We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as it gets”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bournemouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fenn Lodge Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Had the bed and breakfast experience of a lifetime during our visit to Fenn Lodge recently.
Sandy and Bruce excel at this business and we would not hesitate to recommend their hostelry to anybody wishing to spend a few quiet days in beautiful Bournemouth. The offerings at breakfast, including Sandy's healthy option,were as good as it gets and set us up for the day. Not only did our hosts see to our daily needs, but they also actively promoted visits from the local wildlife namely the badger and fox fraternity. Ten out of ten for all their efforts. Long may they prevail.

Room Tip: room 3 at the top of the house is ideally located to view the wildlife
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank graham w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (429)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 429 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2013

Stayed one night with daughter and small granddaughter. Welcomed with complimentary tea and cake in the lounge on arrival. Lovely large and bright room. Quiet road with nice stroll through the woods to the beach. Sandy recommended places to eat for evening meal, short drive to Westbourne with several eateries. In the morning table laid with special cup, plate and cutlery for granddaughter. Lovely homemade bread and lovely breakfast. Very short stay but loved the homely feel offered by Sandy and Bruce. Granddaughter loved the parting high five with Bruce. This is the service you miss when staying in large corporate hotel chains. Would recommend Fenn Lodge and would return, possibly with husband next time. LOVED IT.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 892KarenK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Third visit in as many years. Drawn to Fenn Lodge by the quiet location and its proximity to the woods leading to the sea. The undoubted attraction however is the hospitality shown by both Sandy and Bruce who constantly strive to make one's visit as pleasant as possible. Fenn Lodge is a beautiful house and the bedrooms are stylishly decorated with quality furnishings and while some are small they would nonetheless be the envy of many other larger establishments. Read the reviews, everyone thinks the same. Many return, you cannot argue with that.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank unash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Thank you very much to Sandy and Bruce for a very warm welcome and the friendly atmosphere all the time!
I will never forget the lovelly smell of the home-made bread- the best one I have ever eaten in Great Britain.
In general Breakfast was so delicous!
It was such a pleasure to stay in this such a beautyfull and so clean B&B place.
The house is very stylish, bright.
The area around is amazing too.
It is just 5 min walk trought the forest to the beach.
I am so glad that I came overthere!
Thank you very much to Sandy&Bruce! They were so helpfull and kind.
I already reccomended this place to my friends!
And I Hope I will be back there!
I just love it!
You will deserved it!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KaroJa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We have stayed at Fenn Lodge about seven times now, and we are always warmly welcomed by Bruce & Sandy, it is such a pleasure to visit them each year. We have experienced 3 different rooms and all have been most comfortable & spotlessly clean. We usually request a room which overlooks the garden in order to watch the visiting wildlife. Great choices at Breakfast, with delicious fresh baked bread all cooked to perfection, and nothing is too much trouble. If you are fit, the beach can be reached by walking through the Chine, accessed at the bottom of the road. Westbourne is also walkable or reached by car within a few minutes and there are many eateries to choose from. A thoroughly enjoyable stay of 5 nights in a quiet location & excellent value for money. Thank you once again Sandy & Bruce, we will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Another perfect stay for myself and Mum on her birthday. The welcome was amazing with the birthday banners and card, very unexpected. Something she will always remember. The room was very clean and nicely decorated and a great shower. Hope to come again if life is kind to us. Many thanks to Bruce and Sandy for being so nice.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tanner42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

A wonderful bank holiday weekend at Fenn Lodge, on my own, while attending an event at Bournemouth International Centre. The accommodation is perfect - clean, comfortable and exceptionally tastefully decorated. Breakfast was a delight. And, most importantly, Sandy and Bruce gave such a warm and loving welcome. Nothing was too much trouble for them. The house is on a regular bus route (important for mobility-challenged non-car owners like me) and only a short walk to the beach through wonderful wooded paths. A real home from home. I have now found the perfect place to stay when visiting Bournemouth. Thank you both!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.9 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
1.9 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
206 reviews
1.1 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#23 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,595 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#24 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,097 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fenn Lodge Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fenn Lodge Apartments

Address: 11 Rosemount Road | Alum Chine, Bournemouth BH4 8HB, England (Formerly Fenn Lodge Hotel B&B)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Bournemouth
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fenn Lodge has 5 brand new spacious modern two bedroom,2 bathroom,lounge/dining room self catering holiday apartments,with fully equipped kitchen. 4 apartments have large balconies and 3 of which overlook the exclusive Alum Chine and the regular nocturnal visits of the foxes and badgers and busy daytime birdlife! All apartments are individually and tastefully decorated with many extras for your comfort. 4 of the apartments sleep 4 people, whilst the 5th can sleep 6 people, Nestled between Bournemouth and Sandbanks, a 4 minute stroll, through the heavily wooded Chine, brings you onto 7 miles of glorious sandy beach. Quaint Westbourne, just 8 minutes walk, provides wonderful niche shops and a huge variety of eateries. Bournemouth is 1 mile along the promenade with its wonderful plethora of shops, night life, excitement, and events for the whole family. A truly great place to holiday! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fenn Hotel Bournemouth
Fenn Lodge Hotel Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing