We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, lovely building”
Review of Tudor Grange

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tudor Grange
Ranked #48 of 132 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Quiet, lovely building”
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night.

There didn't seem to be a lot of staff or guests, but this suited us fine! Building was beautiful and although our room was quite small it was perfectly adequate with a lovely modern bathroom.

Breakfast was tasty and would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monk_and_Chimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    75
    36
    18
    21
See reviews for
57
163
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Hubby and I stayed here for one night whilst visiting friends. WOW!! what a lovely hotel, Staff very welcoming and friendly. Breakfast was plentyful and well cooked too. Room was lovely and clean. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trishdunn29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Very nice hotel. Beautiful gardens. Only niggles would be that the shower was awful - very low water pressure and really old and no hairdryer. Apart from that we had a lovely stay. Good breakfast and even thought there was a wedding on that day it was still nice and quiet at night.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoC89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights for my 40th Birthday, we arrived early and asked if we could leave our car in the car park. Kindly we were allowed as we turned up at 10am when check in was 2pm. We took a short walk to the seafront and had some lunch in Bournemouth. The room we had was the 4 poster room which we found very clean and comfortable. The price was good for what we received and the staff were extremely helpful and also recommended 2 lovely restaurants for us to eat in. All in all very good and would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mbatey72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We really liked the Tudor Grange, it's a small and nice hotel, we loved the interior decoration and also how it looks outside, the building and the garden.

The rooms are nice, comfortable, the staff is very nice and we loved the breakfast as well.

I have to stress out that the breakfast staff were great, we missunderstood the breakfast time and came late, when breakfast time was just finishing, but it was no issue for them and they served us with a smile on their face.

I can only recommend it and we plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelaK94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a short weekend break with our two small dogs. A really odd hotel!! Very much more like a bed and breakfast!! It seemed for sure like a ghost hotel - almost eery!! The lack of staff and a proper reception added to the eery feeling!! The only staff we saw was a check in receptionist and the morning waitress!!! All very bizarre!! We kept expecting the Adams Family to appear!! It was like a setting for the Adams family home!! All the 'Hotel' needed was cobwebs and a creaky front door and bumps in the night, and it could have sold itself as a Ghost Hotel!! Anyway, all in all, on a positive the room was okay - clean and functional and acceptable and the breakfast was good!! The staff (waitress and receptionist - and I think she was the same person was East European and she seemed pleasant). For us too, the fact that the Hotel did take dogs was a positive!! Anyway, funny!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Selena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
borisperis, Owner at Tudor Grange, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for your review, I am pleased that found the breakfast to be good and the room to be clean and functional.

Reception is open from 8am until 8pm Monday to Saturday and 8am until 6pm on Sundays and bank holidays. The bar is open from 3pm until close everyday.

The Tudor Grange hotel does accept bookings with small dogs.

Thank you also for commenting on how pleasant a member of our staff is, however we feel her nationality is irrelevant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

If you are planning on getting married in Bournemouth and have 40-50 guests then you should DEFINITELY consider the Tudor Grange!

We booked the whole place for the weekend so we had it to ourselves. Louise and Fran and the rest of the staff did a great job of making our big day a roaring success! Our guests were comprised of both Norwegian and English guests and all commented on what a nice venue we had chosen.

When considering this venue you should consider the size. We had 48 guests and around 5 had to stand for the wedding cermony due to a lack of room. These were all big strong lads so it wasn't a problem for us. The wedding breakfast was also a little tight, but this intimate setting helped break the ice. The hotel were open about this size reservation when we booked, so this wasn't a problem for us, but this information may be of interest to somone reading this review. Notice that the garden is nice and spacious, with plenty of seating, so our guests were able to enjoy the evening sunshine after the wedding breakfast.

So, based on our wedding day alone the Tudor Grange gets Five Stars. We were very satisfied with our choice!

Unfortunately our last morning at the hotel left a bad inpression. At breakfast we were approached by the owner, who quite rudely informed us that our children weren't welcome in the breakfast room because the hotel has a no children policy (we hadn't been informed of this). This hadn't been a problem when we were using all the rooms, but some of our guests had left and new guests arrived. Although I understand the situation (guests expecting a child free environment have every right to get what they paid for) I felt that the situation was poorly handled, especially as our children were quietly sitting and eating at the time (and we were all leaving straight after breakfast). I mentioned this to the owner at checkout, and they did apologise for how they handled the situation, but it was a bad end to an otherwise perfect weekend.

So therefore the overall rating is Four Stars.

Oh, and regarding a previous wedding review - our guests were in no way hassled to leave the building at the end of the night. After midnight the staff got on with their cleaning up while the party wound down.

Room Tip: The delux rooms are spacious, the honeymoon suite has a balony overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OsloMark72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 mi away
The Orchid Hotel
The Orchid Hotel
#4 of 66 in Bournemouth
769 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 66 in Bournemouth
881 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#21 of 66 in Bournemouth
115 reviews
0.1 mi away
East Cliff Cottage Hotel
East Cliff Cottage Hotel
#43 of 132 in Bournemouth
205 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Yenton
The Yenton
#11 of 132 in Bournemouth
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tudor Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tudor Grange

Property: Tudor Grange
Address: 31 Gervis Road, Bournemouth BH1 3EE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tudor Grange 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tudor Grange is beautiful historic accommodation set in secluded gardens on Bournemouth's East Cliff, England's premier resort. There are thirteen en-suite rooms and one self-catering cottage; the Tudor Lodge. The rooms include a romantic four poster honeymoon suite with balcony, deluxe double rooms, twin rooms and double rooms which offer single occupancy. All rooms are en-suite and have digital televisions, tea and coffee making facilities and free high speed Wifi. The Tudor Lodge is available for self-catering accommodation for up to three guests and is fully equipped with kitchen, dining and lounge areas. The accommodation is on a bed and breakfast basis, which includes a full English breakfast and a fresh buffet table with cereals, fruits, yogurt, pastries, milk and fruit juices. The Tudor Grange has free car parking and beautiful secluded front gardens that provide the feel of a country house by the sea. The seafront is only a two minute walk from the guest house and Bournemouth town center is a pleasant five to ten minute walk along the sea front. The Tudor Grange does not accept bookings with children under the age of twelve. If you are looking for a relaxed or romantic getaway, this is the perfect place for a weekend to remember. The Tudor Grange is family run and has been with it's current owners since 2006, who have been running a continual improvement programme throughout. All thirteen rooms have now been completely refurbished including all en-suites, with individual styling and charm. In 2011 based on customer feedback the family adopted a new management system including a change of staff and job roles which has enabled us to offer greater customer service to all our guests. To improve our bed and breakfast service further from the end of 2016 the Tudor Grange will no longer be a Wedding and evening function venue. This means the Tudor Grange will be solely for the use of bed and breakfast guests, with improved lounge and dining facilities. In addition we can guarantee our guests a relaxing and peaceful stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Tudor Grange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing