We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best food in Bournemouth”

Langtry's Restaurant
Ranked #208 of 786 Restaurants in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Langtry Manor was built in 1877 by Edward VII for his mistress Lillie Langtry. It was an extremely elegant and luxurious home and served as their hideaway and love nest. Following substantial re-development the Hotel is now one of Bournemouth’s finest and most welcoming hotels. Our staff pride themselves on their service and attention to detail and look forward to welcoming you to the peace, comfort and heritage of Langtry Manor.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

A very varied menu, food was well cooked and presented and an excellent wine list. Staff are very attentive, polite and well mannered.

Thank Nampara6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaraHoward, General Manager at Langtry's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Thanks Nampara6. We are delighted that you enjoyed the food, the service and the ambience at Langtrys and that you took the time to tell everyone how lovely we are! We look forward to welcoming you when you are next back in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (174)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

134 - 138 of 174 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2013

What a lovely way to spend a cold Saturday in February having afternoon tea at Langtry`s.
Comfy lounge with a lovely traditional feel. The staff were welcoming and attentive. We could choose from tea or coffee which was replenished on request. A three tier stand arrived with finger sandwiches, salmon ham,egg and cream cheese, warmed scones with jam and clotted cream and a selection of small cakes all very delicious.
The only thing we didn`t like was the choice of music the kind of thing you here in department stores! but thats us being picky. We would definately visit again

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaraHoward, General Manager at Langtry's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

What a lovely review, thanks Sue B! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your Afternoon Tea and all the sumptuous goodies that go with it, not a calorie in sight I promise...You'll be pleased to hear that further to your comments the music selection has been improved, so we might even have you tapping your toes while drinking your tea!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

6 courses of very well prepared food,plenty of choices and served at good intervals so you didn't become full and uncomfortable.You share large tables with other dinners which is also enjoyable. I would thoroughly recommend the experience. The staff are very friendly and attentive.

Thank luckymeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickyMicky, General Manager at Langtry's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Hello Lucky Me

Thank you so much for your comments. We do our very best to do a good job and it is a real compliment when our guests choose to share their positive experience with others.

We are really pleased that you had a good time and we are looking forward to hopefully welcoming you back again in the future.

All the best

Tara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

loved the ambience, great service and superb food and excellent wine.Skate was main course which was cooked to perfection Scallops were to die for !! Waiter was very knowledgeable and helpful for the food and the wine too. We had three courses for £29 which was a bargain!!

Thank tony b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

My partner arranged a surprise afternoon tea at Langtry Manor to celebrate my birthday. He chose Langtry Manor as he was aware that in the past I had stayed there and was always saying how lovely it was. We arrived and was warmly greeted at reception and shown to a lovely table in the restaurant. Tea, Sandwiches, cakes and scones (Of course with jam and cream)in plenty were brought to us also we was offered and accepted a glass of wine (Of our choice) The atmospere was lovely. There was other people in the restaurant also enjoying afternoon tea. All in all a wonderful experience, 1 that I would have no problem in doing again. Hopefully my partner and I will be able at some point to spend a weekend at Langtry Manor.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank glynishamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Langtry's Restaurant also viewed

Bournemouth, Dorset
Bournemouth, Dorset
 

Been to Langtry's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing