We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room 114”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel
Ranked #35 of 67 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed November 21, 2009

Booked a two night break through Shearings following an advert in the Daily Mail. This included breakfast and dinner. This hotel is in great need of refurbishment. It is difficult to believe that in the 21st century hotels of this tired 70's style are still in business. I suppose you could say it is good value for money. But I think that would depend on what you value. If you are looking for clean and tidy rooms with comfortable furnishings, then this is not good value for money. The carpet throughout the hotel is very dirty except in the bar and entertainment area. This looked to be replaced and tidy. The bed in our room is not very comfortable, and the shower hose is covered in black mould. All furniture is MFI. The ceiling plaster in the toilet/shower is crumbling away. The walls in the room are cracked and in need of repair. The decor very sad with mismatched furnishings.

The food is good value and the service is excellent. The hotel receptionist is helpful. And the entertainment is excellent. The location is very good, a short stroll to the beach and a lovely flat walk to the pier and into town.

Needless to say it does not have Wifi connection.

I can only comment on the accomodation in Room 114, but I would not recommend a stay here. There must be more modern and up to date, clean and tidy accomodation in Bournemouth that would be of equal good value.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ralfschnauzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (523)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

509 - 515 of 523 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2009

Went to this Hotel with Shearings on an All-inclusive. Very clean hotel.Food excellant. Entertainment first class. All the staff helpfull, only drawback I could say would be the distance into Bournmouth, although there is a good bus service. Also the lift is so small not a pleasant ride! Beware of the water it is VERY hot!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RootsYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2009

We could not find anything to complain about. our bedroom was clean as was our shower.food and staff were very good and our Coach driver David was excellent. We really enjoyed the friendly atmosphere and would certainly consider going there again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosebush046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2009

room 109 is apparantly notorious for not having adequate running cold water in the tiny handwash basin and a manager said everyone in this room complains but it is regulations!!!. with no proper plug or plug hole the scalding hot water drains straight away and god help you if you don't realise that the water in the mixer cold tap is hot!!! pointing out that the water in bath and overhead shower is as should be, I was told that disabled people cannot access them and so that is alright. how is someone disabled expected to wash in a non water retaining sink with no adequate cold water supply. There is no toilet seat back and therefore nowhere for someone who needs to sit to dress. I didn't think to hike the chair from the bedroom in. Beds were not made properly but this was rectified immediately. Front of house foreign staff need more training in customer handling, not being rude, inconsiderate, disinterested in guests, adjectives fail me. On asking reception staff using a mobile phone on the first floor, to move so I could help someone to their room, I was told to practically carry someone over painting cloths on the floor and push past the paint cans and painter. the pots were outside the first floor rooms all week. the cloths were totally unnecessary to be completely covering the whole length of a long corridor with two fire doors, and only one painter. Paint cans were piled up outside the same room doors for three days. one resident of room 105 had a nasty surprise when someone walked into her room and she was in a state of undress. other nearby yale keys fit the doors. The floor in the dining room was also not cleaned after the evening meal and at breakfast you had to be sure not to look down or you could be put off your breakfast. Apart from these problems it was a lovely , clean hotel. other staff were nice and food selection and presentation excellent,except for me being shown up in the dining room when asking about food products to which I am seriously allergic. But I am Yorkshire and will not be put down that easily. Will I go with shearings again? I dont know. May I say the coach drivers were all wonderfu,l and made the holiday, as they did a lot for us in the hotel as well on the tours.

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank loobylooYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2009

Hotel was very good. Only real faults were the lift which has been mentioned ,I have seen bigger dumb waiters.The blue chairs in the lounge should be replaced or covered.
The entertainment was OK , but the Impressionest could do with updating his jokes and not putting the elderly down so much
I would like to thank our waitress (Olga) who made meal times a pleasure nothing was to much for and always with a smile.
The holiday was spoilt by going to the joining point and having to wait 2 hours ,much of the time we was stood up ,as the place is to small for the number fo people using it .
Coming back the M1 was supposed to be closed and our driver was given wrong info which meant we ended up 9 hours on the coach the we had a further journey from the joining point

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank vintage36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2009

Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Pigeonpost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2009

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cloudy16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.4 mi away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#36 of 67 in Bournemouth
849 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 67 in Bournemouth
3,618 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#24 of 67 in Bournemouth
2,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
1.1 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#23 of 67 in Bournemouth
2,066 reviews
0.3 mi away
Elstead Hotel
Elstead Hotel
#20 of 67 in Bournemouth
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel

Address: Derby Road | East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3QE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 67 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range: $90 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Majestic hotel is located on the East Cliff and is just a few minutes' walk from the seven miles of glorious golden sand that is Bournemouth beach. The bay offers beautiful vistas and on a clear day you can easily see the Needles on the Isle of Wight and Old Harry’s Rocks over in the Purbecks. The hotel is just a short walk to the shops and variety of seaside attractions and is set in a great location for you to explore the surrounding area. Dinner can be enjoyed in the comfortable restaurant and guests can also benefit from a snooker room, outside terrace and swimming pool. With a contemporary ballroom and bar, lively entertainment is provided most evenings including music for dancing, visiting cabaret, quizzes and bingo. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing