We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap n cheerful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Britannia Hotel Bournemouth
Ranked #63 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed June 7, 2011

Booking was easy, but no parking... Site says free parking but be warned this is unlikely as car park is tiny. Staff pleasant and knowledgeable, no problems with communication or getting information. Room was small but clean, bed very comfortable but needed more pillows, tv was tiny. Close to beach and 10 min walk to city centre, good location. Good for people on a budget.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KiwiTiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boursd, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Bournemouth, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2011

Thank you for your balanced review. You can park at our sister hotels if our car park is full and it is free on the road from 6pm - 9am.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Steve
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,207)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,000 - 1,006 of 1,207 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2011

Has to be one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed in. We went as a group of friends for a rare night out, i did not book the hotel but would of done £49.00 for two with breakfast on a bank holiday weekend in bournemouth - bargain. After looking at the website it looked fab - very misleading. Room was tiny, the water came through brown into the bath. So avoid room 132. Then We discovered we were the room above were the staff were going out for a smoke. After getting in the early hours, we were woken at 6am by the staff smoking (the smell of which was drifting into the room) & joking below us. No air conditioning, hotel was boiling, breakfast I really could not be bothered, tables were not clean, no one served us tea or coffee. Staff I don't think anyone was English. The last bank holiday I stayed at the premier inn, west over road, Bournemouth again £49.00 for two - breakfast was not included an extra £7.95 but was worth every penny. Lovely clean, spacious room, lucky as we had a sea view, air conditioning. Fantastic.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paulandcherylalner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boursd, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Bournemouth, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2011

I can find no record of a complaint made by you. Room 132 is not above the staff smoking area and no staff were in the hotel at 6 am other than the night porters who do not smoke. If you had reported the incident to the night porters they would of investigated the noise for you. I have personally checked room 132 and the water is clean / clear so I do not reconise your complaint.
I think you are unfair to say staff are not English and do not understand you complaint. We do not employee on nationality but ability to do the job and I can see not comment in you review of staff not being capable of this. Teas and coffee are served to your table at breakfast and evening meal.

Steve
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

Went with my wife for a weekend break. We were allocated room 1 on the ground floor. It is situated in the service corridor next to the kitchen. Window looking out to emergency staircase. Used for smoking. Room smelt of damp. Wall opposite bathroom damp, large wet patch on ceiling. Bed linen was clean but bathrooom and carpet were dirty. Complained on arrival but could not be moved until the next morning.
Kept awake by other residents. Woken up 07:00 by the kitchen trolleys rolling along the tiled corridor.
Next day we were moved to the 3rd floor. Dirty carpets, peeling ceiling paint, mouldy shower enclosure, cracked washhand basin, mouldy window frames, worn out bed, toilet not cleaned.

Hotel staff tried to accommodate our requests but I got the impression that the decisions resulting in the state of this hotel come from top level management.
Hotel is run down & neglected.

Avoid this hotel.

Room Tip: Don't book with the Brittania group of hotels
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rev31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boursd, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Bournemouth, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2011

Thank you for your review Rev31. I feel this review is unfair as I did speak to you regarding this matter and you were pleased by the end of your stay.

Room 1 is not in a service area and there are no kitchen trolleys that would go down the corridor. Room 1 is is not used for as a smoking room and again your comment is unfair.

The cleanliness issues you mentioned were addressed at the time but you were moved into the room before it had been serviced at your request.

Thank you for your comments regarding my staff.

Steve
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2011

Booked two nights dinner, bed and breakfast with wife and grandaughter,due to overbooking we were allocated the penthouse .The penthouse had three bedrooms, three bathrooms,jacuzzi,lounge with a wonderful view overlooking the sea.There is a very good sized heated pool which there is an extra charge for. Staff were friendly and helpful, the food was self service and fine . Overall the hotel is dated but this adds to the charm and fits perfectly in the area.The lovely beach is a short walk away, as is the town centre and pier. Overall I think this hotel is o.k. for a short break.

Room Tip: ask for the penthouse
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomred98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boursd, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Bournemouth, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2011

Thank you for your review and I am glad you enjoyed our Penthouse. We are in the process of redecorating the rooms / public areas but with 123 bedrooms this is an ongoing project.

We look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit.

Steve
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2011

Yet again another very pleasurable trip to Bournemouth and the Britannia Hotel under the management of STEVE DUKE who made my birthday evening memorable with great service and hospitalality. Very much enjoyed our stay here and would certainly recommend this hotel. Once again many thanks to Steve and all the staff for an enjoyable stay here. Ian & Libby Everest x .. See you very soon x

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanLibbyEverest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boursd, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Bournemouth, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2011

Ian and Libby

Thank you for taking the time to write a balanced review. We appreciate your considered and kind comments regarding our staff. We look forward to welcoming you both back in the near future.

Thank you

Steve
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2011

We booked this trip as we fancied a trip 'down south' as we like the Dorset coast. The Britannia group send me frequent emails and this was a particularly good offer - 2 nights bed, breakfast & dinner [with complimentary bottle of wine] for just "£107 - all in the two of us! I know it involves a drive, but free parking & excellent location meant we didn't use our car whilst there. The place also has a swimming pool & sauna which we like to use. I know the hotel is a little tired in parts, but overall we really enjoyed our stay. The room was clean & spacious, the food excellent with plenty of choice and the location great. Forget about the small lifts - there are 2 of them! The staff were all very pleasant & helpful. We didn't get to complete an evaluation of the hotel, but we would certainly like to give our compliments to the chef & staff who work so hard to keep the mainly elderly residents happy! [not an easy task!]

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to ask!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cariad6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boursd, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Bournemouth, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2011

Cariad6

Thank you for taking the time to write a balanced review.

We are in the process of freshing up the Hotel but with 123 bedrooms this is an ongoing project.

We appreciate your considered and kind comments and hope to welcome you back in the near future. Please introduce yourself to me.

Thank you

Steve
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2011

Went to the Britannia Hotel for a one nights stay with my partner. The package included a nights stay, dinner, a house bottle of wine and breakfast.
The bedroom was a bit dated and could have been kept better, however the bathroom was new and in good condition.
Dinner was lovely, all hot food and a good selection.
The house wine was nice however we would have prefered rose wine but they didnt have any.
The Breakfast was very nice, again a big selection and the staff were very promt in seating you.
The reception staff were friendly and helpful, especially when we turned up and there was what seemed a stag doo arriving just before us, but we were on a different floor and didnt hear a peep.
The lifts were very small so we often took the stairs coming to and from the room.
The walk to the beach and the town centre was so close as the hotel is in a very good location.
Excellent night overall and would stay again.
Thank you.

Room Tip: They often have a package on their own website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miss1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boursd, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Bournemouth, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to make a review with Trip Advisor. We are pleased that you enjoyed your break with us.

I will pass on you kind comments to our staff which is pleasing to not.

Please introduce yourself to me on your next visit.

Thank you and we hope to welcome you back in the near furture.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Royal Bath Hotel & Spa
Royal Bath Hotel & Spa
#59 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,008 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#15 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,592 reviews
0.5 mi away
Elstead Hotel
Elstead Hotel
#20 of 66 in Bournemouth
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
251 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,431 reviews
1.6 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Hotel Bournemouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Hotel Bournemouth

Address: East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range: $29 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Hotel Bournemouth 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Hotel Bournemouth has its own garden and terrace for guests to enjoy and is ideally situated close to the striking East Cliff beach and Bournemouth town centre. The picturesque countryside of the New Forest and Dorset is also within easy reach making this one of the best hotels in Bournemouth for facilities, location and competitive pricing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Britannia Hotel Bournemouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bournemouth Britannia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing