We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Britannia Hotel Bournemouth
Ranked #64 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Worst hotel ever!”
Reviewed May 20, 2009

This has to be the worst hotel ever! I stupidly booked a night here when attending a concert in Bournemouth, i booked mainly due to the cost and paid a whole £26.00 for a standard room.
Good points first, the hotel is easy to find and has plenty of free parking.

Ok, thats the good bits out of the way.....

Reception like the rest of the hotel is drab tired and in need of a total refurbishment, check in was quick and painless and we were given the key to our room.

The lift was old small and with a huge gap betwene it and the wall exposing brickwork was scary and dangerous!

On to our room...the website describes budget rooms as being on the hotel interior, it describes luxury rooms as being on the exterior with sea views...its very non specific on "standard rooms" and the reason is clear...you are paying a few pounds extra for the same room type as budget! Our room was tiny, the old metal framed windows were freezing and mouldy and the bathroom was a disgrace, small dirty and some rather unpleasent stains on the ceiling.

Naturally i complained to reception, im guessing by their reactions they are used to complaints, i was offered another room, again they insisted it was a standard...it was no better than the first room. At this point i asked for my money back but was told as i had booked and paid in advance online a refund was not available....i was also told the second room i was shown was one of their "better" rooms! All i coudl reply is that iwould hate to see a bad room!!!

Eventually the duty manager offered us a bottle of wine as an acknoledgement of the poor rooms, lets just say the wine matched the accomodation, it ended up going down the toilet..in fact it probably tasted worse than some toilet cleaners!

Cant comment on breakfast as checked out as soon as possible in the morning.

The whole place should be knocked down, it is a disgrace a total dump and easily the worst hotel i have ever stayed in, avouid like the plague!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColinBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    192
    240
    215
    424
See reviews for
196
537
56
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Anglia
1 review
Reviewed May 12, 2009

First impressions are very important,decor very poor,in hall/stairways etc.Room,tiny,dirty,stained carpet,small bed for double,black all round switches,shower filthy,furniture very very old covered in splashes!!!.My wife said shall we sleep in the car,as we only had 2 nights we stuck it out.Breakfast plenty of it but all poor quality products used ,bacon,sausages.This hotel is very old so should be cheap its not, dont stay in room 325 its CRAP!!Staff were trying,as for the cleaners they need training...another thing, we even had blood splats on bathroom door..beyond a joke

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul45EastAnglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

Isle of Wight
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2009

When we first arrived there was no parking at all in the area and had to be directed to their sister hotel for multi story parking which was about 10 minutes away. Not a good start. The building inside needs a lick of paint. We got to our room 111, and discovered that we had TWIN beds that had been pushed together!!! This was Valentines night bear in mind!!! It got worse, when we pulled back the stained 'bedspread' that was pink and looked like it had been there since the 70's there was sheets on the bed, sorry, did I say sheets or did I mean to say sacks?? The type of material that you used in school sack races, not an overstatement. We also had single sheets, which obviously meant we couldn't really spend the night together properly as we were in seperate beds! The floor was extremly squeeky as so were the beds. The bathroom was incredibly dirty with hair left in the bath and sink from previous people. Awful hotel. Will never go back and will not reccomend. AVOID!! I have asked for this to be looked into but as yet Britannia are unresponsive.....and I am still waiting 3 months later!!!!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank therapeutic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gidea park
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2009

Overall the hotel was good but with a few exceptions.When we got our key we got in the lift which a few moaners on Trip Ad said was small and they didn't feel safe.Get over it...yes it was small but it worked and got us to our floor.That said,the carpet in the lifts need replacing and the lift doors inside and out were dirty as was the metal floor plates and reminded me of a council tenament.The hallway and up the stairs walls were scuffed badly as was the door leading onto the landing.Either a paint job was about to commence had just been forgotten about because there was masking tape covering some metal scuff plates.The room was a good size but needed some attention as well.On entering room 120 the first thing we noticed was the peeling paint on the ceiling.This was because they had added an en-suite at some time and there was movement between the old ceiling and the new one causing cracks to appear above the new corniceing.The bed desperatley needs a new mattress .From the other descriptions you would think that springs were poking through the sheets.Yes you could feel them but I could live with them...just about.There were also stains on the window seals that should have been wiped off.Our view was over the flat roof looking onto the hotel opposite.For a 2 day stay we didn't care but in the summer the drone of the generator on the roof would have caused us to move because if the window had been open in the night the noise would have driven us mad.The pool was good as was the breakfast.Plenty of food and always filling the buffet up.Overall the stay was fine and not the nightmare other reviewers would have you believe.I do think though that not only the hotel management but the chiefs at the top need to take a long hard look at their hotel group because judging from reviews of their other hotels it would appear there is massive room for improvement.We paid £84.00 for a 2 night stay and at that price I think we had a fair deal.If you pay anything like the hotel rate you will be bitterly dissapointed.This hotel just about warrants 3 stars and lives up to it...just about. MANAGER;CHECK YOUR HOTEL OVER MORE OFTEN AND GIVE LESS EXCUSES LIKE YOU ARE NOT AWARE OF THE VIEWS EXPRESSED BY CLIENTS ON TRIP AD.YOU ARE THE MANAGER.BEHAVE LIKE ONE AND BE ON THE CASE BECAUSE IF YOU AREN'T THEN YOU SHOULD START PACKING YOURS !!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank majoreaguemental
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orpington
1 review
Reviewed April 27, 2009

I booked a 2 night stay in one of the superior suites as a suprise for my new partner, when we entered the suite it was freezing cold in one half but nice in the other half, when we tried the bed the springs were poking through the matress, I went and complained and was told that the only other room available was a superior room, so we moved to the other room only to discover a massive stain on the bed covers, rather than complain I swopped the covers with the other room, after a bad nights sleep in the uncomfortable bed we booked out, the hotel has refused to even respond to my complaint let alone a refund. STAY WELL CLEAR.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goopur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2009

My partner and I arrived at the hotel early on Sat evening. There was absolutely nowhere to park as the car park is tiny compared to requirement of the hotel. To be fair I found a place on the street about 25 mts away so it really wasn't a drama but as we were parking up we saw at least a dozen cars try to get into the hotel and spend many minutes trying to reverse out again! Perhaps the hotel management board should consider knocking down the swimmming pool area ( which no one used when we were there!) and create more car parking space!

The hotel receptionist was very efficient and it only took us a few minutes to book in. We were allocated room 303 and given our key. We went to the elevator but found it could only take 2 people at a time. Tiny or what! Creaked a lot on the way up....we used the stairs after this!

Exiting the elevator we were met with a very narrow corridor with badly marked walls. Not a good first impression. Our initial impression when we gained access to our room was better. Large windows, bright and airy. Large bathroom again nice and bright and clean. No smells.

The bedroom furniture was in good condition and the large table lamps allowed for comfortable reading before going to sleep. 2 negative comments however:
1. The carpet selected for this room was cream. It was stained beyond belief and actually gave the room a grotty appearance. Bournemouth is a weekend town where people come to party....why would anyone pick a cream carpet??!!
2. The bed, although large and clean, was one of the most uncomforable I have ever slept in. The use of a very cheap mattress did not help!

The hotel was very quiet and we had an undisturbed night's sleep (apart from the mattress!) and went for breakfast about 0800 the next morning. The buffet style breakfast was ok. Only downside was the toast which had been made sometime before we got there and was now almost soggy.

Would I recommend this hotel? I think for the same money there is much better in the area. Staff friendly, etc, but it is a hotel that needs money spent on it to bring it up to standard. As it stands I don't think this hotel is worthy of its star rating.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeeManNIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenock, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2009

hotel was nice and clean. lovely garden and pool. breakfast was lovely. hotel in a great location, close to the beach. The staff were very friendly. Lifts very old and didnt feel very safe. bedroom was sooooo old, dodgy pics on the walls and squeaky room, the floor that is! the bathroom was tiny, only a dwarf could have showered in there. the sink was not in there-it was in the bedroom! bedsheets very very itchy.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scrasie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Royal Bath Hotel & Spa
Royal Bath Hotel & Spa
#59 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,803 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,993 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,521 reviews
0.8 mi away
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
#51 of 66 in Bournemouth
481 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Hotel Bournemouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Hotel Bournemouth

Property: Britannia Hotel Bournemouth
Address: East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Hotel Bournemouth 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Hotel Bournemouth has its own garden and terrace for guests to enjoy and is ideally situated close to the striking East Cliff beach and Bournemouth town centre. The picturesque countryside of the New Forest and Dorset is also within easy reach making this one of the best hotels in Bournemouth for facilities, location and competitive pricing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britannia Hotel Bournemouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bournemouth Britannia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing