We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive considering the cost”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Britannia Hotel Bournemouth
Ranked #64 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Corfe Mullen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Impressive considering the cost”
Reviewed October 28, 2010

There are loads of negative reviews on this hotel, but what do people expect. This is a budget hotel in a great location. The rooms are a bit tired, but they are clean. The bed was comfortable and the shower was great. The staff were friendly and helpful. The lifts are small, but they are clean and work. Breakfast was great, come on people, if you want brand new, bang up to the minute facilities in this location you are going to be paying 3 or 4 times as much. For what this place costs it is amazing value

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joeok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    190
    239
    215
    421
See reviews for
195
534
56
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CHESHIRE
Level 6 Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2010

We stayed here for a week in august, Firstly, do bear in mind when reading other negative all be them possibly justified reviews that after we called many hotels prior to staying here the average cost was more than double the price of the brittania, i found it good value, your pound goes a bit further, its not dirty its just no frills, short staffed?Yes,No frills?Yes,staff under pressure from guests paying a minimum wanting the maximum?Yes,Good value for dinner bed +breakfast,close to sea front,pool,and an early night?(entertainment!!!!!)Yes,
Look if i was paying the local "going" rate for a Hotel DB+B i would have been dissapointed, but we didnt,
Nikki on Reception was lovely, the staff at dinner were very helpful, in particular one eastern european girl whose name escapes me but i felt compelled to tell the Rest -Manager she was a credit to Him !
Anyway , Returning for Halloween so watch this space !!!!!....

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SIELLARO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2010

I was dreading arriving at this hotel after looking at the reviews, but I shouldn't have worried!

We booked this hotel the day before and paid £74 for a triple room with late check out and buffet breakfast. We stayed in room 201.

There was no parking left when we arrived but there was a space on the street outside that was free after 6pm and worked out about £3 for 24 hours, so no problem. Took about a minute to check in and be directed to our room. The lift was small, but there were two of them and it was better than walking with our bags.

Room was spacious and bright and we had a sea view! The bathroom was newly fitted and there were 2 wardrobes, a dressing table, hairdryer etc. It wasn't the Ritz, but we got more than got what we paid for. Didn't use the pool but it was quite large, no one in it, and looked clean.

The reception area was large and comfortable, along with the dining room and bar. Food prices were more than reasonable. Breakfast was on til 10.30am at the weekends and was an all you can eat buffet style and was just what I needed after a night out.

The hotel was a 2 minute walk to the cliff edge with a brilliant view of the pier, and a further 10 min stroll to get to it. Town was the other direction and took 10 mins stroll too.

I would definatley recommend this hotel...but you won't get a 5* hotel for 3* prices.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meowbinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2010

Stayed with other half. Cheapest hotel by a long mark, so expectations low. Not v clean but adequate. Service so so, overworked reception staff . Room clean-ish, bed fine, and facilities ok. Breakfast adequate. For the price (49) not a bad stay. Excellent location.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cornishtraveller72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 5, 2010

Read report 19-9-10 same time as I was staying,could not understand we were in the same hotel at the same time.In the 7 days I was there the only thing they had not got was rosie house wine.Food was cooked well,hot, and well presented.Room was clean ,spacious, and nicely decorated.I myself find entertainment to loud, but here it was not to bad.I found bar,dining room, reception,and cleaning staff absolutely brilliant,they were always smiling and could not do enough for you.





























f

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grumpy008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 5, 2010

After reading the above reviews I was dreading coming to the Britannia Hotel (should be classed as a basic B&B). I was very disappointed that I had booked a twin room with a friend and ended up with a double.The Hotel is in serious need of refurbishing thoughout. I didnt dare enter the swimming pool and avoided eating here.

Upon arrival it was very difficult to actually get to our room due to the hideous lift that just about got me and my makeup bag in!. The room and bathroom was cleanish and exceptable for stags / hen and young groups on a wild drinking weekend however I wouldnt recomment staying more than 1 night. If you are looking for a comfortable hotel with relatives or a loved one - this isnt the place!

There is constant noise coming from every angle, you can even hear the conversations from the room next door and the beds are uncomfortable and floor boards very squeaky. There was a strange cheesecake smell to the room which was very uninviting.

We didnt stay for breakfast which was included in the price (£55.00 booking.com) so opted for breakfast elsewhere which was divine.

I really cant understand how this Hotel can charge £110 per night on the website. I would strongly recommend no one to pay this full amount as its not even worth the £55.00 I paid. (Daylight robbery or what?)

I would advise all elderly people to stay away as if you dont want to have an early grave!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenny186220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 4, 2010

Ten of us stayed for two nights. Were expecting the worst but we were all suprised with how good the hotel was considering how much we paid. The rooms were in need of up dating but they were all clean, the bedding was clean and bathrooms were okay. The food was more than acceptable and more than one person wondered how the hotel did it for what they charged.Its was only a short walk to the town centre and the nightlife. If you are happy with cheap and cheerful this hotel is fine if you want the Ritz pay more and go somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crazyhazyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Royal Bath
Royal Bath
#59 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,755 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,960 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,505 reviews
1.0 mi away
West Cliff Inn
West Cliff Inn
#52 of 66 in Bournemouth
395 reviews
1.0 mi away
New Westcliff Hotel
New Westcliff Hotel
#49 of 66 in Bournemouth
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Hotel Bournemouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Hotel Bournemouth

Property: Britannia Hotel Bournemouth
Address: East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Hotel Bournemouth 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Hotel Bournemouth has its own garden and terrace for guests to enjoy and is ideally situated close to the striking East Cliff beach and Bournemouth town centre. The picturesque countryside of the New Forest and Dorset is also within easy reach making this one of the best hotels in Bournemouth for facilities, location and competitive pricing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Britannia Hotel Bournemouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bournemouth Britannia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing