We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$114
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
$88
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Park Central Hotel(Bournemouth)
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$88
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cumberland Hotel(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
$146
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Hotel Royale(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Green House(Bournemouth)
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$104
$101
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Exeter Hotel(Bournemouth)
$101
$84
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (556)
Filter reviews
556 results
Traveler rating
158
264
81
35
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
158
264
81
35
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsamanda jayneself driveshearings holidaycoach driverentertainment loungederby roadweekend breakevening entertainment was goodbus serviceeach eveningsmall liftserved hotbus stopthird floornew forestzig zag pathlong weekend
Filter
Updating list...
498 - 503 of 556 reviews
Reviewed December 23, 2011

This hotel provided everything for our break, great entertainment, good food very good staff, the only downside was the lift you could just aboout fit 2 adults in it, but it did its job,

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jaynesimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tracey_moores, General Manager at Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2012

Hi Jane
Fantastic I am so pleased you had a good time with us, we all do our best to ensure everything is as you would like it, and it’s really nice to hear you enjoyed yourself. We all hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2011

this has great entertainment we had a brilliant time a pity about mould all in bathroom if they did something about that and the got a more friendly manager in bar like the two younger bar staff it would be great my room only got cleaned twice in week

Room Tip: some rooms dont have showers ours didnt lift very small so better of on 1st or 2nd
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ann w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tracey_moores, General Manager at Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2012

Hi Ann
I am pleased you had a brilliant time with us. I have taken on board your comments about the room and our bar manager. I am not sure why your room was not cleaned every day as this is our policy. I will pass on your comments to all concerned I know the two lads in the bar will be thrilled you mentioned them. We all look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2011

This is our second stay at the Bournemouth Majestic but our room was not so good this time. The downstairs public areas have been re-decorated but the bedrooms are in need of some up-grading. Our radiator refused to get any warmer than tepid but, as soon as we mentioned to the Manager that our room was cold, he arranged for us to have a heater delivered to our room and this arrived very quickly.

The building may be in need of attention but the staff certainly work hard to make the holiday a success. Our waitress - Anna - was always friendly and cheerful and Frederick the Hotel Manager was again always welcoming and helpful. The staff all work very hard (Shearings appear to be cutting down on their staff numbers) but in this hotel they appear to do so cheerfully.

The entertainment was great - many thanks to Amanda Jayne who is a superb hostess/singer/comedienne - plus the visiting comic.

We will certainly visit the Majestic again as, despite the 'tattiness' of the rooms (mainly due to the age of the building), the good food, entertainment and the friendly staff make for an enjoyable stay.

Another plus point for the hotel is its handy position, situated in a quiet road - a short walk to the sea & with frequent buses to Bournemouth Town Centre (or further of course) just round the corner.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Seasidedancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tracey_moores, General Manager at Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2012

HI Seasidedancer
I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and our staff all did their bit to ensure you had a fabulous time. As for your room, I am sorry to hear you didn’t like your room as much this time as you have in the past and I hope we can do better next time. We do have an ongoing program of improvements here and things are changing all the time. Please feel free to call or email me should you wish to discus anything with us at any time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2011

We stayed at the Majestic with a group friends for a long weekend. We found the hotel clean, warm & comfortable, yes the rooms could do with a makeover but non of us had any major complaints. The food & service were very good. All the staff were efficient & pleasant. The entertaiment was fine, we would all return just to see Amanda Jayne she made a refreshing change, a very funny lady.
The hotel is in a good position being just a short walk from the seafront.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and found it to be excellent value.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SheAKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tracey_moores, General Manager at Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2012

Hi SueAKent
Great to see you enjoyed your time with us Amanda is fantastic isn’t she. I am pleased to see you like our location, we are perfectly placed just a two minute walk from the sea in one direction and a two minute walk from a bus stop in the other (where buses run every 5 minutes into town at around £1.80 return – can’t be bad can it) . We hope to see you again soon and don’t forget we are perfectly placed for the Air Show weekend at the end of August but book early for that one as we will sell out fast. I am glad you enjoyed the food and the service met with your expectations, I will pass your comments on to all concerned.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

Shearings are slowly getting better,
This hotel at least had some investment put in it - downstairs in the public areas at least.
However the rooms although 'freshened up' had no attention to detail.
The radiator was 'grubby', the window sill 'grubby'
The saving grace was that the staff worked very hard, the food was Ok well served and hot.
Limited parking which is 'hogged' by clients who arrive and then do not go anywhere in their
cars. On street parking at a small charge - except weekends....

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tracey_moores, General Manager at Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2012

Hi RoyGerstner
Thanks for your comments we are slowly improving things here and we do have an ongoing program of investment. I am glad to see you like the new look public areas and we are now starting to move upstairs with our improvement works. Car parking can be a bit tight at times but most weeks we don’t have any problems and as you say street parking is free at weekends.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews