We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Feel like at home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarendon Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bournemouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Clarendon Lodge
Ranked #38 of 145 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Feel like at home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Lovely b&b. Roger and Elizabeth make you feel at home from the moment you arrive. We have just come back after spending 3 nights there and I have to say it has been the perfect base to visit Bournemouth and surroundings easily. We were travelling with our road bikes in a 4x4 which we could park in one of the six parking spaces just in front of the b&b. Roger and Elizabeth very kindly let us leave the bikes in their lovely back garden and were really helpful and flexible so we could have an early start every morning for our multiple sport activities. The rooms are clean and have all the basics you need. A beautiful beach is just 3min walk, long and sandy. I would recommend this place to everyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rainbowrailroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    14
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
62
23
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed at this B&B during a bank holiday weekend and can only recommend it. The lodge is not right in the centre of Bournemouth, but still very close to the beach. The B&B itself felt very homely and clean. Our room was ensuite, quite spacious and had a small TV. We really enjoyed having a chat with the owners who are very friendly and also prepared an excellent breakfast. When going to Bournemouth the next time, we will surely stay at this place again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisO89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freshwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed at this wonderful B&B once again as we have done for the past 6 years. We stay for 3 nights and we can only say that Liz and Roger look after us so well, greeting us by name and carrying our cases and bags to our room. The decor and condition of the room are so lovely and fresh and immaculately clean. The breakfast include juices, cereals, fresh fruit and full English, coffee, tea (as much as you can drink) after a refreshing night's sleep in a very comfortable bed. Liz and Roger are a lovely accommodating couple and it's always a pleasure to stay here. We would strongly recommend this delightful B&B to discerning holidaymakers.

Room Tip: Room 1 is at the back of the B&B and would benefit light sleepers but none of the rooms are trou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterthur
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

I'm 16 years old and I stayed 5 days in Bournemouth for visiting a friend. I've chosen the Clarendon Lodge because the price performance was pretty good. Also it's not so far from the city centre and the busses are driving every minute.
It's a family which manage this B&B by themselves and that makes the atmosphere very relaxed, kind and familiar.
The rooms are very comfortable, clean and tidy. Every room has its own bathroom, television and even a tea cooker.
I was very pleased during my stay there and I really recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicolas N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

As with other reviews, we were greeted by Roger and Liz. For them, nothing was too much trouble, their knowledge of the area was very good indeed. Our room was at the top of the house. It was quiet and peaceful, light and airy and attention had clearly been paid to the décor.
All the usual facilities were present, the beds were very comfortable. Only a short walk to the main street in Boscombe so no need for the car. Parking was off road outside the hotel.
The beach was only 15 mins away, on foot, although there is plenty of free parking on or near the cliff top. No need to search anywhere else for a "Quality B&B"

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wheel12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

I arrived tea time Monday 29/07/13 for 3 nights and was greeted by Roger and Liz.
The room was great (probably just re-furbished), double bed, sofa and flascreen TV.
It was all spotless and an en-suite which was also clean and bright and overlooked the rear garden.
Breakfast was also good, each morning, Cereals, juice, tea/coffee, toast and cooked was available too. With both Roger and Liz asking if I wanted more!

I really felt at home here, would highly recommend and would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linkoping, Sweden
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

I returned recently to Clarendon Lodge and was met by the ever cheerful Roger and Liz at the door. Very friendly couple who try and make everybody welcome to the hotel. Room and breakfast were of a very high standard. Will certainly recommend the hotel to my friends.

Room Tip: No 6 - a nice quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carina080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Kingsley Hotel
Kingsley Hotel
#28 of 145 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wyvern Hotel
Wyvern Hotel
#47 of 145 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Rosscourt
The Rosscourt
#9 of 145 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Ravensbourne Hotel
The Ravensbourne Hotel
#45 of 145 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.3 mi away
Denewood Hotel
Denewood Hotel
#43 of 145 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mory House
Mory House
#3 of 145 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarendon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarendon Lodge

Property: Clarendon Lodge
Address: 36 Crabton Close Road | Boscombe Manor, Bournemouth BH5 1HN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing