We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice part of the country”
Review of The Newark Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Newark Hotel
Ranked #49 of 131 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 18, 2014

We stayed at the Newark at the start of May 2013 for two nights. I’m not sure if I would call this place a B&B it’s more a hotel. We were met at the door and shown to the meeting room to check in. You have to pay on arrival, it was £30 per person per night.

If stairs are not your friend then staying here is not the best choice, there are quite a few stairs down to the breakfast area and to all the bed rooms. So, we paid £2 a night to stay in the car park which is shared by all the hotels along the road. The drive way down to the car park is VERY narrow, if your car is bigger than a mini cooper you will highly unlikely be able to fit down. There were plenty of leaflets for activities and sights to see in the area, and the owner was very helpful in telling us where we would like to go for dinner.

The rooms are clean and tidy and we stayed in the en-suite rooms facing the road which received the sun but also the noise at night. It was quite noisy on an early Sunday morning. Bit disappointed in the state of cleaning though. We’d left our towels on the floor to be changed as they were dirty, instead they were hung back up for us wet and dirty, and also in a typical hotel you get hotel toilettes in the bathroom – not here though.

Breakfast were good, full English breakfast but no choice of type of bread though, only white.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NZKirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
awa151260, Owner at The Newark Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

We are sorry you were confused and do not understand the difference between a hotel and a bed and breakfast but can I assure you we are definitely a bed and breakfast I think the price alone tells you that.

We are a converted Victorian town house no lifts just as the photos show you on our web site
which also clearly states "to assure our guest of a good nights sleep we do not offer stag or hen parties or people on party weekends "unfortunately being at the front of the building you seemed to have heard some kind of normal street noise which happens anywhere on a Sunday morning in a holiday resort for which we have no control of people going about their business in the street.

towels are changed every other day and was mentioned on arrival, you dropping them on the floor and us picking them up as nothing to do with the cleanliness of my building for which I have 5* from 147 reviews.

Please accept my apologies during a busy breakfast sitting that the server might have failed to offer you white or brown toast although you should not have to a little mention would have rectified this immediately. We sincerely hope this did not spoil your breakfast to much.

Although we fully appreciate peoples budgets are still being squeezed perhaps doing a little more research like location, facilities lifts with no stairs etc then perhaps you might have a better experience. Working on price alone paying as little as possible but expecting everything is unfair to the business owner who is up front from the start for what he offers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (202)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 202 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2014

We stayed here before between Christmas and New Year and decided it was ideal for our purposes so had no hesitation in a repeat visit. A very good price for very nice rooms. Access to car park is a little bit narrow but put your mirrors in and take it slowly. The owner does come accross a little abrupt at first but is very helpful if you ask his advice - the only downside about the place in my opinion is that the breakfast could be improved. (sausages seemed to have been cooked the day before as they were so hard)

Room Tip: Book direct if you have special request - we needed to bring our own travel cot for a baby so we wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
awa151260, Owner at The Newark Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Since these guest stayed which their booking was made well in advance we no longer accommodate children under 5 years.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

just spent a relaxing weekend at the at the Newark Hotel,within 10 minutes walk of the Square and the beach,breakfast was nice and the staff were very efficient.as the hotel caters for Couples,families rather than Stag/Hen parties it was so quiet.will recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Try Room 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scousegit7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

I have stayed at the Newark Hotel for four nights and it was just the best! Room was very clean and the bed very comfortable. People lovely and helpful and breakfast superb. If you're stepping out and turn right, it will you lead to the city within five minutes. The same happens if you turn left but this time it's the beach. I would recommend it to all of my friend and if I ever will return to Bournemouth, I will stay at the Newark Hotel for sure.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Kept simple:

Great Location (near beach / pier / bars / town centre all walkable 5 mins)
Friendly & Very helpful Owners
Great Breakfast
Clean & Comfortable Rooms
Quiet (tucked in corner)
Parking / Wifi
Well decorated
Digital TV
Great Value for money

what more dyou want for a 2 night weekend getaway?!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ryanhrfc89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

Clean tidy rooms,nice bed size, tv and en-suite,nice staff, helpfull and lovely home made English breakfast.5m walk to the beach, pier and center.I will definitely come back.Perfect for a weekend escape or beach holidays, and such a lovely beach.Lots of restaurants, pubs, shops, everything at walking distance.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank João C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

Visited with my wife circa April, it was a pleasant time off the city hustle and bustle.
David and his team were welcoming, friendly and provided tips on things to do in and around Bournemouth.
The hotel is clean and wonderfully located between the city centre and the sea front.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Omokehinde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Newbury Hotel
Newbury Hotel
#80 of 131 in Bournemouth
158 reviews
0 mi away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#103 of 131 in Bournemouth
257 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shirley Hotel
Shirley Hotel
#58 of 131 in Bournemouth
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 67 in Bournemouth
3,618 reviews
0.3 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#23 of 67 in Bournemouth
2,066 reviews
1 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 67 in Bournemouth
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Newark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Newark Hotel

Address: 65 St. Michaels Road, Bournemouth BH2 5DP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 131 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range: $67 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional bed and breakfast located in central Bournemouth 5 minutes walk to beach,town centre, restaurants and bars offering excellent value for guest wanting peace and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your The Newark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing