richard for your most generous review. As a local man living in Poole perhaps we could tempt you both to try dinner in Blakes one evening.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Lovely ambiance, fantastic service, my partner and I both thoroughly enjoyed our dining experience at this restaurant.

The food was impeccable, will definitely be visiting again. Was very impressed with the wine selection and ordered our favourite, brancott estate Sauvignon blanc.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MissMSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at Blakes Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Come again soon Miss M and thank you for your "Absolutely Wonderful" review.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Glad I found this place on trip advisor, if you're thinking about going here... DO IT! The food was amazing, the service was great, I was also surprised how cheap it was.
One thing I would say, if you are planning on going it's probably best to dress for the occasion. I felt a little under dressed in my denim shirt.
Would definitely recommend this place!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank richjones29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at Blakes Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Brilliant Richjones, thank you very much for your review and extremely pleased to read you enjoyed the duck. Thank you also for your comment regarding dress code which in the restaurant is smart casual; we do also ask guests to leave their mobiles in their coat pockets - it makes for such a nice evening!!

Best wishes and hope to see you again.

David F Miller
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Staff at this restaurant were highly professional, courteous yet friendly, and the service was neither rushed nor slow. The food was exceptional, as was the wine. Two of us had three courses each, and a bottle of good wine, the total bill was £90. If you are looking for somewhere a bit more 'up-market' then look no further, make a booking at Blakes.

Thank Val_G_England_1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at Blakes Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Glad you enjoyed your evening so much Val G and thank you for taking the trouble to write such a glowing report.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blakes Restaurant also viewed

 
Bournemouth, Dorset
Bournemouth, Dorset
 

Been to Blakes Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing