We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MUST BE A DIFFERENT HOTEL”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Britannia Hotel Bournemouth
Ranked #64 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“MUST BE A DIFFERENT HOTEL”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stayed here 1 night on Sat 16 Nov,This wasnt a voucher deal we booked a superior double sea view with dinner wine etc.No problem parking as arrived early but could see issues with parking as the day wore on,The sea view was to the left of the builgung between the Briania and the sea !!! .The room was perfectly acceptable ( please remember these are old gotels ) large double room with double bed couch etc,Large bathroom with bath / shower and seperate shower some where and tear but no problems or complaint with room.Dinner was bufet style soup or salad to start ,roast chicken /pork chops and fish in batter with all acompliments of vegtables various deserts and ice cream no complaints there.Breakfast was very good bufet again poridge / cerials / full english breakfast (great bacon ) various juices toasts jams etc etc no complaints there

Room Tip: room overlooked the bar area where smoking took place and also staff smoked at various times at nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    189
    234
    213
    415
See reviews for
191
530
55
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

My husband and I recently done the wowcher deal. When we arrived there were no car parking spaces so had to pay to park in the local area. When we went to check in there were people complaining about the parking situation among other issues! We went to our room and were totally shocked at the outdated decor and furnishings that we really didn't want to stay! The window didn't close properly so had to lie listening to the horrendous wind outside! We went for dinner in the restaurant which was cheap and cheerful the variety of food was uncomplimentary and had a problem with flies. We also were unimpressed at the opening times of the so called spa! It may of only been 49 pound but to be honest the bonus from purchasing deals is that you get something worth a lot more money then what you paid and this was not the case. However the positives were the bathroom was scrupulously clean and good location!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Char181284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I would like to put peoples mind at rest who have booked this hotel. I went with a freind on the Wowcher deal. 2 nights bed and breakfast and one evening meal, a bottle of wine and fruit bowl for about £90. The staff were friendly and informative, our room was clean, its in a good location, the food was good. What a bargain! Whats everyone moaning about?

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

My friend and I booked a weekend break at this hotel through Groupon before we had read the reviews on Trip Advisor (big mistake). The hotel was just terrible, I have never been anywhere like it before. First impression was the reception looked shabby and there were already several people at the counter and they all seemed to be complaining about something. We duly booked in and went to check the room. The smell was the first thing that hit you, the window was open, obviously for this reason. The room looked dirty and extremely tired, some damp in the corner, and the bathroom was so hot that you could not possible use it. The beds looked sort of OK, but I did not fancy sleeping in them. The dining room and the lounge area were equally shabby and grubby looking.

We decided not to unpack but check out the facilities first. We asked reception where the spa, gym and pool were situated, and were told to go round the front of the hotel across the grass to the pool and sauna as they were in a separate building. This turned out to be sort of double glazed greenhouse type of affair, and I have to say did not look inviting at all. The roof was all peeling off and the pool did not look clean, the sauna was a wooden box in the corner which could fit 2 people in. The changing rooms were dirty and the spa was a small round pool which you had to climb up steps to get into.

We returned to reception and asked where the gym was, they did not have one, we asked where the spa facilities were i.e., for facial, massage etc, they did not have any. We then asked to see the manager and explained that the advert showed a woman on a cycling machine, and offered spa facilities and there were none. He explained that it was a generic photo showing the Britannia hotels in general. We explained that as we had come away for a spa weekend this was not what the hotel was offering so we asked to be moved to The Royal Bath Hotel round the corner (another hotel in the group), which did offer all these facilities. He said he would check, and after 10 minutes returned and told us there were no vacancies. We did not believe him, so went to the Royal Bath ourselves to check, and guess what, yes they did have rooms available and yes we could change our reservation and stay there, and we got a sea view as well.

We duly got a refund from the Britannia and stayed at the Royal Bath, which was a four star hotel and was just perfect in every way.

Every time we returned to the reception area at the Britannia there was someone else complaining about something. One man said his wife could not get into the bathroom, so the receptionist gave him the inside of a ballpoint pen, and said if put this in the lock and turned it the door would open. We all just fell about laughing at the point, The receptionist said it happens all the time! Need I say more.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marshmull123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel through a Groupon deal and I'm surprised they wanted their name associated with it. The Hotel is very tired and out dated, very limited parking. Our room was spacious and had a large bathroom with bath, shower and 2 sinks, but was dirty, had uncomfortable beds and mould on the windows and in the shower.

We ate in the hotel restaurant, as this was part of the offer + free bottle of wine. Staff were not very helpful and after 5mins had to ask for drinks. Food was very poor, clearly just value, low cost fare. For starters choice was bread, soup, cheese and pineapple or quiche, the quiche was frozen, and when we complained the waitress took it as a compliment. For the main meal, choices were, tough beef, pink chicken, fish with a watery sauce and frozen veg. For desert a choice of cheese cakes, gateau or ice cream, all I can say is "moms gone to Iceland." Breakfast was also terrible, and people had to wait over 10 mins to get a cup for tea and coffee, just sachets and a tea urn.

We would never even contemplate stopping here again and would not recommend it to anyone.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Darrylfern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frome, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We booked this hotel through groupon and paid £99.00 for two nights bed and breakfast, with a bottle of wine and dinner on one night including spa access. The room was clean and tidy and food was ok, the staff were polite but quiet. I was very worried about staying at the Britannia due to the awful reviews but if you go in there not expecting much you may be pleasantly surprised, after all £99.00 is tremendous value!!!. The hotel could definitely do with a revamp as it is very tired, but at the prices they are charging I cannot imagine that they are making much of a profit to do this.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Booked voucher deal worked out at £8 for accommodation !!!how anyone has the cheek to complain is beyond me . Room fine breakfast good , yeah there are stains on the carpet but I know im not stayin at the ritz payin that money , you get what you pay for do you aspect to go in primark and buy designer clothes , come on people get with it !

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank homer0222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Royal Bath
Royal Bath
#59 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,719 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,923 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,487 reviews
0.1 mi away
Burley Court Hotel
Burley Court Hotel
#58 of 66 in Bournemouth
262 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#20 of 66 in Bournemouth
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Hotel Bournemouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Hotel Bournemouth

Property: Britannia Hotel Bournemouth
Address: East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Hotel Bournemouth 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Hotel Bournemouth has its own garden and terrace for guests to enjoy and is ideally situated close to the striking East Cliff beach and Bournemouth town centre. The picturesque countryside of the New Forest and Dorset is also within easy reach making this one of the best hotels in Bournemouth for facilities, location and competitive pricing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Britannia Hotel Bournemouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bournemouth Britannia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing