We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap n cheerful coach trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Britannia Hotel Bournemouth
Ranked #64 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Cheap n cheerful coach trip”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

Came here with Travelstyle. Overall, for the cost we can't complaint.Our first sampling of this kind of holiday.Fantastic staff let down by a slightly tatty hotel. A bit threadbare in places. Beds very clean but carpets,chairs and shower rooms need a deep clean. Food brilliant. Self service means no queues. Bar prices excellent.Location very good.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 122 - water comes through shower room ceiling when upstairs room using their shower. Some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank na0mi2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,088 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    183
    228
    210
    404
See reviews for
187
513
55
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

After reading some the the reviews on here I was so worried about this hotel, especially how clean the beds would be, but as it was only 20 minutes away we decided to go and if it was that bad we would come home. Yes this hotel does need a refurb, BUT it was very clean and the beds are comfortable and clean, the breakfast was very good and the staff were very friendly. PEOPLE please look at the price you pay and think it is not a 5 star hotel but very clean and very central.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank selina f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

After reading some of the reviews on here i was anxious about the standard.

We paid a total of £110 for 2 people for 2 nights and with a 99p bar.

The rooms have all you need in them and certainly more room to swing a cat in ( these people who say they cant must have wild cats as pets!) Bathroom was well presented and bedroom was comfy enough. The windows could do with updating and some areas may look tatty but i certainly dont go away for a weekend break to look at a window in my hotel room so cant see why that causes such a problem to most on here.

The bar area was well maintained and staff pleasant and for a hotel, prices were reasonable even after the 99p bar.

The food was brilliant and to say it was cold - the plates that came out were too hot too touch without a napkin so i doubt the food would have been cold?

Dont listen to most reviews on here its no way near as bad as some people make it out on here. Theres a reason people go here generally because its within budget. If your wanting a posh hotel and slap up meal - you shouldn't be looking to stay here anyway....if you want excellent value for money with great food ( thats pretty much all you can eat ) in a hotel that provides entertainment at a cheap price then this hotel is highly recommended.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank dan141q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rotherham
Level Contributor
42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

had a 5day break with national holiday meals where good beds clean bath room not very nice had to climb a step to get in not very good when u can,t walk very good Entertment not good blue coats every night ,bingo ,Quizzes , only thing wrong breakfast on last day mad rush get your bacon & eggs first lift two people only

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timmyrotherham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

If i ever have been to a hotel that needs a COMPLETE refit, then this is it.... From the moment you walk into the reception you know its going to be old, and tatty.... Staff were very friendly, in recepetion, dinning area and bar.... Bedroom is about 10 years overdue a refit, it even has an old style tv, which you cant buy anymore.... at least i have a 6 foot crack to look at in the celling.... Didnt have a shower, couldnt bring myself to.... Evening Dinner, what can i say... Nothing..... enough said.....
Shame good people working there, but hotel beyond its sell by date....

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Ashley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

Corby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

Just back from a weekend at this hotel, reading some other reviews was a little worried, however found all aspects of hotel more than adequate. Lifts very small , food was cooked well and enough choice for all. Rooms although a little dated were warm and clean and had all facilities expected like storage shower etc.
If you want 5 star and luxury not for you but accept hotel for what you want it for.
Bar prices acceptable, but expect some noise as the price you get it for you can expect some groups etc staying and maybe coming in a lot later than you would lol.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pudsybear1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

Myself and my partner went to this hotel a few months ago, now we were aware it was a groupon deal so yes it was cheaper than normal but was still £100 for one night with a meal so not stupidly cheap. But this hotel was on a completely different level! Now when you say cheap hotel you think nice travel lodge or something like that which is at least clean and has nice staff. I have to say the Britannia Hotel is the worst hotel I have ever stayed at in my whole entire life. The whole hotel stank of musky mould, starting from the beginning the entrance is huge but only has one little sofa in the entrance area so when it comes to check in at 3pm it can get a little manic. Now to the lifts now this is no exaggeration myself Nd my partner could not fit in these without squishing right in and we are not big people so I would use the stairs, now on entry to our room we only had enough room to move from the door to the bed everything else is used space. The curtains had mould on them and so did the windows, walls and ceilings. The floorboards in the shower room were all separated and in between these floorboards was a mixture of grime and dirt, the shower looked like it had not been cleaned in a good few months, we had food crumbs in the drawers. They also did not have a head board on the bed so the wall behind us was covered In grease where people had been laying their head. We decided to go and look in the restaurant as after all this it was time for them to serve food in the lounge. Now the selection of food was appalling and considering it had just been brought out as it's a buffet Stand it was cold and hard. The bar also looks like it has not been cleaned in around a year. It is covered in beer flies and stinks to high heaven. There is not one English speaking person who works in this place so the communication can be very difficult. I am unable to give a review on the breakfast as we decided to go home and not even attempt to sleep on the stained mattress. Now I please urge anyone who is thinking of staying in this hotel then please don't!! I'm not just saying this either I don't want people to go through what he did with this place it completely ruined our weekend away. Spend your money wisely and go to a travel lodge!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Hann310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Royal Bath
Royal Bath
#59 of 66 in Bournemouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,682 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
1.0 mi away
New Westcliff Hotel
New Westcliff Hotel
#52 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Celebrity
Hotel Celebrity
#29 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,463 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Hotel Bournemouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Hotel Bournemouth

Property: Britannia Hotel Bournemouth
Address: East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Hotel Bournemouth 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Hotel Bournemouth has its own garden and terrace for guests to enjoy and is ideally situated close to the striking East Cliff beach and Bournemouth town centre. The picturesque countryside of the New Forest and Dorset is also within easy reach making this one of the best hotels in Bournemouth for facilities, location and competitive pricing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britannia Hotel Bournemouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bournemouth Britannia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing