We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hands down the worst hotel stay ever”
Review of The Croham Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Croham Hotel
Ranked #58 of 67 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Let's see where to start...

- Stains EVERYWHERE (walls, comforter, box spring) from God knows what.
- Exposed wires in the bathroom.
- Cold water faucet in shower fell off after turning water on, spraying water everywhere. Luckily not on the aforementioned exposed wires.
- Heater/air conditioner didn't work. And now our two year old son has a cold.
- "Bedding" provided for our son's crib was, in fact, a bath mat.

Needless to say, we checked out after the first night of a two night reservation, gladly paying money NOT to stay another night.

Avoid at all costs!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (420)
There are newer reviews for The Croham Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

292 - 298 of 420 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2013

Location of this hotel was excellent and couldn't have asked for anything better for the price.

But...

My only quibble with the rest of the stay was our room was FREEZING! So I would suggest only staying here if you're seasoned to arctic conditions! Our room was on the bottom floor and to be fair was nice and big and seemed clean! However, there was no central heating and the room was only equipped with an air-con unit. Apparently this unit would only warm up at 26c, no lower or no higher! You had to wait for about 10-15 mins we were told, after complaining several times the receptionist came in and made sure it was set correctly! So low and behold it still never warmed up, thus resulting in a very cold nights sleep!

The next day when checking out we told the receptionist/manager of our grievance with our room! He didn't seem too happy with this complaint!

So we waved goodbye to the miserable manager and that was that!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bergerac_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

I stayed here in may with my partner, our room coated £69 in total this included breakfast. On arrival the receptionist was friendly and helpful, our room wasn't really anything to write home about. Very poor & dull decor. In the room there was no hair dryer nor any washing products which in reflection to any other hotel I've been to is a basic and that's even in cheap hotels. The notice for any stains etc was shoved on the door and no welcome pack...explaining that if any stains were found it would be a £10 charge! My partner couldn't sleep during the night due to the noisy air con which was off. Breakfast was a complete shambles as on entry to the room you are not greeted nor seated, there is no mention of how to get a hot breakfast or what's available it was just due to other guests tucking in to a full English we decided to ask however the staff weren't friendly and seemed very unhelpful, the breakfast wasn't really worth getting out of bed for in all honesty with a tiny excuse for a sausage and fried bread killed in oil. You were also only given from 8-9.30 for breakfast so would appear to me they hope most people don't wake up for it. Love Bournemouth not a fan of this hotel so will not be staying again, too much money for how little you get.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bethsieboo0506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I stayed her on Friday 10th May. I used booking.com to book the Hotel which seemed to work fine. My only criticism was that on arrival the receptionist kept us and another set of guests waiting for around 120 minutes whilst he was on the phone. I thought it would have been better to call the other person back.
Our room was on the third floor (307) and was clean and tidy. The double glazing was very good at keeping out the road noise. This is a family room and therefore had a double and a single bed.
One of the other guests has tried to put their drinks bill on our room (thank you for that whoever you are!), but the Manager dealt with it really well.
I would use the Hotel again. The price of £95 was a bit high, but I guess we paid extra for the larger room and also the central location of the Hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy4265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Me and my friend stayed from 3rd to 6th may. The night porter and the guy in the reception in the mornings were brilliant as for the restaurant for breakfast in the morning that was a joke... 1 morning we had 2 couples and a group that sat down after us and they were all served first there was no organisation and the staff wer all over the place. The guy on reception on the late shifts was so rude we avoided talking or asking him anything as he didn't really care and couldn't be bothered. The rooms were tidy but we had to ask for clean towels. We have stayed here a few times befor but this by far was the worst stay. Best thing was location and tidiness.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charbavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

we thought the room was very clean and comfortable. loveley shower.breakfast was good staff helpful.my only comment was that you had to pay £3.50 to park your car in the car park which seemed a bit of a cheek.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alyson M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Awful room. Damp and plaster falling off all around the skirting board and walls. 'Curtains' were an old limp rag. Bed was squashed into an area with no room at all either side so you had to climb from the bottom. Freezing cold so we asked for a blanket which arrived with lots sinister stains. We didn't want to use it! Bathroom... the toilet was installed right up to the shower cubicle so you had to sit sideways unless you have no legs. The furniture was awful, you couldn't even give it away... I have never felt compelled to write a hotel review but this was such an awful experience I had to say something - all straight facts. Don't stay here, you can find much better.

Room Tip: Not the rooms in the basement.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnitaS229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
West Cliff Inn
West Cliff Inn
#52 of 67 in Bournemouth
400 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Bournemouth Seafront Hotel
0.3 mi away
Bourne Hall Hotel
Bourne Hall Hotel
#56 of 67 in Bournemouth
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
#49 of 67 in Bournemouth
490 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 67 in Bournemouth
2,034 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#40 of 67 in Bournemouth
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Croham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Croham Hotel

Address: 9 Durley Road South, Bournemouth BH2 5JH, England (Formerly Croham Hurst Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: $51 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Croham Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
**UNDER NEW MANAGEMENT** Situated in the West Cliff area, within easy reach of Bournemouth's town centre, the sandy beaches and the Bournemouth International Centre (BIC), this comfortable hotel offers good-value en suite rooms. The Croham Hotel is just one mile (1.6 km) from Bournemouth Railway Station and has easy access to the A35 and the area's major road network. The great location means that the hotel offers easy access to the pavilion, the piers and the theatres. All of the town centre's shops, bars, cafes and restaurants are within easy reach. All of the rooms have either a shower or a bath with shower. Each room has a TV with Freeview digital channels, tea/coffee and a hairdryer. The restaurant offers traditional English cuisine and international classics. A freshly prepared breakfast is served daily. There is a lift serving all of the hotel's upper floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Croham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Croham Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing