We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blakes Restaurant

Blakes Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Blakes Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #30 of 729 Restaurants in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $44
Cuisines: French, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Overlooking the garden, this hugely popular double rosette restaurant offers one of the best dining experiences available for visitors to Bournemouth and local residents alike. Offering a wide range of modern cuisine, the menu is inspired by the best of British and French food. Blakes has held its double rosette since 2011 and is very proud to also have been awarded with TripAdvisor's "Certificate of Excellence 2016",With an extensive wine list and an experienced team, led by Maitre d', Nicky Rutigliano, you will be pampered from the moment you arrive.On those balmy summer evenings, why not have a romantic dinner, al-fresco, in the candlelit garden - or during the winter months retire after dinner to the warmth of the open fire in the drawing room.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Outstanding food and with very attentive service.A must if you like eating in a restaurant with a touch of class.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chris395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at Blakes Restaurant, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
A great review Chris, short and very sweet - many thanks.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    302
    67
    18
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire
2 reviews
“Blakes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

I use Best Westerns weekly for both business and pleasure and invariably I find the set menu food top draw. However after a visit to the gym I was starving so a visit to Blakes would have to meet all my expectations (I am over 16 stones). There was nothing I could not eat on the menu, the waitress one French and one Dutch were good humoured and attentive. The house wine was to die for and the food was exceptional, a meat board and home pickles was just the right balance, the main was 4 hour braised lamb on a lentil bed with seasonal veg, my mouth is still watering. (I had a side order of chips didnt need them) and then a cheese board. I noticed the maitre'd working the tables he didnt miss a thing including forcing another large glass of superb red on me. Superb!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at Blakes Restaurant, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
My mouth is watering just reading your review Martin, thank you very much trom all of us.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A delightful surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Blakes definitely surpassed all my expectations of a two rosette AA restaurant, and I have tried a good many he. Over several nights the food was consistently excellent, full of flavour and imaginatively presented. The menu is carefully put together by a chef on top form. Service is always impeccable, with evident attention to detail. The wine list is relatively short, and all the better for that, as each has been chosen by a very knowledgeable expert who well understands his clientele. All this at a very accessible cost. Surely a third rosette cannot be far off.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Springer_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at Blakes Restaurant, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
A "delightful" review Springer, many thanks. Chef and Maitre d' do make a great team!!

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Actually it was the hotel bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

They did me a simple mushroom omelette with side salad, no fuss and it was very tasty. We were asked if we wanted to eat in the restaurant but opted to sit in the bar area, which was more relaxed.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank rainghirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at Blakes Restaurant, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Many thanks for the review Rainghirl and also for the one you posted about the hotel. Hope to see you again

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

We had a fantastic evening with outstanding food and wine and exceptional service, we will most certainly be back

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wes1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David1007, Owner at Blakes Restaurant, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Brilliant Wes, delighted you enjoyed your evening so much and thank you for taking the trouble to write your "exceptional" review.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blakes Restaurant also viewed

 
Bournemouth, Dorset
 

Been to Blakes Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing