We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avalon Beach Hotel

Avalon Beach Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bournemouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Avalon Beach Hotel
Ranked #56 of 68 Hotels in Bournemouth
london
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Hotel!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2009

This is a great B&B we had a really great weekend break here! the owners are so lovely and really helpful! They provide a great service and definitely go that extra mile for their guests. I am quite hard to please but this was just a really lovely homely place to be! I felt like i was in my own living room at night time being served by my uncle and auntie LOL. The rooms were great value for money and really modern and clean, the bed was really comfy and we were just in a standard double . I think the family rooms would provide a brilliant base for family's they have 2 rabbits and an out house full of toys for the kids.
The location is good if your there for just a few days and your not going for a big boozy weekend, if your after some relaxation, good walks and just a lovely time this is the one!
You can easily walk into Bournemouth along the seafront and then the next day walk into Christchurch and Mudeford Spit which is one of the nicest places in England i think! we did have great weather which makes all the difference but that was an amazing place! I totally want to buy a beach hut now!
We also had a lovely romantic meal at the West Beach Cafe on the seafront in Bournemouth one night it has a great location, atmosphere and seafood! Taxis to Bournemouth cost around £8.
All in all we had an exceptionally great weekend here and i would definately recommend it to a friend.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonMegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    17
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
84
51
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2009

My mum and I stayed for 3 nights in 'Merlin' for a relaxing long weekend in Bournemouth.
All of the rooms at the Avalon are extremely tastefully decorated and immacuately clean. The website made choosing the Avalon very easy as videos and photos are provided for the majority of rooms. Our room included a flat screen TV with freeview, complimentary water and a modern bathroom with complimentary toiletries. Paul went out of his way to be as helpful and cheerful as possible and the whole operation seems a very slick operation. Nothing was too much trouble even the copious amounts of Jam and Tea we consumed!
We ate dinner in the restuarant on our first night which was delicous and vegetarians are well catered for.
The beach is located just metres down the road and Bournemouth town centre is only a 10 minute drive away. It is also located near the beutiful town of Christchurch which is well worth a visit if only for a cream tea by the river.
Overall a most pleasant trip and I would highly recommend the Avalon.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauraballerina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liphook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2009

My wife and I visited in March 2009. We stayed for one night in Uther (small apartment). The booking service was excellent - very friendly and helpful. The hotel is very modern and well appointed. The food was extremely good - we had room service which came on a lovely wicker tray - and the breakfast was simply delicious. Quality food, beautifully cooked and presented. The apartment lounge was well equipped and (at no cost) we were loaned a DVD player to watch a movie. However, the bedroom and bathroom were disappointing. Again the fittings were modern and of good quality BUT the shower water came in and out, hot and cold (which I simply hate in any establishment) and the bathroom was simply too small to be able to stand and dry oneself in. The bedroom only had window shutters (no blinds or curtains) which with the outside lights on made it hard to sleep. However, the lounge had a blackout blind - so why not the bedroom? A bit daft! Overall for one night it was fine but for the prices charged (it's not cheap to stay here) those aspects did mar our stay.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GB01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patriciakelly, owner at Avalon Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2009
Thank-you for taking the time to review our hotel.
We are delighted you found the service, cleanliness & food to be all top class.
We have never experienced a problem with our showers before but as a result of your review we have checked the pressure & temperature regulators on all our showers, we are pleased to say they are in perfect order. We apologise for your discomfort & wish we had known you had experienced a problem with your shower before you left.
We use blackout blinds in the lounge section of the apart hotel rooms as parents often use these rooms for babies nap times.All other rooms are fitted with Avalons signature New England shutters.
We hope you come to visit us again soon, please mention this review.
Patricia and Paul Martin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2009

I was really looking forward to my trip to Bournemouth, I am currently expecting and this was my last trip before the big day, it was also my husbands birthday. We got there quite late Friday night and it was not a problem. We stayed in Guinivere which is cosy and charming and has a lovely ensuite. Paul and Patricia were lovely, which made our stay very pleasant. This hotel strikes the perfect balance between the extra attention of a guest house with the facilities of a top hotel. Cant wait to go back. Durdle Door is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank moomins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2009

We stayed here for a weekend away with our two year old and we could not have picked a better place to stay. Paul and Patricia were fantastic and bent over backwards for us. They made us feel so welcome that we will go back again and again. If your looking for a child friendly hotel where nothing is too much to ask then this is the place for you!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo2508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2009

As always these days we select accommodation from recommendations on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed at the Avalon. All the good points mentioned in previous reviews were present. We stayed in Dorset to spend a few days touring the area and generally relaxing. Situated between Bournemouth and Christchurch with easy access to the A35 we found our way round the county easily visiting many different types of attractions.

The hosts, Paul and Patricia, are relaxed and friendly, the evening meals we took were delicious and breakfast set us up for the days activities.

We don't tend to return to places because life is too short but would whole heartedly recommend the Avalon Beach.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lutonlip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2009

Avalon is a small family run hotel that's welcoming but not over the top. The whole place feels like its been recently refubished, everything is clean, modern and comfy. There is an outside room full of fun stuff for children (games, jigsaws, dressing up, pool table etc) that also houses two resident rabbits and a guinee pig. Children are welcome to borrow toys for their stay and to pet the animals.

For adults there's a lounge where you can have drinks, browse books or watch tv. The food is excellent and Paul and Patricia are happy to adapt for the most fussiest of guests (one vegetarian and one fussy 4 yr old). As others have said Bournemouth is full of accommodation but this is somewhere we'll definately return to in the future.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kathy1612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Southbourne Grove Hotel
Southbourne Grove Hotel
#40 of 68 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
3.8 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
2.0 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Derby Manor Hotel
Derby Manor Hotel
#1 of 68 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
2.3 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Beach Hotel

Property: Avalon Beach Hotel
Address: 43 Grand Avenue | Southbourne, Bournemouth BH6 3SY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 68 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Avalon Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Avalon Beach Bournemouth
Hotel Avalon Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing