We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Enjoyed”
Review of Hotel Piccadilly

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Piccadilly
Ranked #48 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
wigan
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Really Enjoyed”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I cant believe some reviews for this hotel, we have just got back home after our stay and found the hotel clean, good breakfast, friendly staff and comfortable beds, I think most of the negative comments are just what them people do nothing is probably good enough for them.
We would definitely stay again and would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: room 122 twin beds small but ok and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    101
    52
    22
    15
See reviews for
17
135
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

I am amazed that some people found this hotel disappointing, I have just returned from a 5 day holiday at the Piccadilly with the wife and we both found our room bright and clean and a comfortable bed. Breakfast was excellent, best hotel breakfast I have had for a long time, the 3 coarse evening meal was wonderful. This is a 3* Hotel with 5* service, I have tried to look on the negative side but could not find any. The hotel is only a 5 to 10 minute walk to the shops and beach and a bus stop is close by. We did not try the hotel entertainment in the evening because we were out enjoying ourselves in Bournemouth.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blackdown406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PB_Direct_Ops, Ops Director at Hotel Piccadilly, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
I smiled broadly when I read you lovely review. Thank You!

As the recently appointed Director of Operations my vision is to create a 5* experience at 3* prices. So I couldn't help but smile when you wrote my vision.

We have taken a 'trip advisor beating' recently as we strip out old and implement the new. Teething problems and tweaks have caused some less than pleasing reviews so I wanted to take just a little time to write & say thank you.

I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and I very much look forward to seeing you again, in fact, when you do come back, as for me, Paul and lets share a drink on the house. Our new bar will be finished, our new wine menu and cocktails menu will be in place and even some exciting new bar meals! I'm looking forward to seeing you.

Thank you again.

Regards

Paul

Paul Bellard
Director Of Operations
Hotel Piccadilly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

For £85 our expectations weren't too high, but on arrival the accomm seemed good - handy location, comfy bed, clean, attempts to redecorate in modern style tho still a bit worn in places. Having thought we'd found a good deal, at 4.30am and again at 6am we were woken up to the fire alarm going off, assuming it was something to do with youngsters partying into early hours, we were shocked the next morning to be told by reception that there weren't any issues, but that it was a sensitive fire alarm system apparently even set off by someone using hairspray or using the hairdryer after having a shower - so make sure you and your fellow guests don't do these during your stay! let along any hens or stags having a quick smoke! Perhaps the hotel should invest in a new fire system and let their guests get a good nights sleep - which is what we're paying for after all!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank csp05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We are a young family and stayed here in early July whilst passing through Bournemouth for a weekend away.

Intital impressions were not great as arriving in the car park we found half a bottle of jack and beer cans littering entrance. There were enough spaces to park though and so we left the car and headed in. The reception was good and we got the keys to our room quite quickly. The requested cot was also in the room and although the decor was dated the room was a big enough size and was clean.

We had some issues with the service at breakfast but the food itself was very nice. Further problems were encountered when checking out delaying our departure.

Generally the hotel is ok, more designed for the older generation who may visit here for dances. Would i stay here again? No - we paid £50 for the night through Groupon and would begrudge paying that again let alone the full price i have seen advertised.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gbprogrammes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royal wootton bassett
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Booked for one night [115 pounds], enter the hotel friday afternoon to find no one at reception, no one at the bar either, walked about a bit could not find a soul went down stairs to a hall to find it full of dancers [ballroom I think] then realised that this was not the hotel for us, by this time the receptionist appeared, she had trouble finding our booking but when she found the details she duly shown us our room for the night, and sweet jesus the smell from the room as we opened the door was some thing else, had to shut it quick to stop the smell escaping. was offered another room despite me asking for my money back and running away from the place, so we were shown the room not any better but it was much less smelly, apart from the carpet in the bathroom!! we stayed, well it could not get worse------- yes it did evening time was hilarious old and infirm people infested the lounge bar for a quiz or something they were tasked with finding things in the hotel, it was at this point that I had to visit the gents excitement I guess, toilet paper covered the place[ not used I might add] you see they needed the cardboard roll from the inside and nothing was going to stop them getting it club 18-30 ain`t got nothing on these old boys and girls, then a condom was needed at this point we made our exit!!! god save us we couldn't take any more. This hotel is for the older much older generation and I haven't got a problem with that, just wish that I was made aware of it first before I parted with 115 pounds per night ex breakfast. rooms were bad, service awful, carpet in bathroom that's a no no, broken tiles around pedestal, to expensive for my liking and for many others I would wonder, parking ok [for a while thought we would be sleeping in the car] if artdeco is your thing and ballroom you got to stay here,for the rest who want good service and value and less smelly look else where--anywhere.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ron s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

We had booked with Groupon for one night on a Saturday on a Bank Holiday weekend. Amazed we got in and even with a £20 extra for Saturday stop we paid £70 bed and breakfast for two. We arrived at 130pm but unable to book in until 2pm but it does say so. Parking ok at front of hotel off street. The hotel is tastefully decorated and recently updated. Pleasant bar area and lounge. Our double room was top floor (second floor) front facing and even with window open was not too noisy at night. Tea and coffee in room with a bath and shower. Room Clean but a bit small. The downside was the exceptionally small lift. it said it would carry two people but i can say don't take luggage too! also read the notices. if you stand the wrong way the lift stops and for some could be a worry. I was very impressed by the breakfast which was excellent. There was cereal and cooked. Staff in restaurant were very efficient but top marks go for the lovely non greasy cooked breakfast. I am not sure I would pay the normal per person rates but they do reflect the value offered to the dancing groups who so obviously do enjoy this hotel.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Had 5 nts/4 day dance holiday with YDC. Had a great time. Staff overall good. Rooms basic but clean and quiet at the side/back. Good dance floor but need to sort the AC so it works better. Would come again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michaelsquire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.5 mi away
Elstead Hotel
Elstead Hotel
#20 of 66 in Bournemouth
594 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,384 reviews
0.8 mi away
Durley Grange Hotel
Durley Grange Hotel
#34 of 66 in Bournemouth
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Bournemouth Hotel
Travelodge Bournemouth Hotel
#47 of 66 in Bournemouth
645 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Bournemouth Seafront Hotel
0.2 mi away
Marsham Court Hotel
Marsham Court Hotel
#22 of 66 in Bournemouth
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Piccadilly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Piccadilly

Property: Hotel Piccadilly
Address: 23 Bath Road, Bournemouth BH1 2NN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Piccadilly is a privately owned 3 star hotel situated close to the town centre and a short stroll from Bournemouth's award winning beaches. The Hotel is both comfortable and stylish with many of its staff having worked at the Hotel for a number of years - all of this adds to the warm, friendly and welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Piccadilly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing