We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel
Ranked #36 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very good value.”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We've just had a great 5 day break with Shearings to the Majestic. We found the hotel clean, the food was good and the staff were all friendly and helpful. Our waitress Loran was a lovely girl and Mario the barman who also happened to be her boyfriend was really nice, always a smile on his face. Nothing was too much trouble for any of them. The entertainment was possibly the best I've seen for a long time and that was down to Amanda Jayne, what a star. On the Thursday night "which happened to be my birthday and also Valentine's day" she was joined by Neil Scott and between them they had everyone in stitches.The only things you could complain about as some other people have said is the old tiny tv's, ours had only 3 channels, our friends next door got a couple more, but we didn't really spend that much time in the room. Also the creaky floors, we were in room 220 and whoever was above us must have suffered from insomnia as they spent the night walking round and round! Yes Shearings do cater for the more elderly but to be honest it was a mixed age group that particular week ranging I would say from mid 40' upwards, and most people stayed up until the entertainment finished. In fact I think it possibly went on later than usual. All in all though we really enjoyed our stay there and would definately go again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cb14_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tracey_moores, General Manager at Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Hi cb14_12
Thanks for your great comments I will pass them on to the staff I know they love reading guests comments. I am pleased to see you didn’t spend all your time watching tv We are updating the TVs slowly and I know we have another 23 on order now. We look forward to seeing you again soon and don’t forget give us a call and we can sort everything for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    238
    77
    32
    14
See reviews for
63
310
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We booked a weekend ‘self drive’ break on a late Shearings deal mid February that only cost £68.00 each for a Fri and Sat night Party Weekend Break – half board in a ‘twin room’.

The hotel is listed as 2 Star, but the refurbished public areas are worthy of a 3 star rating. The accommodation however (our room anyway) on the top floor, reflected the 2 star rating and was quite dated (artex everywhere) and water stained walls. It had a small bathroom with very ‘compact’ shower cubicle that we had to leave the door open to move about in it. The water pressure from the shower was very low too. The room was adequate and very clean but the TV was a very old 14” box model, sat on a low level cupboard and only offered 4 out of the 5 terrestrial channels – no digital TV here. There was a (battered) clock radio, telephone and a hairdryer too. The beds were comfortable, but only have one pillow and a cushion (you can ask at reception for another, which they promptly provided). The beds would have benefitted and looked nicer with a valance to make them more aesthetically appealing. There is adequate tea/coffee making facilities provided. Regrettably, the hotel does not offer any Wifi at all, not even in the public areas. A priority in this day and age, or at least a working terminal for guests to access emails or do some surfing.

We noticed that the hotel has a 5 star assessment for kitchen cleanliness and hygiene. It’s fair to say that from the overall impression of the dining room and everywhere else – it is fairly awarded and deserved. This is a very clean hotel. A common criticism of the hotel as a whole however is the lift – it ‘barely’ holds two people and given that most of the guests are elderly, it’s something that lets it down.

Parking was a bit of an issue. The hotel will charge you £5.00 per day to park at the front. That smacks of greed to me. You can park on the road directly in front of the hotel for up to 8 hours for £3.00, and for free after 5pm – equally, it’s free on street parking at the weekend from 5 pm Friday to 8 am Monday, straight through and there is adequate space available.

The bar appears to be open most of the time and serves the usual range of alcoholic beverages and tea/coffee and cakes. If you’re a bitter drinker however, you only get Worthington’s Smooth from the tap, and will have to make do with bottled beer instead – no real ales on tap what so ever. The drink prices for shorts seem to be on the high side, and watch out for the “mixer included or not” it can be a bit confusing if it’s included in the price or not, and their mixers are not cheap. Wine is about £14.50 a bottle or £3.50 a glass (125ml). Some packages will give you 4 drinks coupons per person, which is handy, but some restrictions do apply.

The food on the whole is good. It is well cooked and presented and the dinners on offer are quite nice but while you won’t starve, you won’t get fat either. Dinner plates are only 8” wide. Anyway, we ordered fish and chips and got SIX (6) chips each – I really did try and grab the waiter’s attention to ask for more, but he was so busy we had finished our meal before we eventually got his attention. I won’t identify the waiter who served us, but he was a nice chap so no complaints BUT he did need some more training. He kept on bringing us every side vegetable that was available from the kitchens, regardless of our meal – for example, we had curry on the 2nd night, but he then also arrived with carrots, mixed peas and cabbage with roast and new potatoes too ??? It could be because he and most of the staff are nearly all Eastern European and are not familiar with UK cuisine. On the whole, all the staff were a credit to the hotel. They are very polite, efficient and courteous.

On our second night - the Saturday - we were looking forward to the Gala Dinner that was being advertised and wondered what delightful extras we would get in addition to the standard 3 course dinner. You will be disappointed to learn however that the only difference was - you get a sorbet after your starter – yup that’s it folks !

Breakfasts were very good and we were given a fairly good choice – it might have been nice to have some lighter options like croissants and pastries too though. Meal times are tight – only an hour in the evening between 6:30 to 7:30pm and early breakfast from 08:00 to 09:30am, even at the weekends – no long lie in allowed. Standard Check-out is a bit early too, being by 10:00 am.

Moving on the entertainment now; You need to know that this hotel caters for the more senior citizens amongst us – that means the over 65’s and a lot well into their 70’s too. You will find that it does not offer much to anyone younger – we are mid 50’s. So, we were disheartened when the 1st evening’s “entertainment” commenced by picking up a quiz sheet from the foyer which you filled in at your table over a drink “Guessing the cartoon character’s name from the picture” and “Name the song” from the written opening lyrics on the second night. So, just before 9 pm on Friday, things really kicked off in earnest with the “bingo” for half an hour - followed by the answers for the quiz sheets you had filled in earlier. After that, we were provided with a bit of singing and also music for the budding ballroom dancers among the guests, followed by a medley of songs from that night’s resident singer. Friday evening’s entertainment finished promptly at 11 pm. It was a similar set up for Saturday, but with 2 singers this time and it ended later at midnight. There was a disco advertised, but I think the slightly up tempo music from 11pm ish was meant to be it.

In fairness the entertainment was thoroughly enjoyed by the target age group - but if you’re a bit younger, take a book along to read. I think it’s worth saying the entertainers are good – but their entertainment package delivers for a much older age group than us.

So to summarise, an entertainment hotel targeting the over 65’s - but a nice enough hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a shower, or you might get one with a bath only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tracey_moores, General Manager at Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Hi Denis L
Thanks for your comments and great detail about your stay. I will answer a couple of points (in a good way). We are slowly upgrading the rooms and some do now have free view TVs in them and more all the time. We also hope to have Wi-Fi available later this year in public areas. Value for money is what we try to be here with 1st class service. You get a lot for your £68 and even 4 free drinks on Saturday night. I am glad you enjoyed your overall stay with us and maybe we will see you again in a few years time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swindon wiltshire
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Just back from 5day break. Had a great stay our room. Was fine warm twin room new bathroom. Room. 102. And only few steps up. Cause lift tiny food. Fab and amanda Jayne well how could the majestic manage without her she is so amusing on her night off we missed her. The staff were lovely and the young waiter David was so sweet The 4drinks. We're so good. Value and enjoyed. We would defo go back. ASAP.

Room Tip: Room 102 Good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jencalverley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tracey_moores, General Manager at Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Hi jencalverley1
Lovely thanks for your great comments I will pass the on to Amanda and David I know they will enjoy reading them. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Just returned from a Shearings mid week break at the Bay Majestic,we found the Hotel to be clean well presented,the staff freindly and helpfull.We where allocated room 317 on the 3rd floor,the room was compact with the sink next to the TV,the shower room was also compact with very little room to move while in the shower,also the water pressure was very low,the last negative comment was our rooms creaky floor.
All good stuff from here !!!!! the food was very good,service in the restauraunt best we`ve ever had,bar staff very fast even with the free beer coupons been used and the in house entertainment was to a very high standard.Me and my wife became closer due to this break,this was while using the hotel lift ????? The Hotel is about a 30 mins steady walk into the city centre but regular service busses pass the end of the road.
We found this break value for money and we will be returning on a later date,sorry about the nagative comments !!!! keep up the good work Bay Majestic,see you again soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Turnkey54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tracey_moores, General Manager at Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Hi Turnkey54
Thanks for your comments I am glad you enjoyed your time with us and took advantage of our fantastic bust service here in Bournemouth. As for the lift I believe it’s rekindled many a marriage in its time and even brought a few strangers closer together. Next time give a call and we can see if we can sort you out a different room. Don’t forget to check out the papers or let us have your email address for offers and deals we can book them all here direct with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow in Furness, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

we have been to the bay majestic and found it very good nice food clean and tidy bed rooms no 305 nice and quite two nice lounges one with a snooker table /full size/ the entertainment well amanda brought the house down she was funny very good the staff 10/10 could not fault them our driver laurence was brilliant took us all over 10/10 would reccomend this holiday the people we met were fantastic good holiday thanks

Room Tip: the room we had 305 was quite comfortable at the back very quite nice big bath/shower clean towels e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tracey_moores, General Manager at Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Hi Eric S
Brilliant another satisfied customer looks like we are getting it right not 5* but simply great value for money with 1st class service what more could you want? Thanks again and look forward to seeing you again soon we hope.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Have just returned from a Shearings mid week break, which overall we really enjoyed.
Before our arrival, we had requested a quiet room on the top floor to avoid any noise from the entertainment (as per other review info) and to avoid noise from other guests 'stomping' around above us (have experienced this at other hotels here and abroad). We were allocated room 315 which was, unfortunately, too near to the lift, and I was woken by the noise it generated. I was also woken just before midnight by some very inconsiderate guests shouting their goodnights to each other outside in the corridor. The following morning we requested a room move, and Pauline at reception was very apologetic about the other guests (it should've been them apologising, not Pauline!!) and gave us a choice of two other rooms. We chose 325 at the very end of the corridor - much quieter - thank you Pauline.
Both the rooms we had were very clean (thanks to Ilona) but like some of the reviews state, the bathrooms need updating but you don't spend your short break in the bathroom do you? The food was fine and even had a veggie option for my partner. All the staff were very polite and helpful - it may not be a 5* hotel but the staff certainly are 5* - they do their utmost to make your stay a very pleasant one. A great value for money break - would return.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms by lift/stairs if you are easily woken by people shouting to each other in the corridor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FredrickDottee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tracey_moores, General Manager at Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Hi FredrickDottee
Fantastic I am pleased to see we managed to change your room for you and you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass on your great comments to all the staff especially Paula (Pauline) and Ilona. We all hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We have just returned from 5 days at the Majestic Hotel Bournemouth (Bay Inclusive). We travelled with two of our friends and had a really great time. The hotel was clean warm and inviting. The staff were very good the food was excellent and the entertainment superb. Amanda Jayne kept everyone entertained Neil Scott was brill and Bob Taylor was really good. As a value for money break with Shearings it couldn't get any better. Great stuff we'll definitely be going again. Thankyou!!

Room Tip: We had a lower floor room and it was geat. Very small lift but we were able to use the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jillbill-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tracey_moores, General Manager at Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Hi Jillbill-12
Fantastic it’s so nice to read such great comments. We all do our best to ensure your stay exceeds your expectations and it’s always good to read when we succeed. We look forward to seeing you again soon and don’t forget feel free to call us when you book as we can then try and get you in the same room you had previously if we can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.4 mi away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#38 of 66 in Bournemouth
815 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,000 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
139 reviews
1.1 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#24 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,922 reviews
0.3 mi away
Elstead Hotel
Elstead Hotel
#20 of 66 in Bournemouth
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel

Property: Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel
Address: Derby Road | East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3QE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Majestic hotel is located on the East Cliff and is just a few minutes' walk from the seven miles of glorious golden sand that is Bournemouth beach. The bay offers beautiful vistas and on a clear day you can easily see the Needles on the Isle of Wight and Old Harry’s Rocks over in the Purbecks. The hotel is just a short walk to the shops and variety of seaside attractions and is set in a great location for you to explore the surrounding area. Dinner can be enjoyed in the comfortable restaurant and guests can also benefit from a snooker room, outside terrace and swimming pool. With a contemporary ballroom and bar, lively entertainment is provided most evenings including music for dancing, visiting cabaret, quizzes and bingo. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing