We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious food, great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bates Restaurant

Bates Restaurant
Ranked #44 of 734 Restaurants in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $29
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
birmingham
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious food, great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Had a special birthday lunch for a large party. Service and food was faultless. It is unusual to when everyone is delighted with their meals in a large party. The food is obviously all homemade but we were served quickly and efficiently by lovely staff. I would highly recommend this restaurant. The steak pie is the best I have every tasted.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dianeh82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    29
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Delicious food and fantastic value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

This family-run restaurant offers excellent value for money with the set weekday lunch menu. Food is traditionally cooked from all fresh ingredients and presented in large portions. Service is very friendly and personal with nothing being too much trouble. Desserts are a delicious indulgence at the end of an already excellent meal. I certainly plan to come back here again and again.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely family run restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Attended this restaurant for a family gathering yesterday the staff were warm and welcoming, we sat down at our table having plenty of room. I ate of the lunch menu, I had the pate on toast for starter and the steak pie for main the food was cooked to perfection and all home made. Overall this was one of the best experiences and food I have had and would definitely recommend it to my friends

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value, homemade food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Visited today as part of a large party and ate from the lunch special menu.. Absolutely faultless food and service. I had the Chicken pate which was obviously home made and easily best pate I've had. The steak was perfectly cooked and was brilliant value as included in the set menu. Finished off with homemade banofee pie which was again amazing. Lovely to see a family run restaurant serving traditional homemade food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Went with a party of 9 friends. The welcome was warm and the food magnificent. Wine was extremely good value and nice to see several French wines on the list.Extremely good value and the best restaurant we visited in Bournemouth, without a doubt. Shame there were not more people in.

Would recommend the restaurant most highly and would definitely return if visiting the area

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Docburgess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bates Restaurant also viewed

 
Bournemouth, Dorset
 

Been to Bates Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing