We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality accommodation. Friendly, caring atmosphere. Beautiful location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avalon Beach Hotel

Avalon Beach Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Avalon Beach Hotel
Ranked #57 of 78 Hotels in Bournemouth
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Quality accommodation. Friendly, caring atmosphere. Beautiful location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Situated a stone's throw from the quietest part of the Bournemouth coast line in Southbourne, the Avalon never disappoints.

Owner and manager Paul has won several awards for hospitality and you can see why. Comfy, well appointed rooms. Friendly, personalised service. The perfect balance between stepping into someone's home and all the privacy you could want.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank troubleinthecit... t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    17
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
84
51
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Excellent value for money, friendly and clean. Very flexible too. We were delighted with the service and the way we were treated. All very good. We'd certainly book here again. It is close to the sea and excellent sea walks and if you don't want breakfast in the hotel there are some very good cafes on the hight street too.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank trainagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Lovely second stay at this comfortable hotel. Well maintained hotel with a super,caring service from Paul and his team. The relaxed atmosphere is pleasing. Have now stayed at the Avalon on two occasions and will definitely stay again! Would recommend

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geraldine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

Although this is a very good B&B my issue is they charge £7 plus service charge for a cooked breakfast. So be warned about this hidden extra. It spoiled for us what but for that would have been a pleasant stay. I think £58.40 per night pp for this is excessive

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Minste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Safe to say we're regulars here now - Paul and his team are simply brilliant - nothing is too much trouble. Halfway between central Bournemouth and Christchurch, so very peaceful. Good access to beach (5 min walk South) and local shops/restaurants (5 min walk North). Very clean. Very safe. On site parking (but mind the tree when reversing!) If only the sun would come/stay out!! Keep flying the flag Paul...

Room Tip: All rooms good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charles4676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uster, Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

A very nice hotel that offers all we need: good location close to the beach, very good breakfeast, a clean and comfortable family room and a great hospitality (with good advises given by the owner) ...many thanks to Paul and his team!
We stayed with our 2 children six nights in this lovely house and enjoyed our stay very much. The kids loved helping to feed the rabbits every morning. We will for sure stay at Avalon Beach Hotel again when we travel to the Bournemouth area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We had booked elsewhere but it was too awful to stay so went looking. Paul helped us out, provided us with a solution and so we stayed 4 nights in the Avalon. Clean and comfortable. Great staff, good food, easy parking, so why not 5 stars. Sorry but always leave room for improvement. Better internet connection, had two computers and could not access good internet connections from the room. Towels could be bigger. Could have done with having the choice of a lighter duvet due to it being summer

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJandJBW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bournemouth
0.2 mi away
Southbourne Grove Hotel
Southbourne Grove Hotel
#40 of 78 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 stars 24 reviews
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Bournemouth East (Lynton Court) Hotel
2.3 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#4 of 78 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 stars 719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Chine Hotel
The Chine Hotel
#25 of 78 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 stars 884 reviews
1.5 mi away
Captain's Club Hotel
Captain's Club Hotel
#4 of 11 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 stars 543 reviews
1.9 mi away
Elstead Hotel
Elstead Hotel
#15 of 78 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 stars 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Beach Hotel

Property: Avalon Beach Hotel
Address: 43 Grand Avenue | Southbourne, Bournemouth BH6 3SY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 78 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your Avalon Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Beach Bournemouth
Hotel Avalon Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing