We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont be attracted by the cheap price, run down hotel with poor response to all complaints”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Britannia Hotel Bournemouth
Ranked #64 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Orpington
1 review
“Dont be attracted by the cheap price, run down hotel with poor response to all complaints”
Reviewed April 27, 2009

I booked a 2 night stay in one of the superior suites as a suprise for my new partner, when we entered the suite it was freezing cold in one half but nice in the other half, when we tried the bed the springs were poking through the matress, I went and complained and was told that the only other room available was a superior room, so we moved to the other room only to discover a massive stain on the bed covers, rather than complain I swopped the covers with the other room, after a bad nights sleep in the uncomfortable bed we booked out, the hotel has refused to even respond to my complaint let alone a refund. STAY WELL CLEAR.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goopur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    189
    234
    213
    415
See reviews for
191
530
55
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
N Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2009

My partner and I arrived at the hotel early on Sat evening. There was absolutely nowhere to park as the car park is tiny compared to requirement of the hotel. To be fair I found a place on the street about 25 mts away so it really wasn't a drama but as we were parking up we saw at least a dozen cars try to get into the hotel and spend many minutes trying to reverse out again! Perhaps the hotel management board should consider knocking down the swimmming pool area ( which no one used when we were there!) and create more car parking space!

The hotel receptionist was very efficient and it only took us a few minutes to book in. We were allocated room 303 and given our key. We went to the elevator but found it could only take 2 people at a time. Tiny or what! Creaked a lot on the way up....we used the stairs after this!

Exiting the elevator we were met with a very narrow corridor with badly marked walls. Not a good first impression. Our initial impression when we gained access to our room was better. Large windows, bright and airy. Large bathroom again nice and bright and clean. No smells.

The bedroom furniture was in good condition and the large table lamps allowed for comfortable reading before going to sleep. 2 negative comments however:
1. The carpet selected for this room was cream. It was stained beyond belief and actually gave the room a grotty appearance. Bournemouth is a weekend town where people come to party....why would anyone pick a cream carpet??!!
2. The bed, although large and clean, was one of the most uncomforable I have ever slept in. The use of a very cheap mattress did not help!

The hotel was very quiet and we had an undisturbed night's sleep (apart from the mattress!) and went for breakfast about 0800 the next morning. The buffet style breakfast was ok. Only downside was the toast which had been made sometime before we got there and was now almost soggy.

Would I recommend this hotel? I think for the same money there is much better in the area. Staff friendly, etc, but it is a hotel that needs money spent on it to bring it up to standard. As it stands I don't think this hotel is worthy of its star rating.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeeManNIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2009

hotel was nice and clean. lovely garden and pool. breakfast was lovely. hotel in a great location, close to the beach. The staff were very friendly. Lifts very old and didnt feel very safe. bedroom was sooooo old, dodgy pics on the walls and squeaky room, the floor that is! the bathroom was tiny, only a dwarf could have showered in there. the sink was not in there-it was in the bedroom! bedsheets very very itchy.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scrasie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

Warwickshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2009

stayed 2 nights in this hotel, booked last minute. you do get what you pay for. had breakfast one of the mornings which was ok. The staff seemed helpfull.
The first night someone had set the fire alarm off so we jumped out of bed but it stopped after a couple of minutes.
The bed was really squeeky (but not too uncomfortable) the bathroom was small.
Bournemouth itself is a lovely place and the hotel is in a great location.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandyreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2009

My wife and I have recently returned from an Easter stay at the Britannia Hotel, Bournemouth and have to say we are extremely disappointed with the experience. My wife complained three times about dust on the TV table before something was done.
We cannot complain about the quality of the breakfast, although on one morning, when I was waiting for a fried egg, I was told that they were cooking, and then the waiter brought them out, (4 on a tray). The coffee was diabolical and the evening meal was sub-standard, uncovered and looked as if it had been there a long time.
Overall, the hotel, with limited car parking spaces, that is an understatement, broken garden furniture, cigarette butts all over the garden area, and lack of atmosphere was disappointing and we would have no hesitation in not recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HorrifedofHuntington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2009

Here was my list of complaints for the customer services department at Britannia Hotels:
1. The corridor smelt.
2. My room smelt.
3. The throw on the bed stank!!
4. The springs were coming through the mattress.
5. The room had black mould around the windows and on the walls.
6. The wallpaper was peeling away.
7. The walls are paper thin and you can hear people in other rooms BLOWING THEIR NOSES!
8. To get around the 'double' room, we had to walk sideways around the outside of the bed.
9. The hotel information 'brochure' (a sheet of A4 paper) in the room was tea-stained, wet and screwed up.
10. I left the room the next morning covered in bites. They were not there the night before and we slept with the window closed. I leave it to you to work out why.....

I won't even mention the general decor of the hotel at all.
If you want basic, clean and tidy accommodation in Bournemouth, book into a B&B. A lot of those places could show this 'establishment' a thing or two at less than half the price. Wanting to charge £145 for the room that I had is laughable!

And Mr Manager, please spend less time replying to people's complaints on here and more time sorting your hotel out!!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlieLuton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East anglia
1 review
Reviewed March 20, 2009

Hotel seriously needs updating, aswell as a complete clean as it is filthy. Superior rooms are disgraceful, holes in walls, mildewed windows, imagine what the standard and economy rooms are like!!! disgusting, we moved more times than i can remember and every room stank, carpets dirty and unhooved, old crisps under beds just gross. Dinner was not fit for my dog, all dried out and hard. Dont be tempted by their offers pay just a little bit more and stay elsewhere, i need a holiday to get over this awful holiday!!!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank treakleEastanglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_Public_Relations, Public Relations Manager at Britannia Hotel Bournemouth, responded to this review, March 24, 2009
Thank you for your review. We are sorry some areas of your stay did not meet your expectations. Our traditional décor means that often a wide range of fabrics are used to furnish our bedrooms. However, your comments regarding housekeeping have been passed to the relevant department for investigation. Our restaurants are self service, allowing our guests more flexibility. Food is regularly re-stocked, and we do apologise if there was any delay in this area. We apologise that some areas of your stay were not up to your satisfaction and we hope this does not deter you from staying with Britannia Hotels in the future. Feedback is important to us as we use it to further improve our services and standards and we thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Royal Bath
Royal Bath
#59 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,719 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,923 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,488 reviews
0.1 mi away
Burley Court Hotel
Burley Court Hotel
#58 of 66 in Bournemouth
262 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#20 of 66 in Bournemouth
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Hotel Bournemouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Hotel Bournemouth

Property: Britannia Hotel Bournemouth
Address: East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Hotel Bournemouth 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Hotel Bournemouth has its own garden and terrace for guests to enjoy and is ideally situated close to the striking East Cliff beach and Bournemouth town centre. The picturesque countryside of the New Forest and Dorset is also within easy reach making this one of the best hotels in Bournemouth for facilities, location and competitive pricing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Britannia Hotel Bournemouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bournemouth Britannia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing