We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spanish Connection”
Review of The Woodside

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bournemouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Woodside
Ranked #24 of 132 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Alicante, Spain
1 review
“Spanish Connection”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Currently living in Spain I needed to return to the Bournemouth area and visit friends and relatives but wanting somewhere central and chilled out to stay. The Woodside is ideally situated for the beach and plenty of bars and café/restaurants all in easy reach. Keith and Hazel are excellent hosts and couldn't do enough for me. Room was superb, clean, lovely and comfortable, fresh towels every day and I even caught Hazel Hoovering the rooms on a Sunday. What a star!
Great choice of breakfast menu, plenty to eat and more than enough to set you up for the day. Looking forward to a return in the not too distant.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 38Debz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
69
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

This was our 5th visit and it was excellent,as always.Hazel and Keith are great hosts,very friendly and nothing is too much bother( Keith even looked up the answer to a crossword clue for us).The whole place is spotless, Be warned you will need bigger clothes if you stay for a week as the "Full English" breakfast is huge.
The guesthouse is ideally placed for the beach and the shops, both are less than 5 minutes walk.,Bournemouth and Christchurch are a short car journey, or hop on the bus at end of the road.There are several cafes and resturants close by so you can stay local and have a great holiday

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catwoman_11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potsdam, Brandenburg, Germany
1 review
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Hazel and Keith, I will thank you for your fantastic hospitality. From the first moment of my arrival I felt that this would be the right place to stay. I loved your full english breakfast, the beautiful rooms, your kindliness and your lively interests for your guests. I am sure that I will join youre Woodside on my next trip to Bournemouth.
best regards from Potsdam / Germany
Harald

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harald R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Totally fantastic time. Great hospitality. Keith and Hazel make you very welcome nothing is any trouble. Breakfast sets you up for the day. We originally booked 3 nights but stayed an extra night. All the people that were staying when we were also couldn't fault this B&B. Foreign holidaymakers too.

Keith and Hazel. Thank you very much. We would recommend any of our friends to stay at Woodside if they wanted a break in Bournemouth area

We will be back

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank concoursneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Stayed for three nights end Aug to beg Sep. Hazel and Keith were brilliant hosts. We had room 4 and although Hazel had said it was on the small size we found it perfectly adequate. Plenty of storage space and a king size bed. It was immaculately clean with plenty of extra touches. The breakfast was great. Cooked individually for each guest. Cannot fault this place, thank you Keith and Hazel. We will be back.

Room Tip: Room 4 is good with a king size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maggiemayDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights towards the end of August - what a lovely B&B. The room was bright and comfy, good location, breakfasts were amazing and Keith and Hazel were lovely, very welcoming, and helpful. Perfect for a short break in a lovely area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Nice location near to cliff top walks in quiet leafy street. Good level walk to local bus services and railway station if you want to do without the hassle of driving.The house itself it welcoming and the furnishings homely and of a good standard. The rooms themselves are spotless.
Hazel and Keith are very pleasant and were more than happy to accommodate an early breakfast request, a good combination of relaxed yet professional. Good choice of menu at breakfast and no chance of starting the day hungry.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.3 mi away
The Southbourne Grove House
The Southbourne Grove House
#53 of 66 in Bournemouth
35 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,924 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Southern Breeze Lodge
Southern Breeze Lodge
#6 of 132 in Bournemouth
337 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beach Lodge
Beach Lodge
#2 of 132 in Bournemouth
393 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alexander Lodge
Alexander Lodge
#16 of 132 in Bournemouth
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Woodside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodside

Property: The Woodside
Address: 29 Southern Road | Southbourne, Bournemouth BH6 3SR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Hotel Class:4 star — The Woodside 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Woodside is a highly recommended Guest House 3 miles east of the centre of Bournemouth.We pride ourselves on the Woodside's high reputation for its warm, personal and friendly atmosphere.We are situated in a very pleasant tree- lined road. The golden sandy 'Blue Flag' beach is only a 2 minute walk away offering safe bathing, cliff walks and magnificent views.Situated close to the New Forest, Christchurch, Hengistbury Head and Poole. The Woodside is in the ideal location for the perfect quiet break. It is wonderfully positioned for cliff top walks, with panoramic views over the Isle of Wight, and Dorset's Purbeck Hills. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing