We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hospitality”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bournemouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fenn Lodge Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic hospitality”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We recently stayed at Fenn Lodge for the first time and hope to return in the future. It is in a fantastic location on a quiet cul-de-sac with easy access down to the seafront via Alum Chine. Bruce and Sandy are wonderful hosts who offer great attention to detail in so many areas, including homemade bread for breakfast - something which went down especially well with our daughter. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank d1j1m1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcometoexcellence, Owner at Fenn Lodge Apartments, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you both soooooo very much for the lovely revue for Fenn Lodge. It was so special to have met you all. I am really glad the occasion was such a happy one and that the weather was so perfect for the photos! Didn't you all look so great! We would love to see you back once again. Take care. Bruce and Sandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    27
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
123
190
34
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Frimley Green, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed at the Fenn Lodge Hotel with friends in June 2013. We had a great stay, the Hotel owners Bruce and Sandy were excellent hosts and made us very welcome. Couldn't fault it and will go again. Chris and Lin Brown

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcometoexcellence, Owner at Fenn Lodge Apartments, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you so very much Chris & Lin for taking the time to write such a lovely revue for Fenn Lodge. It really is much appreciated and we both hope we will see you here again when you next come down to visit your family. In the meantime take care of each other

Bruce & Sandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

This was our first visit to Fenn Lodge and we chose this B&B because of the reviews and the fact that they had the wildlife in the garden. We were not disappointed at all. Sandy and Bruce very kindly let us change our booking because we wanted to go to a show at the BIC and still managed to let us have a room at the back of the house so we could see the wildlife.

As everyone states in their reviews, the hotel is immaculate and the welcome warm and friendly. Breakfast was delicious and very filling and the healthy choice was very tasty too and the home made bread was scrumptious.

Thank you Sandy and Bruce for making our stay one to remember and also thank you for the birthday card and decorations in our room. Hope you both enjoyed your wedding anniversary and also your trip to Legoland Sandy with your grandchildren. We will definitely return here if we are in the Bournemouth area again and have already recommended you to family who may be visiting in the New Year.
Doreen and Chris x

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have views of the wildlife
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doreen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcometoexcellence, Owner at Fenn Lodge Apartments, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you so much Chris & Doreen for your lovely revue and thank you for your kind wishes. It was special for us to have met you both and we would love to see you back here at Fenn Lodge some time. I hope you had a great birthday on 11th July Doreen!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Once again I visited Fenn Lodge knowing that Bruce and Sandy would be there with their fine hospitality. The rooms are furnished with a personal touch with welcoming signs. I always feel at home when at Fenn Lodge which I think is essential for a solo traveller.

Breakfast was up to its usual standard with a variety of nice things to eat. As a change from the full English I had poached haddock with egg and tomato for my 1st morning. Nearby Alum Chine is an interesting setting which reminds me of a rain forest location. The location of the hotel is ideal for most things, being very close to the beach and near to an half hourly bus service which goes to nearby Westbourne and continues to Bournemouth town and railway station.

I can not think of any negative things about Fenn Lodge. Believe me I have stayed at other hotels in Bournemouth and they are nowhere near the quality of this hotel.
Regards John

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcometoexcellence, Owner at Fenn Lodge Apartments, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Many thanks for your very encouraging revue John. it is always a pleasure to welcome you to our home. Take care

Bruce & Sandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gloucestershire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

How lovely it was to stay at Bruce and Sandys. A lovely warm welcome and we loved the quietness and home comforts it brings. The position is ideal , can walk to the beach. A wildlife haven but away from the city. Lots of individual touches, you think of everything! and the homemade bread well we were spoilt.! keep up the good work and individual touches we love it!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank claire9591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We have visited Fenn Lodge many times and always enjoy it immensely. We always receive a very warm welcome back from Bruce and Sandy and invited to have tea in the lounge. The house has a calm and relaxed atmosphere so one's holiday begins on stepping inside. Everywhere is immaculate with much attention to guests' personal needs. The rooms are so comfortable with everything anyone could need. The beds are beautifully dressed and have quality linen with imaginative decor. Very difficult to get out of in the morning!! Plenty of hot water in the shower together with huge supply of towels.Rooms very well serviced.

Breakfast is a feast with everyone's taste catered for from home baked warm bread and "healthy" breakfast to "full English". It certainly hits the spot followed by teapots of tea freshly brewed coffee.

Another great idea is the refrigerator on landing of first floor. This has huge jugs of fresh milk for visitors' use and all types of tea and jars of coffee as well as small jugs which is great if one wishes to make a drink at any time or store some food. It is very popular. Sandy also prepares jugs of fruit punch which is delicious. Very welcome after being on the beach on a warm day.

Rooms at the back of the house have a wonderful view of the garden and it is rather like Countryfile on a small scale when the foxes and badgers are about. Very stress relieving and an educational experience especially for the children. Sandy is so kind to these animals and it shows as they keep on appearing. It is really worth watching. The front rooms are good too and it is very quiet as there is no passing traffic.

All in all a beautiful location with Bruce and Sandy and the team making things special for everyone. What more could one want?

M&K June 13

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank holidaytime_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coventry england
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We have just returned today from a 4 day stay at Fenn Lodge Hotel and we can honestly say we really enjoyed our time there. Sandy and Bruce welcomed us on arrival and Sandy showed us to our room. We had room 3 and were perfectly happy with it. It was very clean and everything we needed was provided. I was really pleased to find a long mirror on the wall for a last minute check before going out. Many hotels fall down on this but not Fenn Lodge. We were offered tea or coffee and jam and cream scones which we accepted and they were very welcome after a journey from the Midlands. Sandy helped us with the local eateries and entertainment and there were loads of brochures to help as well. From our room at night we saw the fox eating from the bowl in the garden then the next night we saw a fox with her cub. The breakfast was lovely with lots of choice. I tried the healthy breakfast one morning and it was delicious.
This bed and breakfast deserves all the praise it gets and we would recommend it to anyone. If we decide to go to the Bournemouth area again for a few days there is only one place for us to stay. Well done Sandy and Bruce. It was a pleasure meeting you.

Jeanette and Pete.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the property are favourite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeanettesally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcometoexcellence, Owner at Fenn Lodge Apartments, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you both so very much, Jeanette & Pete ,for your great encouragement. It is really appreciated and it was such a pleasure to meet you both too. I do hope you are able to come back sometime. Take care of each other . Bruce & Sandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bournemouth
0.3 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
1.7 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Collingwood
Hotel Collingwood
#7 of 66 in Bournemouth
611 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,416 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fenn Lodge Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fenn Lodge Apartments

Property: Fenn Lodge Apartments
Address: 11 Rosemount Road | Alum Chine, Bournemouth BH4 8HB, England (Formerly Fenn Lodge Hotel B&B)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Bournemouth
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fenn Lodge has 5 brand new spacious modern two bedroom,2 bathroom,lounge/dining room self catering holiday apartments,with fully equipped kitchen. 4 apartments have large balconies and 3 of which overlook the exclusive Alum Chine and the regular nocturnal visits of the foxes and badgers and busy daytime birdlife! All apartments are individually and tastefully decorated with many extras for your comfort. 4 of the apartments sleep 4 people, whilst the 5th can sleep 6 people, Nestled between Bournemouth and Sandbanks, a 4 minute stroll, through the heavily wooded Chine, brings you onto 7 miles of glorious sandy beach. Quaint Westbourne, just 8 minutes walk, provides wonderful niche shops and a huge variety of eateries. Bournemouth is 1 mile along the promenade with its wonderful plethora of shops, night life, excitement, and events for the whole family. A truly great place to holiday! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fenn Hotel Bournemouth
Fenn Lodge Hotel Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing