We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Fairmount Hotel
Ranked #117 of 131 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good value and clean”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We found this hotel to be very reasonable, clean and comfortable and fairly well situated for the town and night life. The breakfast was not in the hotel but 200 meters down the road in pub for which we had tokens to give them. On the up side of this was that it was available until 11:30 ideal for us, as we had a late night. On the down side for the hotel was, it was rather noisy, i dont think i would like to have a romantic weekend there or take the family but if its a cheap and clean place to stay your after then its ideal.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neilcee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    57
    49
    25
    80
See reviews for
34
64
10
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

It is difficult to mark this Hotel as anythign other than average, but it is superb value for the money. It must be Marmite, as other reviews hate it - but how can you hate a hotel with perfectly clean bedding and a comfortable place to get some shut-eye for this kind of price?
The first chappy on the reception desk and bar was really helpful, cheerful and polite. About 9pm an older fella came on. Everything was too much for him so we wandered a few yarsd to local bar. The rooms, well the bedding was as clean (if not cleaner) than any hotel of any grade I have ever stayed in, but here were a few minor points for the most fastideous. But if it matters pay a proper price and get what you pay for. Great value all round.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

My friend and I walked up and enquired if they had a room available, there was one left, but it was a 6 bed room, but as no-one had booked it they gave it to us for £45 (which worked out to just £22.50 each!) Staff were helpful, service was not excellent but then you get what you pay for. Room was clean and spacious. Would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brett369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We are a young couple who decided to stay at the fairmount hotel this september as a one night getaway. We got a really good deal: £27.50 for the room for one night!!
The room we had was on the top floor, it was basic but very clean and comfortable.The basin and toilet were very modern, but the shower let the bathroom down abit. The only problems to note about he hotel are the noise from the road, and the staff (only those who we met, not necesarrily a good representation of the staff as a whole) were useless and had no customer service skills.
For that price though, you really couldnt ask for any more! Seriously good value for money: would recommend it to anyone on a budget!

Room Tip: Ask for one that doesnt face the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EastMids_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brigstock, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Having got such a good deal for a triple room, I was a bit dubious about what it would be like, but defintely not disappointed. We had a large bay-windowed room and despite 3 beds there was plenty of space for us to move around. It was clean, well looked after and bright and airy. They obviously take pride in the hotel as there was a maintenance man working in one of the rooms when we got there. They were very helpful about places to eat - which we ignored and suffered for later. We will listen to them next time!
One downside was the location of the telly - not directly in front of the bed so we had to sit askew - how picky am i :-)
Plenty of offstreet parking, though there is a charge - still cheaper than town
Would definitely go back

Room Tip: Worth asking for a room at the back if you like a sleep in as the road in front gets quite busy from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colonial_clive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bradford
Level 6 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

me and my mate with three kids booked a night in this hotel what a lovely place near the beach it was clean big rooms own bathroom the owner was a nice man helpful we defo go back again x

the value for money was good the bar in the htel is closed at 9 which i did think that was a funny time to close but there a pub arcross the road x

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terriBradford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Booked this for a girlee night in bournemouth. Cheap and cheerful. Was pleasantly surprised to say the least, we stayed in number 17 (right at the top) which mabye after a night out wasn't the best! Room was bright and clean, was even more suprised to find we had a bathroom and shower. Perfect for a couple of nights stay mabye more it would be too much. Entrance could have been better as the guy at reception was quite rude when I asked to check in! overall a good hotel especially for a night-life getaway as there is no curfew. Would visit again.

Room Tip: stairs are quite steep especially after a few. So try and get rooms closer to the ground floor if po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
#51 of 66 in Bournemouth
481 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Bournemouth Seafront Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel Celebrity
Hotel Celebrity
#30 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Brooklands Bed and Breakfast
Brooklands Bed and Breakfast
#30 of 131 in Bournemouth
263 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Whitehall Hotel
The Whitehall Hotel
#17 of 131 in Bournemouth
320 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arlington Hotel
Arlington Hotel
#47 of 131 in Bournemouth
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairmount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmount Hotel

Property: The Fairmount Hotel
Address: 15 Priory Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5DF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 131 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fairmount Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmount is a hotel located at a central location in Bournemouth, only 5 minutes' walk from the beach and town centre. We offer affordable, clean rooms, which are perfect for a wide range of travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Fairmount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing