We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A warm welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Woodside

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bournemouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Woodside
Ranked #19 of 133 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A warm welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

Just as others have said the Woodside is the place to stay near the seafront in Southbourne. Our room was spotlessly clean and welcoming and the en suite bathroom had been carefully designed to make best use of the space. The whole house was in a good state of decoration and was obviously well looked after.

Our breakfast was atractively presented and not at all greasy or dried out as it had been freshly cooked to order, Hazel and Keith clearly make it their priority to do all they can to make their guests' stay a good experience - and they suceed!

We were there just overnight but would certainly recommend it to families or couples wanting to stay in the area, the cliff top and seaside is a short walk along the road, the shops and restaurants at Sourhbourne Grove a short walk in the opposite direction.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maryannSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
69
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

We have stayed at this guest house twice now and on both occasions we have experienced an enjoyable and relaxing time. The owners are very friendly and welcoming, taking care to make sure your stay is just right. The breakfast is freshly cooked and plenty of it too. We have experienced a few of the rooms, having stayed with family too. All the rooms I have seen have been clean and nicely presented. The hotel has a clean and fresh feeling throughout. We will be back as we love Bournemouth and it is great to know that we have found somewhere that will be reliable and friendly. It was also very good value.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsT456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavan, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Woodside. Without a doubt, the cleanest B+B I have ever stayed in. Rooms were very homey, and great attention to detail. Relaxed, organized, extremely helpful. Breakfast cooked to perfection. I would certainly stay again and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RedEmma2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarxien, Malta
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

Super friendly, helpful owners, with a smile on their face and do help out, to make you feel really at home! My previous visit to Bournemouth was not pleasant, when I stayed at a different guest house, but now I like Bournemouth and will visit again and stay at the Woodside


Danica

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danica81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

Many young members of our family come to see us annually throughout the year and as our home is very small, they stay at a nearby hotel/guest house. Although we know of other local hotels, unquestionably every time alike the children ask us to book them back into The Woodside, and I have just rebooked for the beginning of December for the fourth visit of this year.
The welcome is always very warm and consistently there is a warmth of manner offered by Hazel and Keith throughout the the children's visits. The hotel is immaculate and very,very, comfortable, and all the children as well as my husband and myself can recommend unreservedly The Woodside at Southbourne. Another bonus is that it is minutes from the sea and the street where the hotel is
leads straight to the seafront and is a very pleasant road. Down the other end of Southern Road, is Southbourne Grove, a bustling and good shopping high street, served by many good bus routes. It is all just so good.
The attention to detail and quality both from the superb ensuite bedrooms to the morning

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucille B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Best B&B we have ever stayed in!. We booked room 6 which was a 'small double room'. It was infact much bigger than we were expecting and spotless!! Breakfast was freshly cooked and amazing-set us up for the entire day!! Cannot think of any negatives at all and we are looking forward to out next visit hopefully early next year. Thank you so much Keith and Hazel!! Don't normally write reviews but felt that we had to bring this excellent B&B to peoples attention-just hope it is not fully booked next time we want to stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Currently living in Spain I needed to return to the Bournemouth area and visit friends and relatives but wanting somewhere central and chilled out to stay. The Woodside is ideally situated for the beach and plenty of bars and café/restaurants all in easy reach. Keith and Hazel are excellent hosts and couldn't do enough for me. Room was superb, clean, lovely and comfortable, fresh towels every day and I even caught Hazel Hoovering the rooms on a Sunday. What a star!
Great choice of breakfast menu, plenty to eat and more than enough to set you up for the day. Looking forward to a return in the not too distant.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 38Debz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
2.0 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,858 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#38 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
1.7 mi away
Derby Manor Hotel
Derby Manor Hotel
#1 of 66 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beach Lodge
Beach Lodge
#1 of 133 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Woodside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodside

Property: The Woodside
Address: 29 Southern Road | Southbourne, Bournemouth BH6 3SR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 133 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Hotel Class:4 star — The Woodside 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Woodside is a highly recommended Guest House 3 miles east of the centre of Bournemouth.We pride ourselves on the Woodside's high reputation for its warm, personal and friendly atmosphere.We are situated in a very pleasant tree- lined road. The golden sandy 'Blue Flag' beach is only a 2 minute walk away offering safe bathing, cliff walks and magnificent views.Situated close to the New Forest, Christchurch, Hengistbury Head and Poole. The Woodside is in the ideal location for the perfect quiet break. It is wonderfully positioned for cliff top walks, with panoramic views over the Isle of Wight, and Dorset's Purbeck Hills. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing