We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor Hotel, we were warned.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Britannia Hotel Bournemouth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Britannia Hotel Bournemouth
Ranked #66 of 68 Hotels in Bournemouth
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Poor Hotel, we were warned.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel through a Groupon deal and I'm surprised they wanted their name associated with it. The Hotel is very tired and out dated, very limited parking. Our room was spacious and had a large bathroom with bath, shower and 2 sinks, but was dirty, had uncomfortable beds and mould on the windows and in the shower.

We ate in the hotel restaurant, as this was part of the offer + free bottle of wine. Staff were not very helpful and after 5mins had to ask for drinks. Food was very poor, clearly just value, low cost fare. For starters choice was bread, soup, cheese and pineapple or quiche, the quiche was frozen, and when we complained the waitress took it as a compliment. For the main meal, choices were, tough beef, pink chicken, fish with a watery sauce and frozen veg. For desert a choice of cheese cakes, gateau or ice cream, all I can say is "moms gone to Iceland." Breakfast was also terrible, and people had to wait over 10 mins to get a cup for tea and coffee, just sachets and a tea urn.

We would never even contemplate stopping here again and would not recommend it to anyone.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Darrylfern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,077 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    183
    227
    206
    398
See reviews for
185
510
53
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frome, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

We booked this hotel through groupon and paid £99.00 for two nights bed and breakfast, with a bottle of wine and dinner on one night including spa access. The room was clean and tidy and food was ok, the staff were polite but quiet. I was very worried about staying at the Britannia due to the awful reviews but if you go in there not expecting much you may be pleasantly surprised, after all £99.00 is tremendous value!!!. The hotel could definitely do with a revamp as it is very tired, but at the prices they are charging I cannot imagine that they are making much of a profit to do this.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

Booked voucher deal worked out at £8 for accommodation !!!how anyone has the cheek to complain is beyond me . Room fine breakfast good , yeah there are stains on the carpet but I know im not stayin at the ritz payin that money , you get what you pay for do you aspect to go in primark and buy designer clothes , come on people get with it !

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank homer0222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is very run down and the staff are very unfriendly and will not offer any service beyond checking you in. Spa facilities consits of a pool in a glass building with a small sauna...more of a greenhouse than spa. Food is disgusting...do not touch with a barge pole. Room was clean and pleasant. No atmosphere but a great bargain if you need somewhere to kip!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Venazville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

Best words to describe, Damp,Musty,Old Fashioned,Filthy,Well Used hovel.
The worst Hotel i have ever stayed in.
My wife and i went for a short trip to Bournemouth,upon arrival there were no parking spaces to park(very limited parking) the first room we were given we declined as a would let a dog sleep in it. The second was not much better.The foyer was full of unhappy guests complaining.
We spent as little time as possible in the Hotel During are stay and it spoilt are trip so we would advise others to avoid.

Room Tip: Dont even go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewA1880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel on a groupon deal with dinner, breakfast and a bottle of wine. After reading the reviews we did start to worry but it actually was not that bad. It is very run down with stains on furnishings and damp patches everywhere but the room was lovely and clean , the staff were polite and the food was good.especially breakfast! for the price we couldn't complain although £3 parking per day is not the best advertisement for a hotel.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tracydarrenfuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sussex england
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

Our very kind friends booked a night at this hotel for my wife and I as part of our 25th wedding anniversary celebrations. We then booked a follow on night to extend our stay and upgraded the room to take advantage of the sea views.
upon arrival we found a parking space and entered the reception area. This was a tired and unwelcoming space seeming more interested in putting notices up for guests warning them to give registration details of your vehicle or risk clamping and a fine. The old wicker furniture with sagging covers and worn tread bare carpets only add to the sense of dread that the hotel is way below expectations. We were given a room on the third floor and choose to use the stairs as the warning notices on the lifts telling you that only two guests at a time can use the lift did little to inspire confidence. The stairs again had carpets that were worn out years ago and paint work on the walls and wood that is in desperate need of a major refurbishment.
We entered our room and were shocked with what we saw. Two single headboards were fixed to the walls with a double bed pushed between them. We opened the window which fell to the end of its travel and was covered in dirt. The carpets are stained and filthy, the chair is thread bare and stained and only a crime scene investigator would be able to identify all the items that have seeped into the mattress. The door from the wardrobe from the 70's came off in my hand when i attempted to open it. The paintwork is blistered and dirty, the shower was held together with sellotape and the naked lady picture above the bed made us roar with laughter.
Our friends had paid in advance so we had to stay for the first night, but we went down to reception to cancel the second night. The receptionist cancelled the reservation without asking if anything was wrong, I then asked him for my £50 deposit back (the room was £120 a night). He told me because we had booked with central reservations I would have to call them, I asked for the number which was like asking for one of his kidneys. I eventually called reservations to be told my deposit was non refundable, I told them this was no problem and that I would start a grievance with my creditcard company due to the disgusting state of the hotel. I was put on hold while she spoke with her supervisor and common sense was applied and my deposit was returned. We then spent as much time away from the hotel as we could, however our friends had paid for our dinner in the hotel restaurant. Things didn't improve here. It is more like a staff canteen with poor quality food and staff that have no motivation to carry out there tasks.
We were checked out by 8am and booked into a travel inn just outside of Bournemouth that was clean, tidy and comfortable.
Britannia should be ashamed of themselves with the way they have presented this hotel. It appears to be targeted at the coach tour industry where people spend one or two nights and then move on.
My wife and I both work shifts so time together is limited so when we get the chance to spend a couple of nights away we want trouble free time. Britannia Hotel Bournemouth gave me nothing but grief until we checked out, save yourself some cash and disappointment. GO ELSEWARE.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sparkySussexEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Royal Bath
Royal Bath
#61 of 68 in Bournemouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,657 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Celebrity
Hotel Celebrity
#29 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#17 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
New Westcliff Hotel
New Westcliff Hotel
#51 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#27 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,796 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hinton Firs Hotel
Hinton Firs Hotel
#52 of 68 in Bournemouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Hotel Bournemouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Hotel Bournemouth

Property: Britannia Hotel Bournemouth
Address: East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 68 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Hotel Bournemouth 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Hotel Bournemouth has its own garden and terrace for guests to enjoy and is ideally situated close to the striking East Cliff beach and Bournemouth town centre. The picturesque countryside of the New Forest and Dorset is also within easy reach making this one of the best hotels in Bournemouth for facilities, location and competitive pricing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Britannia Hotel Bournemouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bournemouth Britannia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing