We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved our stay at the Majestic” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel
Ranked #36 of 68 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Haddenham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Loved our stay at the Majestic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2011

We stayed at the Majestic for a long weekend May 20-23, 2011 and it was brilliant.
There were 4 of us (2 married couples) with ages from 53 to 66, this was our 3rd visit to this Hotel. We had a fantastic time and couldn't complain about anything. We all even went in the swimming pool, after being on the beach for 6 hours on Saturday. The water was rather cold, but great fun (It entertained the other guests anyway).
The entertainment on Friday & Sunday was OK, but Saturday was excellent, being entertained by Christopher Gee & Zoe. this is definately the best act we have seen at any hotel or complex, home or abroad.
We will be booking for next year soon.
Simon, Jo, Brian & Linda

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HaddenhamWibber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    226
    73
    31
    13
See reviews for
60
294
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
walton on thames
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2011

The food was great, the serving sfaff wre great , reception staff a bit off hand.
Room 313 was light and airy but you had to wait a minimum of 15 minutes running the wate to get something warm, the tiny lift (max two at a time ) is adjoining this room sono sleep until the last guest has gone to bed.
Bar prices were amazingly low, snooker room had a very nice table , unfortunately never brushed and all the tips were missing and also void of cue rests to enjoy a game. This facility is advertised in the write up so it should be there.
For the price it was passable mainly due to the good food ,I wouldnt go back as I think this hotel is well overdue for a makeover.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank royjames82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2011

On arriving at the hotel we found the staff to be very helpful and informative. Our room was very clean and all be it a little dated very comfortable. A great location near to the beach but far enough out of town for a bit of peace and quiet. Good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marty05Dorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2011

Just returned from a short break at Bournemouth. Excellent value for money. Did not go on inclusive coach rides as weather was glorius, so had a beach holiday which was a very welcome surprise, we could have been abroad! Beautiful beach and very clean, despite hordes of people here for the easter break. Hotel literally 5 minute walk from seafront and 20 mins into town centre. Staff at hotel extemely helpful and pleasant. Only slight moan was that on the 3rd floor, the water pressure was low therefore not worth having a shower, we used the bath but it took 20 mins to fill it up enough - however plenty of hot water. Has a small outdoor pool for children which was just being made ready for start of the season. Would certainly recommend this shearings coach trip

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Aaa1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2011

my partner & i recently stayed at the majestic.we thought the staff were very friendly & helpfull & the hotel it's self was very good.the buses are at the end of the road into Bournemouth & they are every few minutes which was very convenient,the food although it was nice but there wasn't much choice on the menu & hardly anything on ur plates.
won't be going there again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nickysangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bolton
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2011

very nice hotel,clean room,excellent food,waiting staff in the bar very nice and friendly.Waiting staff in the restaurant very nice,apart from ours which was Victoria.She was very abrupt and miserable,we never saw her smile once,She really didnt look happy at her work!Entertainment was great,as was Amanda with her dry sense of humour.Not a lot to do in Bournemouth,we went for walks mostly.The town part was quite scruffy and we saw a few tramps in the town early morning ,which was a bit off putting,and a couple of people looked like they were going to mug us too,thankfully they didnt.All in all a very good hotel and would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BoltonPrendi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level Contributor
138 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2011

Having travelled with Shearings on many occasions we know the level of hotel to expect - cheap and cheerful and good value for money but not plush. Normally when we visit Bournemouth we stay at the Savoy but, for a change, we tried the Majestic and were very pleased we did. Rather dated hotel (1960's) but clean and tidy and well run. The staff were all very helpful and the food was very good. [Although all the Bay Hotels provide the same menu it is definitely better cooked and presented in this hotel than many others - [at the Marine Hotel at Llandudno for example we were very disappointed in the standard of the food]. Our room was good and the bathroom clean and with adequate facilities. The entertainment was very enjoyable with a visiting comic on one night and the resident compare/singer really worked hard to create a good atmosphere. The trips out were very good and all in all the whole holiday was delightful and very good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Seasidedancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.4 mi away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#35 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#15 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,260 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
1.1 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#20 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,701 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hinton Firs Hotel
Hinton Firs Hotel
#52 of 68 in Bournemouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel

Property: Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel
Address: Derby Road | East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3QE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 68 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Majestic hotel is located on the East Cliff and is just a few minutes' walk from the seven miles of glorious golden sand that is Bournemouth beach. The bay offers beautiful vistas and on a clear day you can easily see the Needles on the Isle of Wight and Old Harry’s Rocks over in the Purbecks. The hotel is just a short walk to the shops and variety of seaside attractions and is set in a great location for you to explore the surrounding area. Dinner can be enjoyed in the comfortable restaurant and guests can also benefit from a snooker room, outside terrace and swimming pool. With a contemporary ballroom and bar, lively entertainment is provided most evenings including music for dancing, visiting cabaret, quizzes and bingo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing