We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Piddys Chesterfield.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarendon Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bournemouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Clarendon Lodge
Ranked #35 of 144 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
new york
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Piddys Chesterfield.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

We have just returned from our 4th visit and as usual cannot fault it.The hotel is spotless and the food is excellently prepared and presented.Liz and Roger are a lovely couple and nothing is too much trouble.The hotel is ideally situated close to shops beach and other ammenities.Looking forward to our next visit.Thank you for another great stay

Room Tip: All the rooms we have had were fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foxyfreckles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    14
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
62
23
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

Much has been said but little about the noise from traffic which is highly intrusive,you either suffer the heat with the windows closed or you open them to a barage of traffic noise.The breakfast is plentiful although without the usual sausage and the quality is ok but not great,sorry do not like grilled although I appreciate the intention.Otherwise everything is generally good and certainly the hosts are friendly and welcoming. Just unfortunate position lets hope for electric cars!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank varna56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxfordshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

We have stayed at Clarendon Lodge many times and cannot fault it. The rooms are spotless and have everything you need. Liz and Roger are very helpful with suggestions of places to visit, also recommending good eating places. The location is very good, close to bus stops taking you in to Bournemouth, also within walking distance to the beach. Breakfast is excellent. Would thoroughly recommend it. Good car parking.

Room Tip: Room 6 is a quiet room with a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fuschiaOxfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

Highly recommended place! The family who rides the b&b is really nice. Room has everything you may need & its clean. Near boscombe shops, pubs, restaurants.. also beach (3-4 minute walk)
They also helped us on finding difficult places, bus and train stops, bringed us a map.. excellent.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SergioBCN90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aschaffenburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

In July we've been at the Clarendon Lodge Hotel for ten nights and we must say: „Great!“
The managers are very polite and courteous and give also a lot of tips and hints for trips around Bornemouth. Room service is top. Breakfast is appetisingly, even the coffee. Just a few minutes walk to the beach and with very good connection to public transport, the Clarendon Lodge is also quite calm. We want to come back definitely.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank p_mientus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

This B&B came highly recommended and we could see why when we stayed. The owners were charming, the room was clean and comfortable, the breakfast well cooked and a good size. The location was very convenient for Boscombe beach and the pier which is a lovely walk down with views of the Isle of Wight. Also within good distance of shops and restaurants. This is not in the main part of Bournemouth but a quieter hamlet nearby. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marnie2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

Very welcoming hosts with the best bacon and eggs we have had on our travels. Very good room and facilities, handy location, off street parking and probably the cleanest B&B in the country. Plus very fair prices. What more could one reasonably ask?

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Wyvern Hotel
Wyvern Hotel
#47 of 144 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kingsley Hotel
Kingsley Hotel
#26 of 144 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Rosscourt
The Rosscourt
#9 of 144 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Ravensbourne Hotel
The Ravensbourne Hotel
#45 of 144 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westby Guest House
The Westby Guest House
#50 of 144 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean Breeze Guest House
Ocean Breeze Guest House
#42 of 144 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarendon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarendon Lodge

Property: Clarendon Lodge
Address: 36 Crabton Close Road | Boscombe Manor, Bournemouth BH5 1HN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing