We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service and value, as always”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Claremont Hotel
Ranked #92 of 133 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
saarfen-d'on-sea
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent service and value, as always”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Back again at the Claremont for another short business trip. The usual genuinely warm welcome from Adam who this time helped me sort out the puncture I'd acquired on my drive down (thanks again Adam!). Everything otherwise as on my previous stays - good cooked breakfast, lots of tea/coffee in the room, free Wi-Fi (though the signal was a bit intermittent in Room 1) and parking. The room, as always was spotlessly clean and properly serviced each day. Still my no.1 choice for budget accommodation in Bournemouth.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheepskate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    53
    19
    4
    9
See reviews for
31
116
52
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
259 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

This bed & breakfast hotel is located a few minutes from the sea front and 10 minutes walk from the bars of the Triangle; it has its own parking spaces. Our twin, en-suite room was spacious and scrupulously clean and had plenty of storage space. The room was in the eves of the building and you do have to be careful of the very low ceiling at one end.

The cooked breakfast was tasty and used good quality ingredients, so I was surprised to find the hotel uses instant coffee at breakfast, rather than fresh.

We were part of a group of four and there was a shortage of hot water at times, seemingly when a lot of people chose to shower at roughly the same time. It is very rare for a hotel or bed & breakfast to run out of hot water (unless there’s a break down). I think this is an issue that needs to be put right for good (I note it has been mentioned in earlier reviews), for the comfort of guests.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattinbrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Blanca, Spain
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

I stayed at The Troy for the third time for 2 nights in March. I have stayed in many hotels in Bournemouth, and although this one is less grand than many, I find it suits my needs very well. My single room was very small, but it was very well equipped - it felt like it had been very well thought out, with extras such as a make up mirror in the bathroom and lots of electric points. Reception staff were really friendly and helpful. The hotel is 10 minutes walk down to Bourenmouth town centre (uphill all the way back). Breakfast has a limited menu and is only served for one hour, but the English breakfast is large and very tasty, and great that it was included in the rate. Having free wifi as well was a real bonus. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

For a budget hotel the Claremont couldn't be faulted. The reception was welcoming, efficient and helpfull. Location was good with only 10 minute walk into Bournemouth City Centre or 5 minutes to the coastal cliff walk.
Brekafast was very good and with the offer of more if needed for people with larger appetites. Staff were also very good and although eastern european knew sufficient English to cope with any requests. Would have no hesitation with stopping here again if I visit Bournemouth.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BareRupert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

My wife and i have just had a great time at the Claremont,Staff were great,nothing too much trouble.within walking distance of all shops and pubs near the square.Good base for all the attractions in South Dorset and the Purbecks.will stay again.

Room Tip: Room 2 ground floor,no stairs too climb.!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scousegit7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

Still good value, but the new owners, while attentive, are not as much fun as the previous ones. Its very convenient for the conference centre. and there is free wifi. Breakfast is more standard and less of an adventure.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ratso5406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.3 mi away
Amarillo
Amarillo
#42 of 133 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
3.0 mi away
Mory House
Mory House
#2 of 133 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Newark Hotel
The Newark Hotel
#45 of 133 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Newbury Hotel
Newbury Hotel
#82 of 133 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
3.0 mi away
Beach Lodge
Beach Lodge
#1 of 133 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
0.2 mi away
Applewood Hotel
Applewood Hotel
#15 of 133 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Claremont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Claremont Hotel

Property: The Claremont Hotel
Address: 89 St. Michaels Road, Bournemouth BH2 5DR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 133 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Claremont Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Claremont Hotel is a non-smoking hotel ideally situated conveniently close to the town centre, vibrant nightlife, beaches & conference centre. Recently refurbished to a very high standard. Ample free parking. All rooms TV/DVD & free wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Claremont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing