We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short break in Bournemouth”
Review of Shirley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shirley Hotel
Ranked #57 of 131 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Just got back from an enjoyable 2 nights stay at the Shirley Hotel. As others have said the hotel is spotless, bed very comfy and breakfasts were very good, we had the full English on both days. The hotel positioned very close to both the sea front five minutes and town centre ten minutes.
The hosts were very helpful and friendly throughout our stay and we would recommend the Shirley to others who are looking to stay in Bournemouth.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveEastSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (256)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 256 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2012

Lovely hotel, Jorge and Isabel made you feel very welcome. The rooms are comortable and warm, also very clean, the location excellent, 5 mins to the sea and 5mins to the shops. close to plenty of places to eat and drink, there are parking spaces although not enough if the hotel is full, but there is free parking on the road,we spent 3 nights here and really enjoyed the stay def go back again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LAH56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I stayed for four nights whilst visiting my daughter at university in Bournemouth. I also took with me my two dogs both small terriers and they were made very welcome too! Jorges and his dog Bobby showed us the local dog walking area and park, nothing was too much trouble.The room was very clean, towels changed daily, tea and coffee replaced when needed. The hotel has a very modern bright decor and the breakfast is superb! You have many options cereal, fresh fruit, yogurt continental and full English, and if you just want poached eggs or boiled with toast no problem! also fruit juice and tea. There is parking at the rear of the building.I would highly recommend this hotel and look forward to my next visit!

Room Tip: Higher rooms have less noise of people passing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I stayed here for a night before an interview and I was very impressed. The building is a Victorian house but with gorgeous modern decor and all of the essentials for a very comfortable stay. Less than 5 mins from the seafront and town centre. Owner was helpful. The only negative thing I would say against this place, is that I could hear the front door open and close and voices in the hallway, but my room was on the bottom floor and this did not happen late at night.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klucas22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I've been returning to Shirley Hotel for 3 weeks now. Living in London and having to work in Bournemouth often I've been staying in many hotels on the west cliff and this place is my favorite!

Rooms are simple and spotless clean (cleaned daily, and no dusty carpets!), breakfast is tasty and filling, and the lovely owners are absolute joy. Hospitality at its best, and most importantly, great value!

I warmly recommend it!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dusanpetkovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

just had a couple of nights at the shirley.
friendly welcome from jorges and his dog.
breakfast was nice , we had full english but there was plenty of healthier choices if you wanted.

room was lovely and clean with modern decor and nice big comfortable bed.

hard to fault really, the owner is very helpful and even stood with us outside the hotel whilst we waited for our taxi to the station.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

After reading the other previous reviews my boyfriend and I expected a bit more quality than what we received, the walls were paper thin and the room was freezing cold. Were not fussy but it was very poor in comparison to what people had said. The breakfast was stone cold and just about put the icing on the cake. We don't believe the money was worth it and I'd think again if your looking at staying here! Although owner seemed friendly and welcoming we wouldn't return here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chloe153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.8 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
0.1 mi away
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
#49 of 67 in Bournemouth
506 reviews
1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 67 in Bournemouth
3,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
0.3 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#23 of 67 in Bournemouth
2,066 reviews
0 mi away
Newbury Hotel
Newbury Hotel
#80 of 131 in Bournemouth
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shirley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shirley Hotel

Address: 81 St. Michaels Road, Bournemouth BH2 5DR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 131 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range: $34 - $54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shirley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at The Shirley Hotel. This family run Bournemouth B&B is situated on the favored West Cliff. It offers great value for money in this wonderful location being just five minutes walk from Bournemouth town centre with its shops, cinemas, theatre, restaurants and bars. Not forgetting our close proximity to the seven glorious miles of award winning sandy beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Shirley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing