We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and friendly staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Piccadilly

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Piccadilly
Ranked #48 of 68 Hotels in Bournemouth
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food and friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Have stayed at the Piccadilly Hotel on a few occasions now. the hotel is clean and comfortable. The food is excellent and the staff are always friendly. The only downside was the tiny bathroom (room 115) which would have been improved by replacing the bath with a shower, creating more space. However, some of the other rooms that we have stayed in at the hotel have had better bathrooms, so it is the luck of the draw. The bedroom was clean and comfortable, with a good bed, and the lounge is very well furnished. Good ballroom and facilities. Will certainly stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 108David50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    101
    52
    22
    15
See reviews for
17
135
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
284 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

We had a great week with the Dance for Fun Group but a hotel that portrays itself as the "No. 1 in the UK for dancing" needs to think seriously about making such claims, when the ballroom had only one air conditioner out of 4 working and we were enjoying moderately warm temperatures. Goodness knows what it would have been like in there during the rather nice summer we've had this year!

Our room was adequate although the bed is on castors and a little movement sends it shifting rapidly, although the grooves in the carpet stop it going too far. We were at the front of the hotel in a standard room but whilst we could hear a little traffic noise it wasn't that bad. There was rather limited drawer space for anything more than a couple of nights stay but we managed with a little bit of clothes stacking and using the top of the wardrobe as an extra shelf.

The bathroom was again adequate but the shower left a lot to be desired. The hook that the shower head rested on needed replacing so it effectively meant a hand held shower and the water temperature got colder the higher you held the shower head.

The food was good. Very nice breakfast with a good choice and the option to get freshly cooked eggs if required. The dinners were also good with a choice of four mains and fair sized portions and far too many vegetables on offer for 2 tables, let alone one!

The staff were all very friendly and helpful and are a major asset for the hotel.

Car parking is a little limited and having fortunately got a space at the front of the hotel, we didn't move the car till it was time to go.

The hotel is very conveniently positioned for the sea front and the shops with about a 10 minute stroll to be at the centre of Bournemouth.

We had a great time despite the inadequacies of the hotel for dancing but we'd be reluctant to go back here again to dance, unless we knew they'd fixed the aircon. We will however be on a lot more Dance for Fun holidays.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank prefdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

the staff were very friendly and helpful,room was very clean and comfortable.the hotel is a nice walking distance to beach and town.breakfast was a buffet which you could have what you want and was very nice i would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve491963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

It took a while to work out why we paid for a premier room when the toilet door easily opened without getting out of bed. The room was small but clean. The extra charge was for bottled water, luxury tissues, toiletries, biscuits. My advice is don't bother to pay the extra, take your own. Bathroom very small and cramped. This is a hotel which has undergone lots of alterations most of which appear to have been done on a tight budget. The window in the room wouldn't close, just as well it was warm weather. The lift is very small and claustrophobic, be warned. Staff very good at multitasking. Food good. Car park very crowded. Don't move your car once you have a space as you won't get back in. Dance holiday Dance For Fun (excellent). Good bus service. Walking distance to sea front but uphill coming back.

Room Tip: See if a family rom is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JNJ1402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from our second dance holiday at the Piccadilly. The hotel ballroom is excellent with a great floor.
We had a superior room which was adequate in size for us, well decorated and maintained. The shower over the bath was not that good as the water pressure was always low, however we never ran out of hot water, day or night.
The standard of meals in the restaurant was also very good. Dinner in the evening always had at least 3 choices each of starter, main and dessert with coffee to follow. Breakfast was a buffet with everything one would wish for available, eggs cooked to order!
The staff in the hotel were always friendly and helpful.
We would recommend the hotel as a dance venue.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chippy82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

Room was comfortable and very clean, bathroom was a little jaded.and needed a bit of an update re taps in sink. The food was very good and the staff helpful. The rooms are on two floors with some on ground floor. There is a two person lift. I would say the hotel is not suitable for wheelchairs. The ballroom is very good. My husband and I were with a dance group (Dance for Fun, Rochale, Lancs. Would recommend this group) The hotel is fairly central, with just a short walk to the seafront and shops. The local buses are very frequent and the stop is close to the hotel.

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor at the back, but it was quiet with no street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elaine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
108 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

we booked hotel in last minute because we was at sand banks and decided to stay overnight , but there was no hotels available , so got this one, really good for one night, and close to everything, rooms are really small, but you dont need much if you back in evening and leave in morning :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hani D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.0 mi away
The Mayfair Hotel
The Mayfair Hotel
#43 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#17 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Celebrity
Hotel Celebrity
#29 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Burley Court Hotel
Burley Court Hotel
#60 of 68 in Bournemouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.9 mi away
West Cliff Inn
West Cliff Inn
#54 of 68 in Bournemouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.9 mi away
New Westcliff Hotel
New Westcliff Hotel
#51 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Piccadilly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Piccadilly

Property: Hotel Piccadilly
Address: 23 Bath Road, Bournemouth BH1 2NN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 68 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Piccadilly 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Piccadilly is a privately owned 3 star hotel situated close to the town centre and a short stroll from Bournemouth's award winning beaches. The Hotel is both comfortable and stylish with many of its staff having worked at the Hotel for a number of years - all of this adds to the warm, friendly and welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Hotel Piccadilly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing