We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming, clean, good location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel
Ranked #37 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We needed a hotel with close proximity to the beach as we were exhibiting at the Bournemouth Wheels Festival in May. A smart and clean hotel close to the clifftop and beach but set back a little for improved peace and quiet. Reception staff welcoming and attentive, as were all the other staff. Very relaxed atmosphere put us at ease immediately.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Team C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tracey_moores, General Manager at Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Hi Team C
Great thanks for your review and I must say what a fantastic Wheels festival it was I am glad to see you were able to relax after the hectic days at the festival. I hope to see you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (508)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

270 - 276 of 508 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2014

Visited this hotel on a Shearings 8day break had a great time, the hotel was very nice, the staff were very helpful and the dining room staff were very good, we had room 208 it is very small but ok the only minus is not enough room for your clothes in this room but we made the best of it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Allan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tracey_moores, General Manager at Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Hi Allan M
Thanks for your review I am glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us. Give me a ring next time and I will see what i can do about rooms for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Stayed at this hotel in March with Shearings. Very comfortable. The food was excellent and the staff very good. Entertainment in the evening was a quiz, bingo and speciality acts. My husband and I would definitely go again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chrissie191125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tracey_moores, General Manager at Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Hi Chrissie191125
Thanks for your great review I will pass your kind comments on to the rest of my team. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We enjoy our visits to the Bay Majestic. The hotel itself is gradually being updated. The room we had on the first floor had adequate space for clothes and other belongings. There was only one drawer, but the new-style wardrobe had shelves as well as hanging space. The en-suite was usable, but the shower cubicle was very small - about two feet square. The door could only open about halfway, so more generously proportioned guests may well have a problem accessing the shower. However, the water was always hot. The bed was comfortable and there was a flat screen TV with all the Freeview channels.

Reception staff were all very helpful, and were quick to arrange for us to have an extra pillow, and also a supply of coffee, tea and milk when the room attendant forgot to leave us any one morning.

The food was also good, and the restaurant staff were hard-working and helpful. We found the portions of food to be sufficient, but we noticed that if guests asked for more vegetables, or larger portions at breakfast, the staff were willing to oblige.

There was entertainment each evening and a quiz, plus bingo. However, no bingo on Sunday.

Parking spaces can be pre-booked for £5 a night. However, if you visit the hotel just for a weekend, bear in mind that there is no charge for parking in Derby Road and some nearby roads after 5pm on Friday until 9am on Monday. We arrived just after 1pm and paid just £2 for the four hours parking until 5pm. Just ensure that you move your car before 9am on Monday morning!

Buses run from near the end of Derby Road, towards Bournemouth, Poole and beyond to the west and Boscombe and Christchurch to the east. Those who enjoy a walk can access the east cliff by turning left out of the hotel, heading to the mini roundabout and walking through a short alleyway. It takes about 20-25 minutes to walk into Bournemouth if you can walk at a reasonable pace.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank RainbowDays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tracey_moores, General Manager at Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Hi RainbowDays
Thanks for your review it was nice to see you chose to stay with us again and for giving us such an honest review, as always I will look in to the few minor issues you raised and see if I can get them ironed out. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Hotel was very clean and tidy. Staff very obliging.Stayed in room 118 it was clean and comfortable en-suite was very small but useable. Food and entertainment were very good really enjoyed playing snooker and all the other facilities were excellent.Wish we could have used the swimming pool.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tracey_moores, General Manager at Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Hi Christopher M
Thanks for your review I am pleased to see you enjoyed your time with us and made use of most of our facilities. The pool is open now; I went in it last week for the first time this year and as it’s an outdoor pool I can confirm it should only be used by the brave until the weather warms up a bit. Its still a sun trap and the loungers make it a lovely spot for some sun bathing. We hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

First impression was very good. Paid for parking as this is needed at this hotel. The bedroom was one of the better in Shearings Bay hotels, well decorated and clean and well presented. The first evening meal was not to my husbands liking, but the variety in the meals improved. The entertainment was very good and worth watching. well presented and not too loud.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tracey_moores, General Manager at Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Hi jen c
Thanks for your great review I am pleased to see we do things to your liking and you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Spent two nights here - would not willingly return, although love Bournemouth. Staff well presented and helpful; food acceptable. However, fabric of property very tired and tatty, in places quite dirty. Wallpaper hanging off wall at back of restaurant. Amazed that lift deemed acceptable by modern health and safety standards. Stayed in room 324 - unbelievably tiny, with bathroom even smaller. Water pressure variable, at times cutting out completely. Decor in bedroom ghastly artex from 1970s. Slightly grimy.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank weehet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tracey_moores, General Manager at Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Hi weehet
Thanks for your view I am sorry to hear we didn’t live up to your expectations on this occasion. Although the hotel may look a little tired in a few places we do have a continues program of improvements and we always keep things fresh and clean. We always try to offer value for money accompanied by 1st class service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.4 mi away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#36 of 66 in Bournemouth
836 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,065 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Collingwood
Hotel Collingwood
#8 of 66 in Bournemouth
659 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
191 reviews
0.3 mi away
Elstead Hotel
Elstead Hotel
#20 of 66 in Bournemouth
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel

Address: Derby Road | East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3QE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range: $90 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Majestic hotel is located on the East Cliff and is just a few minutes' walk from the seven miles of glorious golden sand that is Bournemouth beach. The bay offers beautiful vistas and on a clear day you can easily see the Needles on the Isle of Wight and Old Harry’s Rocks over in the Purbecks. The hotel is just a short walk to the shops and variety of seaside attractions and is set in a great location for you to explore the surrounding area. Dinner can be enjoyed in the comfortable restaurant and guests can also benefit from a snooker room, outside terrace and swimming pool. With a contemporary ballroom and bar, lively entertainment is provided most evenings including music for dancing, visiting cabaret, quizzes and bingo. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing