We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small and Dull”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel
Ranked #34 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Kingston upon Thames
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Small and Dull”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Hotel OK, our room Dull, Dark, Small and Depressing very brown. Rubber Hose attachment for shower (very dickension). Food quality good, poorly cooked some meals served dryand tepid i.e Lasagne and Beef Bourgioine. Chips with Roast Pork not a marriage. Roast Potatoes with Sweet and Sour Pork I done think so. Entertainment excellent. Basin taps and outlet needed a good scour.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms at the back of the hotel, no outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank P M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tracey_moores, Manager at Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
Hi PM
I am sorry to see on this occasion we didn’t meet your expectations. We do all strive to make everyone’s stay here at the hotel as enjoyable as we can and I take on board your comments about the room and food and will see what we can change. I am delighted to see you enjoyed the entrainment and I know Amanda Jane will be pleased. We are always looking to improve and all comments are welcome. Feel free to phone or email me any time I am always happy to talk to anyone either with comments about trips or enquires about a future trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    236
    76
    32
    13
See reviews for
63
307
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cleethorpes
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2012

Returned again this year, even better in every way than last year.We were in a recently decorated room.All the staff gave excellent service and were very pleasant.Would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Any room would be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bob43cleethorpes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tracey_moores, Manager at Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
Hi Bob43cleethorpes
Fantastic It was good to see you again and I am glad you like the improvements we are constantly making to the hotel. I will pass you comments on to the staff and thanks for the recommendation we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

The whole hotel was freezing due to the heating system being old and broken. I overheard staff say this has been bad for ages and was not put on and tested before our arrival. Pure incompetence by the general manager.
Everyone was crammed in the bar lounge and had no room to move freely because a third of it was blocked off because the ceiling was being replaced. They should have moved us to a different hotel. Again terrible management.
Two main fire exits had access problems as a result.
General manager tried to placate us with a glass of wine with dinner. Just not good enough

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank grrrrr_notgreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tracey_moores, Manager at Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
Hi grrrrr_notgreat
Sorry you didn’t enjoy yourself with us this time. Unfortunately things do go wrong and we always do our best to rectify them as quickly as we can. The heating Is normally very good and as you can see from other comments its not been an issue in the past. Unfortunately this time we had some maintenance done and this caused a problem with air in the system when we turned it on again. It’s all sorted now. I hope you come back to see us again and experience the hotel with our friendly staff and enjoy a relaxing break with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

my wife and i stayed at the majesti hotel bournemouth on a self drive new years break. Although the bedrooms are a little bit tired and dated i can not fault the cleanliness of them. The staff throughout the hotel work tirelessly to make your stay enjoyable . The food and service within both the bar and restaurant can not be faulted . The entertainment was excellent and Amanda Jayne deserves a special mention worked her socks off keeping us amused.All in all great value for money shall return

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tracey_moores, Manager at Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
Hi Elizabeth M
Great I am so please you enjoyed your new years break with us. We all had a great time over New Year it’s was so nice to have so many friendly people here celebrating with us. I will pass your thanks on to Amanda Jane who I know will appreciate them. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

dont have room 218 dirty bathroom sink wont empty more of a small cuboard than a bathroom staff helpfull food ok but very prossesed very disappointed on this stay as had stayed before at this hotel and enjoyed it wouldnt reccommend it for festive break .















1





1

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SUE C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tracey_moores, Manager at Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
Hi Sue C
Sorry to hear you didn’t enjoy your stay with us this time as much as you have in the past. At the hotel we all do our best to make your stay as enjoyable as you would expect and I take on board your comments about the room and food. Feel free to give me a ring any time if you would like to talk about rooms before booking again with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lichfield
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2011

This hotel provided everything for our break, great entertainment, good food very good staff, the only downside was the lift you could just aboout fit 2 adults in it, but it did its job,

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaynesimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tracey_moores, General Manager at Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Hi Jane
Fantastic I am so pleased you had a good time with us, we all do our best to ensure everything is as you would like it, and it’s really nice to hear you enjoyed yourself. We all hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normanton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2011

this has great entertainment we had a brilliant time a pity about mould all in bathroom if they did something about that and the got a more friendly manager in bar like the two younger bar staff it would be great my room only got cleaned twice in week

Room Tip: some rooms dont have showers ours didnt lift very small so better of on 1st or 2nd
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ann w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tracey_moores, General Manager at Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Hi Ann
I am pleased you had a brilliant time with us. I have taken on board your comments about the room and our bar manager. I am not sure why your room was not cleaned every day as this is our policy. I will pass on your comments to all concerned I know the two lads in the bar will be thrilled you mentioned them. We all look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.4 mi away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#40 of 66 in Bournemouth
793 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,423 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.3 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#20 of 66 in Bournemouth
94 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel

Property: Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel
Address: Derby Road | East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3QE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Majestic hotel is located on the East Cliff and is just a few minutes' walk from the seven miles of glorious golden sand that is Bournemouth beach. The bay offers beautiful vistas and on a clear day you can easily see the Needles on the Isle of Wight and Old Harry’s Rocks over in the Purbecks. The hotel is just a short walk to the shops and variety of seaside attractions and is set in a great location for you to explore the surrounding area. Dinner can be enjoyed in the comfortable restaurant and guests can also benefit from a snooker room, outside terrace and swimming pool. With a contemporary ballroom and bar, lively entertainment is provided most evenings including music for dancing, visiting cabaret, quizzes and bingo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing