We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wouldn't stay here again. Horrible room, awful views bad experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Britannia Hotel Bournemouth
Ranked #64 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Poole, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wouldn't stay here again. Horrible room, awful views bad experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

I stayed here with my boyfriend a few months ago as he was down from his home town and we wanted to get out of the family home so decided to book a hotel in Bournemouth and go for something to eat. I wish we had re-booked the "Durley Dean" hotel in Bournemouth that we have previously stayed with but sadly it was unavailable so had to settle for this one and I wish we Didn't.
One think I will say is that I had no problems with any of the staff, They where well spoken and kind and showed me to my room. They did not disturb me at all and where very co operative. The man checked my booking form and then gave me my room key along with verbal instructions of how to get in etc
However when I got to my room I could have cried. I was not what I had imaged for a romantic weekend with my boyfriend. The room was tiny the bed took up nearly all of the room the only floor space we had was in front of the wardrobe.
The tv was massive and by massive i mean massive at the back. It was one of the old fat screens and the screen was tiny. I would have had no issue with it if it wasn't for the lack of channels. At the other hotel we have freeview and in this one they hadn't even bothered to tune in channels 1-4 properly. We could only gain signal on channel 3 so had to watch that all night. We where given 1 pillow each about the thinness of a magazine (not even over exaggerating) But the next day when i opened the warderobe there was 2 more in there! We had a huge window ledge right next to the bed WHERE THE TV WAS ON. The tv was not even on a proper table. The window that we could see out of was horrible, all i could see was dirty rooftops and the window had rusted. They had left us supplies for tea and by supplies i mean 2 teabags and 2 sachets of sugar!
Bathroom was awful. Had brown rust marks on all the cracks and corners not modern at all. The bath was TINY boyfriend couldn't have a shower because he was too tall to fit and he couldn't have a bath because he couldn't lay down with his legs out. Horrible veiw of the dirty roofs from the bathroom window too.
I paid £60 for this hotel- so not a bargain price i could have gave this a fairly good review if i got it for about £25-£30 which is what I think its worth. However it looks like a hostel room and it says it is a 3 star hotel. If you want to stay at a hotel in Bournemouth I would seriously recermend the Durley Dean hotel, not this one!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MercyJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,088 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    183
    228
    210
    404
See reviews for
187
513
55
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Having read the reviews i was a little concerned but was very impressed by this hotel. We had a superior room which was a good size, had a sea view and was very clean. the staff were extremely helpful, friendly and accommodating and worked incredibly hard - particularly on Xmas day! Food was excellent very fresh lots of choice and constantly replenished. Ideally located for the beach and town, and definitely NOT cold (was too hot if anything!!)! Previous reviews seem particularly harsh and unfair. This is 3* and i have stayed at worse 4* hotels. Yes certain areas would benefit from a bit of attention but what hotel wouldn’t? Pay the extra for a superior room if you are that fussy!! only other comment would be need more seating in bar areas when busy but staff did their best to provide other seating in alternative areas. Would certainly return, and staff need a big pat on the back!!

Room Tip: Corner rooms are good size, & ask for a sea view if you dont like looking at the fire escape!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GBurg634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

We spent 4 days at the hotel and found all the staff helpful and friendly. The food was very good and the Christmas buffet was lovely. The hotel is near the beach and the shops. Our room was a reasonable size except for the bathroom which was minute! It was so small that there was no room for the sink which was in the bedroom. The bathroom door missed hitting the toilet by a millimetre! There was no towel rail so it was difficult to know where to put the wet towels overnight. The hotel should invest in some modern TV's with all the free view channels. Considering the price we paid it was good value.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank M0n0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

No issues , room clean , fresh linen everyday , staff friendly and attentive . Excellent value for money . We enjoyed our stay . Location next to the beach . Would return . Past reviews seem unnessarily hard based on our experience .

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hastingz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

Arrived at the hotel in the coldest spell so far in 2012, to find out the neating was not working. Initially they tried to palm us off with an electric heater in the room, when we explained why that would be insufficient they did offer to re-house us in a Britannia Hotel nearby. Although the night ported walked with us, we had to walk from one hotel to the other. When there, we were accommodated very well and given a good clean room. However, woken up by a fire alarm at 5am and breakfast was possibly the worst I have ever tasted. Bland and dry from hours under the heating lights, very much doubt any of it was fresh for the day. But I guess you get what you pay for, a lesson learned.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

Hastings East Susssex
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

Fantastic rooms, clean, warm and the staff are very friendly. To top it off we thought we had booked bed & breakfast and got a 3 course evening meal in too! Superb value, food basic and very well cooked. 5 mins walk from the pier and the town centre. Would def go back again

Room Tip: We had room 326 - it had 3 windows overlooking the car park and side of the building. Warm and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackiewwleader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

Welcomed warmly.Given directions to the room receptionist explained the 3£ car parking charge. Why not include it ? Same with pool and leisure centre. Great meal deals advertised but hotel very quiet and dining room closed so had to go out to eat.
Room small and well heated given extra van heater in room. TV old reception poor. Bed really comfortable. big bathroom with bath and toiletries. All the hotel seemed to be having new beds there were skips full being taken away.If the t.v. had been up on the wall we would have been able to move around the room well instead it was on a bulky (but matching other wallnut furniture) chest of drawers.
Breakfast was DIY from an adequate servery but no staff.At 8.35 the eggs were rubbery mushrooms cremated and thin sliced bread provided was ugh !
Tea was also DIY from a flask which was like the breakfast was also cool. No one appeared to clear previously used tables till after 9am
The bacon was good quality as where the sausages but kept warm for so long they was dried out.I've stayed here before when the hotel was busy and the food was excellent however you get what you pay for and at 11:50 each this was still good value. So I would go back

Room Tip: we asked for a quiet room when booking. There is only a short walk to the cliff walk & town
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank recaz_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Royal Bath
Royal Bath
#59 of 66 in Bournemouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,682 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
1.0 mi away
New Westcliff Hotel
New Westcliff Hotel
#52 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Celebrity
Hotel Celebrity
#29 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,463 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Hotel Bournemouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Hotel Bournemouth

Property: Britannia Hotel Bournemouth
Address: East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Hotel Bournemouth 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Hotel Bournemouth has its own garden and terrace for guests to enjoy and is ideally situated close to the striking East Cliff beach and Bournemouth town centre. The picturesque countryside of the New Forest and Dorset is also within easy reach making this one of the best hotels in Bournemouth for facilities, location and competitive pricing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britannia Hotel Bournemouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bournemouth Britannia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing