We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT A HOTEL !!!!”
Review of Newbury Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Newbury Hotel
Ranked #80 of 132 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 8, 2012

This hotel does NOT serve a traditional english breakfast , nor does it serve a continental breakfast ,in fact it actually serves nothing- contrary to the website!!on a cold damp winters day do you really want to be wandering around searching for a cafe to open ?? no sign of any staff or any atmosphere , definately NOT gay friendly or indeed even customer friendly, AVOID AT ALL COST .

Room Tip: choose another hotel !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank donovan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickiBournemouth, Owner at Newbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

An interesting title, "Not A Hotel", this statement is true, we are indeed, not a hotel. We do not pretend to be a hotel. All of the establishments in St. Michaels Road are called X.Y.Z. Hotel, they are all guest houses and were all named thus, about 60 to 70 years ago, when they opened. This is just a quirk of that period and and not any attempt to deceive in any way. The very low cost of your accommodation should have been a good indicator. To stay in a hotel would have cost you at least treble. Your main complaint seems to be that we do not serve a breakfast on site. This is true and contrary to your statement that we do not give this information on our web-site, we do, very clearly. We have found that the vast majority of our guests prefer the breakfast system that we have in place. Instead of having to get up at 8.00am for a breakfast that is served from 8.00am till 9.00am (you feel obliged to have it, as you have paid for it). You can decide at the time if you would like a Full English Cooked Breakfast, no advance booking is necessary. You simply come to the reception, ring the bell Purchase a breakfast voucher (subsidised by us) for £3.50, take it across the road to the Shamrock and you will be given a large and beautifully cooked Full English Breakfast that will set you up for the day. You certainly do not have to go around "searching for a cafe". Our guests have often commented, that they prefer this more relaxed way, as it is more flexible and puts the guest in control. For those who do not require a breakfast, they are not paying for something that they are not having.
I do not understand why you have stated that we are not Gay Friendly, I think that the large number of our gay guests would refute this. Every guest is treated with equal respect and courtesy. Other reviews will confirm this. Indeed many reviewers have commented on how friendly and helpful we are.
You stated that there were no staff? This statement is just not true, unlike a lot of similar establishments that I know of, where the owners go out and leave the place unattended, I make sure that there is always someone on site, should a guest require any information or assistance, as you were told on your arrival. With regard to the atmosphere, we try to be as friendly and helpful as we can, to all of our guests, a lounge is provided for your comfort and relaxation. I know that you wanted to go of and sample the gay nightlife, but what was I supposed to do? take you there? You do have to arrange your own entertainment.
I have noted that in your ratings you have only given one out of five for every category, which is most unfair and again, just not true.

VALUE - we are cheaper than the other establishments in this area, offering the same service.

CLEANLINESS - We pride ourselves on our high standards and are renowned for it. See comments.

LOCATION - We are close to the seafront, shops, all amenities, BIC, night-life, (where is the problem?)

SLEEP QUALITY - All of our beds are new, with high quality brands.

ROOMS - All of our rooms have been refurbished and for the tariff charged, are very good value.

SERVICE - We are always friendly and approachable, we do our utmost to help guests in whatever way we can. However we are not responsible for organising your social activities. I am well aware that you found the "Bournemouth Gay Scene" dull and boring, when you are used to Brighton, as I remember you complaining to me about it. However you can hardly blame us and hold us accountable for that. Regards Vicki.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 158 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2012

My girlfriend and I, on our first proper holiday together, spent four nights at the Newbury and we both enjoyed a comfortable and stress-free stay. We didn't really know what to expect, especially as our budget had its restrictions, but the ease and comfort of the accommodation was such a relief.
Our hostess was very friendly and welcoming and couldn't do more for us. The room was a double with a queen bed, a tv and a sink but still afforded us suitable room. The shower and toilet was shared but we didn't run into any problems with other guests using the facilities. Whilst our room may have been quite small compared to other hotels we've been to (on family holidays abroad) for the small price we paid (about £19.75pppn) it provided us with brilliant value for money. Add to that the close proximity to the beach and surrounding shops and the figure becomes even more impressive. The only negative was the incline after a night out!
The weather stayed perfect throughout the week - maybe a bit too hot - but we had no reluctance in returning to our room when the sun became too harsh. We aren't a couple to spend hours down at the pub either and returned at about 9/10 each night to a quiet street and pleasant sleep. We'd have happily stayed for longer but for the crumpled remains of my student loan and would stay again without hesitation. Thanks a lot

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper then maybe try and avoid facing the street as it is opposite a lamp post.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickiBournemouth, Owner at Newbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Hi to you both & so pleased to hear that you enjoyed yourselves. As you said, you had one of the two standard doubles,with shared facilities (just outside the room). We only have two of these rooms, so there is never any waiting for shower etc.. as you found out. Obviously, because these are the cheapest (budget) rooms, they are smaller than the others, but as you have said, are still comfortable and adequate for your needs. The hills, I can do nothing about!!! but it is good exercise and for those not wanting to walk, there is the lift at the end of the road.
Hope to see you both again in the near future.

Best regards

Vicki.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

really enjoyed my stay! lovely and hospitable . Hotel is very close to the beach (my 3 year old ran all the way with no stops) . lots of info from proprietess. all good. i would recommend

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Kimonda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickiBournemouth, Owner at Newbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Hi, Many thanks for your kind review. It is nice to see the kids enjoying themselves so much and Bournemouth with its sandy beach is great for sand castles etc.. Was a pleasure to meet you and your family, look forward to welcoming you again sometime. Dealing with guests such as yourselves is what makes the job so pleasurable. Best regards Vicki.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Stayed for four nights, and exceptionally clean and room had ensuite. Rooms cleaned daily and would definately return sometime. Staff were very helpful. Perfect location for seafront and places to eat. Cannot fault it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bf0677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickiBournemouth, Owner at Newbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Hi, and thanks for your kind comments about the Newbury. We do try our very best to make sure that all of the rooms and public areas are kept to the highest standards and it is all worth while when guests notice and comment on it. The enjoyable part of the job is to be able to interact with the guests and try to make sure that they have an enjoyable and memorable holiday. Reviews like this one prove to me that we are managing to get it right. Best regards to you both. Vicki.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

my husband and i have stayed here twice this year ,on our first visit we had a double ensuite and our second visit which was for a week we had twin ensuite . Both rooms were exceptionally clean and refreshed daily . the hotel is in a perfect location ,close to seafront , restaurants .if you want to go into town and dont feel like walking the bus stops are nearby where buses are very regular .This hotel has everything for a nice quiet enjoyable holiday or short break .
Vicky is a lovely lady who gave us a warm welcome ,always on hand if you need anything or advice .her staff do a very good job .i would recomend this hotel to anyone who is looking for good value ,cleanliness,quiet and most of all warm and welcoming .
we will be returning next year .

Room Tip: twin ensuite and double ensuite are lovely rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elaine o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickiBournemouth, Owner at Newbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Hi to you both, second time around and I know that you enjoyed yourselves just as much each time. It was a pleasure to look after you both and we look forward to welcoming you to the Newbury in the near future. Best wishes Vicki.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I've stayed at the hotel for a couple of nights and although the location was great everything else wasn't so great. There was hardly anyone at reception, no telephone in the room, a very tiny very old school tv in the room, creaky floors. The room was quite small too. I have stayed in a lovely 5* hotel for £20 more before so I was very disappointed its rated 4/5. It's fine if you're planning for a 2* or 3* but it definitely shouldn't be rated 4*. The cleanliness and location was good which is important to a lot of people and myself so it's not that bad but I was looking for something a little more appealing during my visit and didn't get that at all so just a little disappointing.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ms_m1809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickiBournemouth, Owner at Newbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

Sorry that you were a little disappointed, but in fairness, you yourself had no complaints with the standards of the Newbury, except that it is not a four star hotel. We do not say that we are. We are a four star Guest House, there is a big difference (mostly in cost). If you had wanted to stay in a four star Hotel then the cost would have been more than double the tariff that we charged for your room. All of the guest houses in Bournemouth are called "Hotel", this is not meant in any way to deceive, they were named over 60 years ago and to change the name now would be impossible. All details are very clearly laid out on the web-site.
With regard to reception, someone is always available from 8.00AM till 10.00PM. All that you had to do was press the bell. We informed you of this when you arrived. You cant expect us to sit there for fourteen hours? we do have a lot of other work to do and there is absolutely no need. I agree with you that the televisions in the rooms are not brand new, but they work perfectly and so I do not see the necessity to replace them just yet. The money that is available is better spent in other areas, i.e. we have recently replaced a lot of the beds, for the comfort of our guests. Hope this gives you a satisfactory response. Vicki.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Been coming back here for weeks now (Living in London, working in Bournemouth). Spotless rooms, quite quirky but it radiates coziness. Of course the location is the best thing about this place. Tried several rooms and all are clean and serviced daily. It pays to haggle a bit, the hostess will give you a better deal if they are not full. If it works out, you got yourself a great value room.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dusanpetkovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 7, 2012

Hi and thank you for your kind review (I think!!!??), I know exactly who you are and I don't "haggle" as you put it. I was kind enough to let you have the room with a discount (as I do all of my regular guests), that is all part of the service. Anyway your review has given me a good laugh, so many thanks for that. See you soon. Vicki.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 mi away
West Cliff Inn
West Cliff Inn
#52 of 66 in Bournemouth
407 reviews
0.1 mi away
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
#49 of 66 in Bournemouth
499 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Newark Hotel
The Newark Hotel
#49 of 132 in Bournemouth
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Strand Hotel
The Strand Hotel
#20 of 132 in Bournemouth
190 reviews
0.0 mi away
Carisbrooke Hotel
Carisbrooke Hotel
#77 of 132 in Bournemouth
202 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lea Hurst Hotel
Lea Hurst Hotel
#24 of 132 in Bournemouth
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newbury Hotel

Address: 83 St. Michaels Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth, Bournemouth BH2 5DR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range: $54 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Newbury Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning Victorian town house, hotel right in the heart of the holiday action. Seafront only 2 minutes walk and within easy walking distance to the theatres,shops, bars, restaurants, and night life. Resident owner Vicki will ensure that you have a fantastic stay. We have free parking, we are totally non smoking, all our rooms are newly refurbished & with en-suite facilities. All rooms have tea and coffee making facilities, full heating, T.V. with free-view and free wi-fi access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Newbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing