We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable holiday!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel
Ranked #35 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Enjoyable holiday!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Our visit was a Shearings Inclusive 5 day holiday 5th to 9th November. The hotel was in pretty good condition - needed updating a bit but overall very clean and tidy. Shower on third floor was very poor - not much more than a trickle but we managed. Food was excellent - good choice and well presented. Staff very friendly and helpful. Entertainment was not up to Shearings usual standard but acceptable. Trips out to Poole, Sandbanks, Dorchester, Winchester and Southampton really enjoyable. Our driver, Lawrence was one of the best we have come across - very friendly and helpful - nothing too much trouble for him. Considering how much we paid I would say it is excellent value for money and would not hesitate at going again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sueejan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tracey_moores, General Manager at Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thank you Sueejan for your nice review. As mentioned previously we do sometimes encounter problems with water pressure on the third floor during peak time and I am sorry it did affect your bedroom. We are looking forward your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    230
    76
    31
    13
See reviews for
62
299
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gorleston-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

Stayed at this hotel from 5th to 9th November,room on third floor no heating had to have a portable brought up,shower poor no power just drips! bathroom requiring updating comfortable beds enjoyed the entertainment especially Amanda-Jane.Good choice on food menu always nice and hot observed some mould on the ceiling in restaurant .Very pleasant shearings drivers Ian,Lawrence and Ricky .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank froggie14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tracey_moores, General Manager at Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thank you Sarah W, for your nice review and my apologises about the heating issue. However I am glad we were able to sort it out with a portable heater. We do sometimes encounter problems with water pressure on the third floor during peak time and I am sorry it did affect your bedroom. I will pass your lovely comments to Amanda and to our coach drivers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

As regular returning visitors to the Majestic, we were shocked to read a previous review stating that entertainer Amanda Jayne was 'boring'! The name 'Amanda Jayne' and word 'boring' just do not go together ever!!

We've been entertained by Amanda many times and always thoroughly enjoy her evenings. She is fabulous musically, both with song and clarinet, and her wit is legendary!

Boring?? Never! Not in all the times we've seen her. We are more than happy to recommend Amanda to everyone. She is a major asset to the Majestic and visits there just wouldn't be the same without Amanda.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dawn_Mark_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tracey_moores, General Manager at Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thank you Dawn and Mark for your excellent review. Amanda will be very pleased to see that she “still got it”!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

we stayed here from 5th to 9th nov 2012 ,lovely hotel ,heating not to good but gave us a heater as soon as we asked ,the bathroom needed updating it was quite mouldy in places ,but the room was nice recently done ,most of the staff were really friendly and helpful , 2 of the bar staff were a bit surly but maybe thats just the way they are with everyone ,intertainment was good ,food was nice and varied ,would go back again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorraine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tracey_moores, General Manager at Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thank you Lorraine S. for your excellent review. I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to your next visit. My apologises about the mould in some places, we will investigate and rectify the issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Just returned from a five day holiday at the Majestic Hotel by coach with Shearings our driver Lawrence was a gentleman personified (nothing was too much trouble) a more pleasant Shearings driver I have yet to come across. The hotel is very nice, the varied menu is excellent, our spanish waitress was the best we have come across in a Shearings hotel, again nothing was too much trouble, she was extremely polite at all times - her personality shone through at all times, sorry I didn't get her name - we were on table 4 in the dining room, myself, husband, daughter and our grandson, we would definitely recommend this holiday and we shall definitely be going back in the future. As this was our 9th Shearings coach holiday this and with another booked for December I think its fair to say WELL DONE SHEARINGS for great value for money holidays - THANK YOU.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wiganHolidaymaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tracey_moores, General Manager at Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Many thanks Wigan Holiday Maker for your wonderful five star review.

I have shown Laurence your review and he is delighted to say the least and so is Lorena your waitress.

We are looking forward your return.

Thank you!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

This hotel has friendly efficient staff.
On the down-side the bedroom let it down,it was dark and dismal,No heating in our third floor bedroom,had to have a portable brought up, mouldy shower ceiling,mould on windows and curtains, good choice of food on menu,although the food was not outstanding..breakfast best meal of the day !

Room Tip: Third floor rooms not good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dia1389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tracey_moores, General Manager at Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you Dia1389 for your nice comments about our staff and the efficient service you received.

My apologises about the mould, we will investigate and rectify the issue.

I was a little bit surprised about your comments regarding the heating, as we usually don’t have any problems with this. However, I am glad we were able to sort it out with a portable heater, although we will also investigate as to why there was no heating.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

We booked this Monday to Friday break for half term with Shearings and were delighted with the value it gives. Like one of the recent reviewers we were also in room 212. The room is spacious enough although the en-suite is small and very basic with a bath and a tap attachment shower.

The food was good with a varied menu. It was well presented and very efficiently served. The inclusive drinks package is restricted to four drinks per person per day (which in my case is more than enough) from a limited selection and they don't allow any "unused" credit for drinks to be caried over to the next day. The hotel is in a good location about 10 /15 mins walk from Bournemouth centre (Note uphill from town to hotel) although there is a regular bus service about 200m away at the end of the road.

There is plenty to see and do in and around Bournemouth, Poole and the new Forest

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank passengerinthenight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tracey_moores, General Manager at Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you, passenger in the night for your very nice review.

We are currently offering four drink vouchers per day per customer. At the moment and the feedback from the customers is great as most of the people enjoy the flexibility of using them throughout the day and it eliminates those horrible queues that we had we offered a limited free bar in a limited time slot.

I will pass your lovely comments to our staff.

I am very pleased that you found us to be very good value for money hotel and I am pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Best Wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.4 mi away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#36 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,332 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
1.1 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#20 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,750 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Collingwood
Hotel Collingwood
#8 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel

Property: Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel
Address: Derby Road | East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3QE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Majestic hotel is located on the East Cliff and is just a few minutes' walk from the seven miles of glorious golden sand that is Bournemouth beach. The bay offers beautiful vistas and on a clear day you can easily see the Needles on the Isle of Wight and Old Harry’s Rocks over in the Purbecks. The hotel is just a short walk to the shops and variety of seaside attractions and is set in a great location for you to explore the surrounding area. Dinner can be enjoyed in the comfortable restaurant and guests can also benefit from a snooker room, outside terrace and swimming pool. With a contemporary ballroom and bar, lively entertainment is provided most evenings including music for dancing, visiting cabaret, quizzes and bingo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing